Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st June 2021, 16:42   #1441  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCU View Post
How to change the quality in MPC?
Apologize if this is not a good topic for this thread.

If you are looking to play YouTube in MPC-HC I highly recommend this DirectShow plugin.

https://ys.3dyd.com/

Highly configurable YouTube plugin that adds YouTube support to any DirectShow capable video player.

You can easily select video and audio formats / resolutions / refresh rates to play, and set up rule based automatic selection based on any YouTube video metadata, etc.

Also the plugin is updated as YouTube changes their back-end.


* precise tuning of automatic quality selection
* manual quality selection before playback start
* HLS live streams support
* DASH streams support (video and audio goes from separate streams)
* support for audio-only playback
* subtitles support
* access to video page metadata

Last edited by SirMaster; 21st June 2021 at 16:44.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2021, 10:26   #1442  |  Link
monkeyluv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Seeking is slow because TS container does not contain a seek index. You need to remux your files to Matroska container (with MkvToolNix) if you want proper seeking.

Seeking might appear faster in some other players, but at the cost of sometimes showing corrupted image after seeking.
Thanks. I don't mind the slight corruption, and for some reason don't notice it when I play the same videos in other players. Is there a way for me to tweak the settings in the player so that I don't have to use another one just for these TS files?
monkeyluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2021, 12:16   #1443  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,316
There is no option for that, nor will I add that.

Remuxing is quick and easy to do and is a permanent solution.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.14
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2021, 07:45   #1444  |  Link
monkeyluv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Not an additional option; just something I can disable. For now I just associate the files with Potplayer. I don't see the point in remuxing as they're only files I capture and delete when no longer needed.
monkeyluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2021, 10:26   #1445  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,013
if you can disable something it's an option.

fast seek is already on by default but it's just keyframe the fastest it can be done safely
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2021, 11:53   #1446  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,316
Keyframe seek requires a list of keyframes. MPEG-TS container does not provide such information.

I could not even add an option even if I wanted to, because the player can't just magically make seeking faster. That needs to be done in the splitter.

Remuxing takes just a few seconds.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.14
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2021, 11:47   #1447  |  Link
monkeyluv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 4
Thanks to clsid and huhn. I was guessing that it's something outside the player that minimizes the problem. I don't know if I can add a filter (is that the right thing?) to run only for TS files, though.

If remuxing is fast, then I'll just go for that. I think I saw some instructions in this forum for doing that via a batch command, so I'll give it a shot.

Edit: I tried Metafox and the process was fast. Thanks again.

Last edited by monkeyluv; 26th June 2021 at 12:20.
monkeyluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2021, 06:09   #1448  |  Link
Scoty
Registered User
 
Scoty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Apologize if this is not a good topic for this thread.

If you are looking to play YouTube in MPC-HC I highly recommend this DirectShow plugin.

https://ys.3dyd.com/

Highly configurable YouTube plugin that adds YouTube support to any DirectShow capable video player.

You can easily select video and audio formats / resolutions / refresh rates to play, and set up rule based automatic selection based on any YouTube video metadata, etc.

Also the plugin is updated as YouTube changes their back-end.
Not work here. Whene i push ok there open the Explorer for search app to playing.
Scoty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2021, 06:49   #1449  |  Link
atsukasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 5
Example subtitle srt file with <br>:
Code:
1
00:00:00,000 --> 00:00:02,980
Hello<br>everyone
When a video has <br> from internal subs or srt file like above, the video will show Hello<br>everyone in MPC-BE or MPC-HC with default subtitle settings+renderer.
With the same file played on most other players like Mpv, Vlc, Plex or Kodi it shows:
Hello
everyone

Is it possible to include an option for MPC-HC to do a line break instead of showing <br> in video if it's found in the subtitle file? Thanks
atsukasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2021, 08:59   #1450  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,433
SRT supports multi-line subtitles (at least 2 lines)... but well, a limited HTML parser for a few special cases might be possible.
Just clsid will not add any new features. Someone else would have to provide a patch.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2021, 15:52   #1451  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoty View Post
Not work here. Whene i push ok there open the Explorer for search app to playing.
Hmm, I use the plugin with MPC-HC and it works great to play YouTube and I can select exactly the format I want.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2021, 17:07   #1452  |  Link
toiletglasses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
MPC-HC, both x86 & x64, is using an improper album art on MP3 files that have no embedded art. It correctly shows embedded album art. I cannot see where it's pulling this art from, either in Process Explorer, or registry MPC-HC settings. Any ideas would be helpful. Thanks.
toiletglasses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2021, 18:14   #1453  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,316
It looks in the same folder for images such as "folder.jpg", "cover.jpg", and something that contains the artists name.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.14
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2021, 19:52   #1454  |  Link
toiletglasses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
@clsid : Thank you. That was it. "cover.jpg". MPC-HC was using that file for every MP3 without embedded art.
toiletglasses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2021, 21:10   #1455  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 707
I have noticed that in MPC-HC when an MP3 file has 2 Front Cover it always shows the second in the order, WmP and Xmplay for example show the first Front Cover.
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2021, 15:38   #1456  |  Link
Konrad Klar
Registered User
 
Konrad Klar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoty View Post
Not work here. Whene i push ok there open the Explorer for search app to playing.
ys+https:// helped me.
Konrad Klar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2021, 22:39   #1457  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,587
Do you guys plan to add AMD FSR upscaling method? IT is now open source.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2021, 23:19   #1458  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,316
I am not planning to add any new features at all.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.14
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2021, 22:51   #1459  |  Link
adipose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Do you guys plan to add AMD FSR upscaling method? IT is now open source.
I would think either mad-vr or mpc-vr would be the appropriate place to implement such a feature.
adipose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2021, 00:35   #1460  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,013
the white paper clearly ask for an noise free image.
an aliasing free image.
an banding free image else it will increase it.
does not work properly on anything that is not gamma so not suitable for HLG or PQ.
needs a full range image.
i have not clearly seen it but RGB seems to be needed too.

these are the things AMD ask for not want user found.
so just move on and ignore it for video processing.

it's simple tab scaler with a sharpening part to run far far below a 1 ms unlikely to be any good.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.