Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th June 2013, 22:50   #1241  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamKook View Post
I did
I see - LAV Audio Decoder set "incorrect" channel mask. It must 0x06f instead 0x3f for 5.1 output.

P.S. Update. Now work fine with LAV Audio - http://aleksoid.voserver.net/MPC-BE/...EXCLUSIVE_2.7z
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215

Last edited by Aleksoid1978; 19th June 2013 at 23:03.
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2013, 23:11   #1242  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by ontherocks View Post
With the settings as mentioned in this post, I am able to obtain bit-exact playback with wav files. But the issue remains the same with hi resolution lossless wma files.
Example wma files could be obtained from here
ftp://www.unipheyemusic.com/audio/TestPageSamples
here
http://www.gimell.com/recording-free...wnloads-1.aspx
and here
http://www.gimell.com/recording-free...wnloads-2.aspx
1 - in MPC Audio Decoder check all output format - 16/24/32/float
2 - what's wrong with .wmv playback ??
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2013, 23:43   #1243  |  Link
SamKook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
I see - LAV Audio Decoder set "incorrect" channel mask. It must 0x06f instead 0x3f for 5.1 output.

P.S. Update. Now work fine with LAV Audio - http://aleksoid.voserver.net/MPC-BE/...EXCLUSIVE_2.7z
It was also behaving the same with MPC internal decoders(except for the 0x60f vs 0x3f).

I tested v2 and nothing's changed:


If the input is limited to 16bit, it will play at 48KHz with both LAV and MPC, but anything higher and it drops to 44.1KHz. The output is always 16bit.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.7 watercooled and 2x EVGA GTX 760 in SLI with Corsair 16Gb 1600 (2 4x2 kit) on Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 with Intel 530 240Gb SSD running Win7 x64 on 3x ASUS VS239H-P 23"

Last edited by SamKook; 19th June 2013 at 23:46.
SamKook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 00:43   #1244  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamKook View Post
If the input is limited to 16bit, it will play at 48KHz with both LAV and MPC, but anything higher and it drops to 44.1KHz. The output is always 16bit.
Make screen of this Audio Setting in you system:

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 01:10   #1245  |  Link
SamKook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 212
The default format for shared mode in the advanced tab was the culprit, changing it will change the output bit and KHz. I was only changing it in the audio driver software.

But that seems like pretty odd behavior.
Shouldn't the renderer use the highest settings supported by the hardware instead of using the default set in windows? And shouldn't exclusive mode ignore windows settings(especially when they specify it's for shared mode and is a default value, not a fixed one) and use the hardware directly or am I missing something here.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.7 watercooled and 2x EVGA GTX 760 in SLI with Corsair 16Gb 1600 (2 4x2 kit) on Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 with Intel 530 240Gb SSD running Win7 x64 on 3x ASUS VS239H-P 23"
SamKook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 01:52   #1246  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Here 3 test build. Must work with 24bit/32bit output
http://aleksoid.voserver.net/MPC-BE/...EXCLUSIVE_3.7z

P.S. Before test - check "Allow bit-exact output" in MPC Audio Renderer settings.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 02:31   #1247  |  Link
SamKook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 212
v3 will use the closest supported settings from the input when "Allow bit-exact output" is checked which is very nice.

So I now get 24bit and 48KHz for 32bit 48KHz sources regardless of what setting is set for the default shared mode.


A quick unrelated question: Is there a way to only launch the player in fullscreen when you open the player, like mpchc does instead of going to fullscreen every time a new file is opened?
When I decide to exit fullscreen after loading something directly or if I launch the player without loading a video or audio file, I'd really like it to not switch to fullscreen automatically if I load a new video or audio file. mpchc behaves like that and I love it since if I'm not already in fullscreen after the player is launched the first time, I most likely want to stay in windowed mode.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.7 watercooled and 2x EVGA GTX 760 in SLI with Corsair 16Gb 1600 (2 4x2 kit) on Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 with Intel 530 240Gb SSD running Win7 x64 on 3x ASUS VS239H-P 23"
SamKook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 02:43   #1248  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamKook View Post
A quick unrelated question: Is there a way to only launch the player in fullscreen when you open the player, like mpchc does instead of going to fullscreen every time a new file is opened?
When I decide to exit fullscreen after loading something directly or if I launch the player without loading a video or audio file, I'd really like it to not switch to fullscreen automatically if I load a new video or audio file. mpchc behaves like that and I love it since if I'm not already in fullscreen after the player is launched the first time, I most likely want to stay in windowed mode.
Try this - check "Remember window size" and "Remember window position".
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 02:57   #1249  |  Link
SamKook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
Try this - check "Remember window size" and "Remember window position".
I'll try it after I finish watching my current youtube video since I can't resume it if I restart the player, but if they do the same thing as mpchc, then I don't want those two enabled even if they actually prevent the player from going to fullscreen mode when a file is opened after the player is already started.

I want the player to zoom to 100% for every video when not in fullscreen(I have that enabled) and switching from HD to SD video will move the player default position to the left which really annoys me(I wish it could remember the position from the right side instead of the left).
So I'm not sure those will have the desired effect.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.7 watercooled and 2x EVGA GTX 760 in SLI with Corsair 16Gb 1600 (2 4x2 kit) on Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 with Intel 530 240Gb SSD running Win7 x64 on 3x ASUS VS239H-P 23"

Last edited by SamKook; 20th June 2013 at 02:59.
SamKook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 04:06   #1250  |  Link
SamKook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 212
It still goes to fullscreen with those 2 options enabled.

To make sure you understand what I mean, here's the 2 way I use the player 99% of the time.

1- Double-click on a video or use XBMC to launch mpcbe, the video goes into fullscreen, I watch it and the player exit automatically. Then I start the process again to watch another video. This is my main use of it and it works as intended in both mpc be and mpc hc.

2- a) Open the player directly without loading anything so it opens in windowed mode(so far both mpc be and mpc hc act the same).
b) Then open a video so I can watch it and do some other stuff on my computer at the same time. This is the step where mpc be and mpc hc differ.
Mpc hc won't go to fullscreen and this is exactly what I want since I'll continue to work on other things.
Mpc be on the other hand will always switch to fullscreen every time you open a video, regardless of the current state the player is in so I have to switch out of fullscreen for every video I watch.
c) Open another video without closing the player. Here mpc be will once again switch to fullscreen which will force me to switch back to windowed mode manually while mpc hc will stay in windowed mode.

So what I want is for it to only switch to fullscreen when the player gets started unless no video is loaded and for it to stay in windowed mode once it's started, even if I open a new video.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.7 watercooled and 2x EVGA GTX 760 in SLI with Corsair 16Gb 1600 (2 4x2 kit) on Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen 3 with Intel 530 240Gb SSD running Win7 x64 on 3x ASUS VS239H-P 23"
SamKook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 05:10   #1251  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamKook View Post
It still goes to fullscreen with those 2 options enabled.

To make sure you understand what I mean, here's the 2 way I use the player 99% of the time.

1- Double-click on a video or use XBMC to launch mpcbe, the video goes into fullscreen, I watch it and the player exit automatically. Then I start the process again to watch another video. This is my main use of it and it works as intended in both mpc be and mpc hc.

2- a) Open the player directly without loading anything so it opens in windowed mode(so far both mpc be and mpc hc act the same).
b) Then open a video so I can watch it and do some other stuff on my computer at the same time. This is the step where mpc be and mpc hc differ.
Mpc hc won't go to fullscreen and this is exactly what I want since I'll continue to work on other things.
Mpc be on the other hand will always switch to fullscreen every time you open a video, regardless of the current state the player is in so I have to switch out of fullscreen for every video I watch.
c) Open another video without closing the player. Here mpc be will once again switch to fullscreen which will force me to switch back to windowed mode manually while mpc hc will stay in windowed mode.

So what I want is for it to only switch to fullscreen when the player gets started unless no video is loaded and for it to stay in windowed mode once it's started, even if I open a new video.
If I understand you correctly then your MPC-BE settings are mess up
I use MPC-BE in the same way as you in XBMC
Code:
<playercorefactory>
  <players>
    <player name="MPC-BE" type="ExternalPlayer" audio="true" video="true">
     <filename>C:\Program Files (x86)\MPC-BE\mpc-be.exe</filename>
     <args>"{1}" /fullscreen /close</args>
     <hidexbmc>true</hidexbmc>
     <hideconsole>false</hideconsole>
     <warpcursor>none</warpcursor>
   </player>
  </players>
</playercorefactory>
but when I'm using it outside XBMC doesn't go to full screen
So you should try reset your settings (at least disable "Lunch files in full screen" option if selected) and see what happens
__________________
Windows 10 19042.508 x64, HD7790 Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.9.1, HDMI Full RGB 4:4:4

Last edited by Mercury_22; 20th June 2013 at 05:21.
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 06:21   #1252  |  Link
ontherocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
2 - what's wrong with .wmv playback ??
Not .wmv, it's .wma files that still have the problem. The issue is, any wma file with sampling rate greater than 48kHz, is displayed in my AVR as 48kHz. and 2 Channel files with sampling rate greater than 48kHz are displayed as Multichannel PCM 5.1 in my AVR.

It is the same issue that was present with .wav files, which you fixed that in the previous wasapi fix for bit-exact playback. So now, .wma files remain to be fixed.
ontherocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 06:41   #1253  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by ontherocks View Post
Not .wmv, it's .wma files that still have the problem. The issue is, any wma file with sampling rate greater than 48kHz, is displayed in my AVR as 48kHz. and 2 Channel files with sampling rate greater than 48kHz are displayed as Multichannel PCM 5.1 in my AVR.

It is the same issue that was present with .wav files, which you fixed that in the previous wasapi fix for bit-exact playback. So now, .wma files remain to be fixed.
Test this http://aleksoid.voserver.net/MPC-BE/...EXCLUSIVE_4.7z

set the checkbox as shown in screen:
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 06:59   #1254  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
0x60f is actually the correct channel mask for 5.1 audio. Many tools use 0x3f, though, so I guess both should be treated identically.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 07:12   #1255  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,153
Both 0x60f and 0x3f are correct for 5.1, it just depends which standard you read. The opinions on this have changed back and forth over the years.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 07:21   #1256  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Both 0x60f and 0x3f are correct for 5.1, it just depends which standard you read. The opinions on this have changed back and forth over the years.
For WASAPI output mode 5.1 need set 0x60f channel mask. if set 0x3f - device initialization failed.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 07:58   #1257  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/gg463023

Quote:
In earlier versions of Windows (Windows 98/Me, Windows 2000, Windows XP with SP1, and Windows Server 2003), the interpretation of the channel mask 0x3F is that it assigns the six channels in the 5.1 format to the following speaker positions: FL, FR, FC, LFE, BL, and BR. (This is the back-speaker 5.1 configuration.) However, the interpretation in Windows XP with SP2, Windows Server 2003 with SP1, and Windows Vista is different: by convention, the 5.1 format with the channel mask 0x3F is interpreted to mean the side-speaker 5.1 configuration instead of the back-speaker 5.1 configuration.

Interpreting the channel mask in this manner eliminates the requirement to introduce a second 5.1-channel format descriptor to distinguish the side-speaker 5.1 configuration from the back-speaker 5.1 configuration. These two configurations are so similar that typical users might have difficulty distinguishing between them. Although having only a single 5.1-channel format descriptor avoids confusing users, it does require hardware vendors to remember to interpret the 0x3F channel mask to mean that channels 5 and 6 are assigned to the SL and SR speaker positions instead of the BL and BR positions. In return for having to remember this special-case interpretation of the channel mask for a 5.1 stream, vendors can spare users the difficulty of distinguishing between two very similar 5.1-channel format descriptors.
So basically, 0x60f is the correct mask to use, and 0x3f should be supported, but treated as 0x60f.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
For WASAPI output mode 5.1 need set 0x60f channel mask. if set 0x3f - device initialization failed.
According to the Microsoft doc linked to above, XP and Windows 2003 might need 0x3f, if the latest Service Packs are not installed yet. Maybe you should first try to use 0x60f for WASAPI and if that fails, as plan B try 0x3f, too?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 08:01   #1258  |  Link
alexins
MPC-BE DEV
 
alexins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Slovenija
Posts: 584
MPC-BE v1.2.1.0 -dev build 2961 (Nightly Builds) (sourceforge)
MPC-BE v1.2.1.0 -dev build 2961 (Nightly Builds) (Dev. MPC-BE)
__________________
Win11 x64, i7 8700K 5Ghz, ASUS MAXIMUS X HERO, G.Skill (2x8GB) Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZ, RX 5700,TV Philips 43PUS6703/12, Zappiti 4K HDR
Media Player Classic - BE x86/x64. Team of developers.
alexins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 08:03   #1259  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,602
I remade - generating channels layout depending on the number of channels. For 5.1 - 0x60f
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2013, 08:23   #1260  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
According to the Microsoft doc linked to above, XP and Windows 2003 might need 0x3f, if the latest Service Packs are not installed yet. Maybe you should first try to use 0x60f for WASAPI and if that fails, as plan B try 0x3f, too?
Thats not a big problem, because XP has no WASAPI.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.