Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th January 2014, 19:23   #1  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Haali Renderer and DirectVobSub = No Subtitles

Hi,

I am trying to play a video recorded with TechSmith's Camtasia by adding subtitles. I am using Haali Render since I get the best results in my case.

The problem is that I can not see any subtitles. I am loading an external *.srt file. The a look of my graph below.




http://i44.tinypic.com/2vinwxk.jpg


I saw also tha Haali has a subtitle input. How can I use that pin ?

Regards,
Attached Images
 
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2014, 20:12   #2  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,192
Try the auto-loading version of DirectVobSub.

OR adjust the properties of the "normal" DirectVobSub, and then restart or reload the graph.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2014, 10:34   #3  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
Try the auto-loading version of DirectVobSub.

OR adjust the properties of the "normal" DirectVobSub, and then restart or reload the graph.

Thanks

Using the auto-loading version I get error "VFW_E_NO_ACCEPTABLE_TYPES"

I used an older version of VSFilter.dll (v 1.7.0.35) which it works with VMR9 or EVR but it does not refreshing correctly which means that past time subtitles are mixing with current time subtitle for a few seconds. Is there any way to avoid this?

Any other solution or recommendation ?

Regards,
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2014, 12:33   #4  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Using the auto-loading version I get error "VFW_E_NO_ACCEPTABLE_TYPES"
That's weird 0_o

Anyway, I sort-of managed to reproduce your problem, and it seems the-root-of-all-evil is in the Color Space Conversion filter

Workaround: decode the video with ffdshow / LAV Video,
OR replace the Color Space filter with ffdshow raw video filter
(just in case the Camtasia VfW codec cannot do without a color space conversion).

Also, to be on the safe side, don't use the default AVI Splitter. FWIW, I use and recommend the standalone MPC Avi Splitter.
Besides, xy-VSFilter instead of the "normal" VSFilter.

Last edited by filler56789; 14th January 2014 at 18:47. Reason: disambiguation
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2014, 10:26   #5  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
That's weird 0_o

Anyway, I sort-of managed to reproduce your problem, and it seems the-root-of-all-evil is in the Color Space Conversion filter

Workaround: decode the video with ffdshow / LAV Video,
OR replace the Color Space filter with ffdshow raw video filter
(just in case the Camtasia VfW codec cannot do without a color space conversion).

Also, to be on the safe side, don't use the default AVI Splitter. FWIW, I use and recommend the standalone MPC Avi Splitter.
Besides, xy-VSFilter instead of the "normal" VSFilter.
Ok,

I did the following changes at the graph



But the result is distrorted



I did not tried but since I am using my own Async Source Filter I think that it will not work with filters like LavFilter or FDShow....

Anyway I will give it a try !

PS: Haali Renderer has a subtitle input pin. Do you know how to use it ?
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2014, 10:43   #6  |  Link
dukey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 560
Quote:
PS: Haali Renderer has a subtitle input pin. Do you know how to use it ?
You need a splitter that will connect directly to the renderer pin.
dukey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2014, 12:11   #7  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukey View Post
You need a splitter that will connect directly to the renderer pin.
Thanks, but what kind of splitter? I need to load external files for my subtitles. Can you recommend one ?

PS : I ended up with Haali Render because VMR9 does not correcly support BiLinear/BiCubic filtering for resizing under Win7/Vista. I know that I have to use EVR in this case but since I want to have XP support which works fine with VMR9, I think that Haali will be a universal renderer without extra code.

Regards,

Last edited by sdancer75; 15th January 2014 at 12:18.
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2014, 20:41   #8  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,330
Do you know about madVR?
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2014, 05:37   #9  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
HR is a bug feast, time to use madVR indeed.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2014, 08:36   #10  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
HR is a bug feast, time to use madVR indeed.
Hi,

I gave up with madVR 'cos I get a small output window (no reason why... is it buggy ?) without the possibility to resize or change any attributes (no reaction when I push "edit settings" or "show tray icon"). So I gave up very early with this renderer !


Last edited by sdancer75; 16th January 2014 at 08:38.
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2014, 03:59   #11  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,330
Why are you using "Color Space Converter"?
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2014, 11:22   #12  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Why are you using "Color Space Converter"?
Hi,

Without "Color Space Converter" madVR renderer has flickeing.... I think that MadVR is only for mpeg movies and for my video captured videos.... It can not even decode the resolution of the video !
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2014, 23:11   #13  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,330
No, madVR works with anything and everything on my system. No resolution or color space restrictions. I do VHS to H.264 conversions and I have played with a lot of options like capturing in uncompressed UYVY 10-bit and playing with color spaces, etc.

Maybe you could post a small sample of what you are trying to play and we could see if we can get it to work in GraphEditPlus?

Are you on XP? What video card do you have?
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 10:09   #14  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No, madVR works with anything and everything on my system. No resolution or color space restrictions. I do VHS to H.264 conversions and I have played with a lot of options like capturing in uncompressed UYVY 10-bit and playing with color spaces, etc.

Maybe you could post a small sample of what you are trying to play and we could see if we can get it to work in GraphEditPlus?

Are you on XP? What video card do you have?
Hi,

I am using Win7 64Bit with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100, but I want to run the graph also to WinXP systems.

The video recorded with TechSmith's Camtasia. You can download the codec directly from

http://download.techsmith.com/tscc/tscc.exe

You can also download a video sample from

http://rapidshare.com/share/EED1C450...E0D4D55C2EF744


Take cake, that I need subtitling on my videos from external files. Currently I can work with VMR9 but on Win7/Vista OS as I read and verified by myself, I can not use bilinear/bucubic for resizing. So I have in this case to use "EVR renderer" and under WinXP "WMR9". In any case using DirectVobSub I get subtitle filckering (you can read above).

So, I am looking for a universal renderer that works on all system but I get problems with the subtitling.

Regards,
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 10:34   #15  |  Link
sheppaul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 146
Well, why not just use a player that supports subtitles?
sheppaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 11:53   #16  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,192
There seems to be a lot of misunderstanding and incomplete information going on...

Why do you prefer the "official" Camtasia decoder to LAV Video or ffdshow?

Have you actually tried xy-vsfilter?

Did you know that many (probably most) XP setups include .NET 3.5 (and therefore EVR)?
{BTW, one can even install EVR without .NET 3.5}

Have you tried ffdshow video processor instead of the standalone/automagic Color Space Converter?

Last edited by filler56789; 18th January 2014 at 11:55.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 12:22   #17  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
There seems to be a lot of misunderstanding and incomplete information going on...

Why do you prefer the "official" Camtasia decoder to LAV Video or ffdshow?

Have you actually tried xy-vsfilter?

Did you know that many (probably most) XP setups include .NET 3.5 (and therefore EVR)?
{BTW, one can even install EVR without .NET 3.5}

Have you tried ffdshow video processor instead of the standalone/automagic Color Space Converter?
As I mentioned before, I created my own "File Async Filter" that is fully compatible with MS AVI Splitter, and its not compatilbe with LAVFilter and maybe others. I didn't tried with ffdshow anyway but I will it a try.

Yes maybe the most XP setups includes .Net 3.5 (... and EVR renderer) but not all of them and of course its a suggested solution (to force a user to install .Net 3.5 before my app installation) in case I did not find a better one.

I have tried xy-vsfilter and I get flicker, read above.


Regards,
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 12:25   #18  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheppaul View Post
Well, why not just use a player that supports subtitles?
I am using my own player developed with MS VC++, so before I pass the graph into my source code, I want to be sure that works perfectly with GraphEdit.
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 13:05   #19  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdancer75
As I mentioned before, I created my own "File Async Filter" that is fully compatible with MS AVI Splitter, and its not compatilbe with LAVFilter and maybe others.
FWIW --- LAV Video is not the same as LAV Splitter.

And as I said, it IS possible to install EVR on XP without the .NET 3.5 package.

BTW, no flavors of Windows natively include VSFilter, the Camtasia codec, Haali Video Renderer, madVR, or your custom File Source filter.

Last edited by filler56789; 18th January 2014 at 13:09.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2014, 13:43   #20  |  Link
sdancer75
Registered User
 
sdancer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
FWIW --- LAV Video is not the same as LAV Splitter.

And as I said, it IS possible to install EVR on XP without the .NET 3.5 package.

BTW, no flavors of Windows natively include VSFilter, the Camtasia codec, Haali Video Renderer, madVR, or your custom File Source filter.

Hi,

It seems that LAVvideo did the job. What I noted :

1) When the video renderer used is MadVR it works (anyway I can not resize the preview window. Is that normal ? Can I resize the final window in my app ?)
2) When the video renderer used is Haali, the video is flipped vertically (dont know how to fix)
3) When the video renderer used is EVR it works
4) When the video renderer used is VMR9 it works


LavAudio seems to distort the sound for a few mseconds when I fast forward the movie. Maybe the problem is the "graphstudionext" it self, i dont know. I didn't tested with Graphedt.exe since it crashes when i am trying to expand "direct show filters" tree.

Anyway "Mp3 Decoder DMO" seems to behave much better.



So, I ended with the following graph. Any recommendations are welcomed.


Last edited by sdancer75; 18th January 2014 at 13:53.
sdancer75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.