Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th March 2021, 00:02   #1  |  Link
chipxtreme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 42
Staxrip x265 NVENC Settings

After upgrading to latest version of Staxrip its deleted my profile that I used to encode with and only an older version is in the backups but as its a lot slower than what I used to encode on my 1070 with I was wondering what settings other people were using with a 3070 GPU.

I used to encode around 300 frames a sec but was lucky to get half that since getting 3070.

I want 10 bit x265, was using a bitrate of around 2700 and AAC audio which resulted in a 90 minute movie being around 2GB.

Any help would be appreciated.
chipxtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 01:40   #2  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by chipxtreme View Post
After upgrading to latest version of Staxrip its deleted my profile that I used to encode with and only an older version is in the backups but as its a lot slower than what I used to encode on my 1070 with I was wondering what settings other people were using with a 3070 GPU.



I used to encode around 300 frames a sec but was lucky to get half that since getting 3070.



I want 10 bit x265, was using a bitrate of around 2700 and AAC audio which resulted in a 90 minute movie being around 2GB.



Any help would be appreciated.
3070 has a much higher quality chip. 150fps is still super good.

Compared to the 5 to 15 you'd get from a quality software encode.

Sent from my SM-G986U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 10:03   #3  |  Link
chipxtreme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
3070 has a much higher quality chip. 150fps is still super good.

Compared to the 5 to 15 you'd get from a quality software encode.

Sent from my SM-G986U1 using Tapatalk
Well usually it sits around the 120fps, 150fps is rare. Just cos I'm used to twice that it feels slow.

I know its much better than I'd get with my 3900X CPU but a couple of years ago when I first got into re-encoding used to get 300+ on a laptop with an i7 cpu.
chipxtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2021, 11:48   #4  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 351
You canīt compare the two encoders on your cards. The 1070 isnīt capable of B-Frames and other stuff the NVECN Encoder on the Gen30 card is capable of.. Quality of the newer encoder is much better than the older one.
To get it faster, you can always alter the quality settings, set the decode to the GPU, donīt leave the GPU for procseeing, to it all on the GPU, etc...

Given the same quality settings, the 1070 isnīt faster than the 3070 encoder.
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2021, 02:46   #5  |  Link
adamamos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1
3070 has a much higher quality chip.
__________________
adamamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2021, 05:26   #6  |  Link
ReinerSchweinlin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamamos View Post
3070 has a much higher quality chip.
With the same nvenc capabilities as the GEN20 Chips - The Encoder didnīt improve
ReinerSchweinlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.