Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th February 2020, 18:35   #7121  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,538
I see such function calls. CMpcVideoRenderer::SetMediaType(): NV12, NV12, P010, P010, NV12.
And I donít understand why the last SetMediaType() sets the NV12 format. This does not happen to me.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2020, 19:06   #7122  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,030
the situation is special here.

the file in question should be hardware decoded and as far as i can see lavfilter even tries to do that with mpc-hc i can see for a very short time the H/W information in the bottom left:
https://abload.de/img/mpc-hc27k63.png

it pretty much impossible to find a file that looks like it is hardware compatible but isn't in the end when using nvidia or intel GPUs.

this is nothing serious anyway i just forced p010 to see issues with D3D11 processing and the new AMD driver i really really don't need this.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 01:14   #7123  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the situation is special here.

the file in question should be hardware decoded and as far as i can see lavfilter even tries to do that with mpc-hc i can see for a very short time the H/W information in the bottom left:
https://abload.de/img/mpc-hc27k63.png

it pretty much impossible to find a file that looks like it is hardware compatible but isn't in the end when using nvidia or intel GPUs.

this is nothing serious anyway i just forced p010 to see issues with D3D11 processing and the new AMD driver i really really don't need this.
Try with this debug LAV Filters + DebugView.
https://yadi.sk/d/YEYTL-UjXed24g
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 06:54   #7124  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,538
@huhn
I added more debugging information to MPCVideoRenderer v0.4.0.1129.

PS: You can use https://pastebin.com/ for large logs.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 07:53   #7125  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
mpc-vr uses too much gpu 3d and drops frames on 4k60fps videos in direct3d11 mode.
Is this expected behavior?
I tried mpc-hc and potplayer using mpc-vr and they seem to work fine.
yonta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 08:14   #7126  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
mpc-vr uses too much gpu 3d and drops frames on 4k60fps videos in direct3d11 mode.
Is this expected behavior?
If you use a DXVA2 decoder and D3D11 mode, then MPC VR will give a high load. If you do not like it, then use the D3D9 mode.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 10:01   #7127  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,030
here you go:
https://pastebin.com/Dupfh0ih
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 10:22   #7128  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
mpc-vr uses too much gpu 3d and drops frames on 4k60fps videos in direct3d11 mode.
Is this expected behavior?
I tried mpc-hc and potplayer using mpc-vr and they seem to work fine.
I noticed, that mpc vr is slower around the time when dx11 OSD code was changing. The rendere has hiccups especially with 60FPS videos. You may try really old version, pre-osd changes. Go back even with some december 2019 build.
Maybe devs might look on it?
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 10:52   #7129  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
If you use a DXVA2 decoder and D3D11 mode, then MPC VR will give a high load. If you do not like it, then use the D3D9 mode.
so, it's either use an external d3d11 decoder or stick with d3d9 mode. okay.
yonta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 12:09   #7130  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,030
that's why it doesn't work in windows media player but in this "video app" thingy.

so this is clearly not a bug just a feature here is a proof look at it still properly encoding a VP9 video for playback:
https://abload.de/img/amdefknb.png

i'm calling them again monday and tell them this if i didn't loose my mind before... it's so sad.

edit: well i guess i just lay back for while instead.

Last edited by huhn; 8th February 2020 at 12:13.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 15:11   #7131  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by yonta View Post
so, it's either use an external d3d11 decoder or stick with d3d9 mode. okay.
He ment that You have to use same dx version for decoder and renderer.
So dxva2 decoder and dxvd9 renderer
or
dxva11 decoder and dxva11 renderer option.
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 15:15   #7132  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
that's why it doesn't work in windows media player but in this "video app" thingy.

so this is clearly not a bug just a feature here is a proof look at it still properly encoding a VP9 video for playback:
https://abload.de/img/amdefknb.png

i'm calling them again monday and tell them this if i didn't loose my mind before... it's so sad.

edit: well i guess i just lay back for while instead.
Win video App may simply use MFT decoder. It may be win internal, or provided with drivers (custom AMD decoder). Thats why nothing work in other players since they not support MFT. Check this out.
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 18:04   #7133  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,030
a post is missing making this out of context.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 18:43   #7134  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,320
An automatic option for D3D9/D3D11 mode would be useful: use D3D9 if input is DXVA2 native, use D3D11 otherwise if supported by the system.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2020, 20:08   #7135  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,538
I will try to explain what the D3D9 and D3D11 modes mean in MPC-VR.

Direct3D 9 mode
All stages of image processing using only D3D9. DXVA VideoDecoder, DXVA VideoProcesso and shader processing also use D3D9.

Direct3D 11 mode
Most stages of image processing using D3D11. DXVA VideoProcessor is completely replaced with D3D11 VideoProcessor. Shader processing now uses D3D11.
But...
1. DXVA VideoDecoder can be replaced with D3D11 VideoDecoder (LAV). But we had to leave support for DXVA decoders. To do this, we have to copy from the D3D9 video surface to the D3D11 texture, which loads the memory bus (system memory is used).
2. We also have to use the shared D3D9-D3D11 texture so that we can draw subtitles and OSD on it. It turned out a little suboptimal. If anyone can implement the analogs of ISubRenderCallback and CDX9SubPic, then subtitles and OSD can be output as quickly as in D3D9 mode.

In the current state, the effect of the dependencies on D3D9 on the D3D11 mode is as minimal as possible (as far as we succeeded).
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2020, 04:38   #7136  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,578
huhn
Show screenshot from DXVAChecker to check support or not standart "VP9 Profile 0" mode.

Check playback "VP9 Profile 0" in MPC-BE using internal filters/decoders with EVR-CP - show screenshot with Statistics(Ctrl+J).

About crash using LAV Video + MPC VR - it's can try to understand this only locally using the debugger. If you can provide remote access to your computer, I can try to do it. If so - write in PM.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215

Last edited by Aleksoid1978; 9th February 2020 at 04:55.
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2020, 11:05   #7137  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,030
DXVA: https://abload.de/img/dxvacheckere7ja4.png
MPC-BE working hardware decoding: https://abload.de/img/mpc-be4sjys.png

BTW. EVR CP triggers freesync and that in a very inconsistent way.

it is really worth the time to look deeper into it?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2020, 11:46   #7138  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
DXVA: https://abload.de/img/dxvacheckere7ja4.png
MPC-BE working hardware decoding: https://abload.de/img/mpc-be4sjys.png

BTW. EVR CP triggers freesync and that in a very inconsistent way.

it is really worth the time to look deeper into it?
Write to LAV's author about "bug" in LAV Video - that's it's can using DXVA for VP9.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2020, 12:36   #7139  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,030
well he knows and it should be the same reason with windows media player.

but if it is the need for makro block mode instead of raw stream or if the driver is just lying or whatever who knows...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2020, 21:35   #7140  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,101
The DXVA documentation says that the flag should be 1 on decoders which accept a raw bitstream. If the AMD driver doesn't set it, its just broken. Not that this is a big surprise about AMD.
Technically there is no other mode for VP9, so I suppose I could add a special exemption to allow it anyway, but regardless their shit is broke.

I can very specifically quote the DXVA VP9 specification which states that "ConfigBitstreamRaw" should always be 1 for VP8/9, AMD violates that apparently.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 10th February 2020 at 00:36.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.