Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2017, 00:43   #25701  |  Link
Moviewatcher666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 63
Menu problem Pirates of the Caribbean - At World's End Disk 2 Extras

Greetings,

Strange problem. Surprised it is happening on an older movie.

I did a full disc encode of the Blu-ray of Pirates of the Caribbean - At World's End Disk 2 Extras so that I can fit on single layer disk.

Encode successfully. Burned to rewritable disc and popped into Samsung Blu-ray player. Copy plays fine until the menu. The background video plays but the menu never displays. The background video just keeps looping and no menu.

I am attaching the log and the ini file.

Anybody got any great ideas for a quick fix for this problem?

Thanks!

Edit - Crap! Never mind. Bad rip. Ripped again and all OK.
Attached Files
File Type: txt BD-REBUILDER.txt (42.7 KB, 10 views)
File Type: txt BDREBUILDER.txt (798 Bytes, 2 views)

Last edited by Moviewatcher666; 25th February 2017 at 23:23. Reason: Update
Moviewatcher666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 03:20   #25702  |  Link
bebopper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Portland OR, USA
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Why do you want to de-interlace 1080i material that is sourced from video cameras? If the 1080i material is from a 23.976 source, then it needs to be IVTC'd, not de-interlaced.....

Just my opinion.
I started to deinterlace when converting interlaced bonus features, so there would be no need to have projector/computer w/display do the conversion during playback. It's been a while, so I'd actually forgotten the disadvantages of doing so with the main program material; I'll have to be cognizant of that going forward. Thanks for the reminder.
bebopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 05:13   #25703  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
All Blu-ray players that were built in Feb 2012, and after, were required to have Cinavia detection.
Hmmm, that's a shame... I guess they really got us on this one

I will definitely be holding on to my BDP-83 then...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 05:31   #25704  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by raul124 View Post
hi everyone, what's the different between x264 and HEVC?
Hmmm, I think that we just might have to take this one out to the fields and beat him...


Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 15:35   #25705  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by raul124 View Post
hi everyone, what's the different between x264 and HEVC?
That's a little complicated and beyond the scope of this thread, but I'll give you a short answer.

- HEVC is High Efficiency Video Coding (also known as H.265)
- AVC is Advanced Video Coding (also known as H.264)

X264 is a program that encodes AVC. X265 is a program that encodes HEVC.

AVC has been around for a while and is in use in many areas -- including Blu-Ray. HEVC is newer and more efficient but it isn't as widely implemented. It is especially good at giving you better pictures at low bitrates. HEVC is in-use in Blu-Ray only in players that support Ultra High Resolution (UHD) which are still pretty new and expensive.

In my testing of X264 and X265, I'm not seeing a lot of difference between the two (in terms of SSIM, a quality measuring metric) at typical HD bitrates. But that's likely because X264 has been around a while and has had a lot of tweaks that get maximum efficiency out of AVC. X265 is fairly new. Generally it should be expected that you can get an equivalent quality picture with HEVC at a lower bitrate (meaning less bandwidth for broadcast, and less required storage). Tests I've read about that were done by Netflix seem to show significant savings with HEVC.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 24th February 2017 at 15:40.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 15:40   #25706  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Hmmm, I think that we just might have to take this one out to the fields and beat him...
Bad Lathe! BAD! SIT!
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2017, 15:54   #25707  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
Not most of the time it works but not on some
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
rebelle and the Magnificient seven
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'll test it on "The Magnificent Seven" later today -- but I'm pretty sure it will work. I assume you are talking about the 2016 version.
I ran "The Magnificent Seven" overnight. I plays perfectly.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 06:19   #25708  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The 1080i sources that have the repeated frame usually aren't actually 1080i. They are progressive (meaning there is no temporal difference between the two fields). So you have a 1080p source at 23.976 -- with a repeated frame thrown in to make it 29.97 that is just flagged as 1080i to make it compliant with ATSC transmission standards. That's a good thing -- because you can recover the original film source easily as progressive. It can also be true with those using pulldown flags.

Must be component capture, eh?
I just want to swear a "Ahhhh...haaa!" here because that makes sense, though I've been attempting to understand it for over 2 years now. I get a lot of this stuff, but I also very much don't!!! I so appreciate you guys that do. I can LOOK a my HD TV, something Comcast is broadcasting, or in Wal-Mart, and attempt to explain it to friends and family, but have challenges doing so. I think Lathe and I are in the same boat here, hahaha!
I'm going to try this will some stuff and see what happens.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 08:47   #25709  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Bad Lathe! BAD! SIT!
Sorry boss...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 08:56   #25710  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFuture View Post
I think Lathe and I are in the same boat here...
Hey...!



........................................
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 17:38   #25711  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
Lathe, Lathe, Lathe
Time to up your meds again.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2017, 22:24   #25712  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaFuture View Post
I just want to swear a "Ahhhh...haaa!" here because that makes sense, though I've been attempting to understand it for over 2 years now. I get a lot of this stuff, but I also very much don't!!! I so appreciate you guys that do.
Jdobb is right in 29.97 fps video with repeat frame "telecine" is a lot easier to recover. I capture (from BUD satellite) a lot of videos that are repeat frame. Getting back to 23.976 is as simple as using selectevery() in the AVS script. Jdobb doesn't support it because there are a couple of requirements that just about every user will not know: 1) the repeated frame location must be constant throughout the video; 2) you need to know which frame is being repeated. In order to know the requirements and make sure that the repeat frame cadence is throughout the video, requires a video editing program, like VideoReDo, in order to go through the frames to see which one is being repeated and to make sure the cadence is intact.

Using selectevery() speeds up the recoding process since the software isn't going thru the time consuming frame doubling and field extraction to find the 2:3 pattern. The AVS script just drops a frame out of every five, resulting in the new frame rate: 23.976.

You gotta love what can be done with AVS scripts.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 00:10   #25713  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Jdobb is right in 29.97 fps video with repeat frame "telecine" is a lot easier to recover. I capture (from BUD satellite) a lot of videos that are repeat frame. Getting back to 23.976 is as simple as using selectevery() in the AVS script. Jdobb doesn't support it because there are a couple of requirements that just about every user will not know: 1) the repeated frame location must be constant throughout the video; 2) you need to know which frame is being repeated. In order to know the requirements and make sure that the repeat frame cadence is throughout the video, requires a video editing program, like VideoReDo, in order to go through the frames to see which one is being repeated and to make sure the cadence is intact.

Using selectevery() speeds up the recoding process since the software isn't going thru the time consuming frame doubling and field extraction to find the 2:3 pattern. The AVS script just drops a frame out of every five, resulting in the new frame rate: 23.976.

You gotta love what can be done with AVS scripts.
It's easier to just use the tDecimate() which is part of TIVTC or Decimate(cycle=5) which is part of DECOMB. Either one of those will examine each group of 5 frames and find/remove the frame that is repeated. They are both included in the BD-RB tools folder. They don't do the field extraction, as that is another function withing the DLLs.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 26th February 2017 at 00:14.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 00:59   #25714  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It's easier to just use the tDecimate() which is part of TIVTC or Decimate(cycle=5) which is part of DECOMB.
I haven't tried Decimate() [default cycle is 5] on these files. I'll give it a go. Thanks for the tip.

But, that said, selectevery() should be faster, as it doesn't have to spend time comparing frames. The un-selected frame is just dropped.

Last edited by MrVideo; 26th February 2017 at 02:46.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 04:30   #25715  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Lathe, Lathe, Lathe
Time to up your meds again.
Where are my damn PILLS!!?



.......................................
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 04:46   #25716  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Where are my damn PILLS!!?
I stole 'em. You're not the only one with social issues.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 05:11   #25717  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I stole 'em. You're not the only one with social issues.
Well, at least I'm in good company...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2017, 12:36   #25718  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
Good Lathe
Attached Images
 
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 05:34   #25719  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Good Lathe
Dude, if I've told you ONCE, I've told you TWICE... DON'T sneak into my house and take bloody pictures of me!!!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2017, 18:57   #25720  |  Link
thekiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I ran "The Magnificent Seven" overnight. I plays perfectly.
Bd rebuilder takes me the version of 2h52 instead of that of 2h12
Impossible to choose the right one
thekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.