Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th March 2010, 20:38   #7461  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,711
Have you been overclocking your system recently? If so, you may want to try running some stability tests to make sure your computer is actually stable.

This is not the fault of BD Rebuilder.
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 20:50   #7462  |  Link
sidneysides
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Whether it uses pulldown and if it is VC-1 picture (field) based.
I will get hold of the original again and have a look. What do I need to change if it is one of these then?
sidneysides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 06:06   #7463  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Wierd. Here's what I get when I run it.

- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.7.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
- WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC: Ok
- WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC: Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.32.0.8, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok

Oh... I got it now. I'd used a fixed path in my code for testing and never changed it back. I just replaced the "inspect.exe" file on the download. Note: The MP4BOX/FAAC is actually related to the next release.
Sorry, I'm late to this thread so I might have missed it, and I have to ask...

The first post of this thread talks about using "recommended versions" and for FFDSHOW links to an older version than inspect.exe apparently reports about your system. (3133 is linked in the first post, 3326 on your system per the above post)

Is FFDSHOW 3326 ok to use with BD Rebuilder 0.32.08 (March 8th, 2010)? or should we stick with the version linked in the first post?
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 12:01   #7464  |  Link
Kampfwurstwasser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Sorry, I'm late to this thread so I might have missed it, and I have to ask...

The first post of this thread talks about using "recommended versions" and for FFDSHOW links to an older version than inspect.exe apparently reports about your system. (3133 is linked in the first post, 3326 on your system per the above post)

Is FFDSHOW 3326 ok to use with BD Rebuilder 0.32.08 (March 8th, 2010)? or should we stick with the version linked in the first post?
I would like to know this too, because FFDShow revision 3326 supports DXVA playback for h264, right?

Last edited by Kampfwurstwasser; 28th March 2010 at 12:06.
Kampfwurstwasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 12:50   #7465  |  Link
woodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 33
I have just done 2 full backups of the incredible hulk, the first one with “quicker” encode for extras checked and that came out under size(movie about 8gb with the hd audio)and over size extras around 13gb, just like District 9 backup. The second one unchecked “quicker” encode for extras and that came out ok size wise, although it did take 50 hours to do. I would like to use “quicker” checked because of the time difference on encoding. The other problem I’m having is jerky video, on this movie and others, not sure what the cause is I’m getting no errors from BD rebuilder. Using 0.32.08
woodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 13:53   #7466  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
Sorry, I'm late to this thread so I might have missed it, and I have to ask...

The first post of this thread talks about using "recommended versions" and for FFDSHOW links to an older version than inspect.exe apparently reports about your system. (3133 is linked in the first post, 3326 on your system per the above post)

Is FFDSHOW 3326 ok to use with BD Rebuilder 0.32.08 (March 8th, 2010)? or should we stick with the version linked in the first post?
That's the one I've been testing (and why it shows "Ok"). I've been running it for a couple of weeks with no issues. It's probably ok. I'd suggest you try it, and if you have no issues, report back. I'll probably update the first link soon if I don't see issues. If you do, please step back to 3133 and report that too.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2010 at 14:01.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 13:55   #7467  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodman View Post
I have just done 2 full backups of the incredible hulk, the first one with “quicker” encode for extras checked and that came out under size(movie about 8gb with the hd audio)and over size extras around 13gb, just like District 9 backup. The second one unchecked “quicker” encode for extras and that came out ok size wise, although it did take 50 hours to do. I would like to use “quicker” checked because of the time difference on encoding. The other problem I’m having is jerky video, on this movie and others, not sure what the cause is I’m getting no errors from BD rebuilder. Using 0.32.08
"Jerky video" on what playback device? If it's not a standalone player you are probably seeing issues with the playback, not the encode.

If it's taking 50 hours to encode, I'd suggest you move up to a modern processor... even in high quality mode a reasonably recent processor (two years old or so) should only take a quarter of that time (e.g. my Phenom 9500).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2010 at 13:57.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 14:13   #7468  |  Link
woodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
"Jerky video" on what playback device? If it's not a standalone player you are probably seeing issues with the playback, not the encode.

If it's taking 50 hours to encode, I'd suggest you move up to a modern processor... even in high quality mode a reasonably recent processor (two years old or so) should only take a quarter of that time (e.g. my Phenom 9500).
tested on standalone player. i have a dual core 2.50 proccessor
woodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 14:25   #7469  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That's the one I've been testing (and why it shows "Ok"). I've been running it for a couple of weeks with no issues. It's probably ok. I'd suggest you try it, and if you have no issues, report back. I'll probably update the first link soon if I don't see issues. If you do, please step back to 3133 and report that too.
Ok, I'll give it a try... I plan on doing a backup of Toy Story (Movie only to DVD9) later today.. I'll post back how I make out, after it finishes and I get to watch the movie from the backup (probably tomorrow).
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 14:25   #7470  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodman View Post
tested on standalone player. i have a dual core 2.50 proccessor
You'll have to give me an example or description of what you're seeing. "Jerky" can mean lot of different things. I can't imagine why this would happen on one computer and one standalone player but not others...

1. Please post your results from running INSPECT.EXE.
2. What kind of video is the source (that is jerky)?
3. What disc is it? Is it an original?
4. Is it output to BD-5, BD-9, BD-25?
5. What encode quality settings?
6. Is it all encodes, or certain ones? Main feature or extras?

Looking back at your previous posts, you've been experiencing a lot of very odd problems... I have to believe you have some type of configuration issue.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2010 at 14:29.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 14:55   #7471  |  Link
woodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You'll have to give me an example or description of what you're seeing. "Jerky" can mean lot of different things. I can't imagine why this would happen on one computer and one standalone player but not others...

1. Please post your results from running INSPECT.EXE.
2. What kind of video is the source (that is jerky)?
3. What disc is it? Is it an original?
4. Is it output to BD-5, BD-9, BD-25?
5. What encode quality settings?
6. Is it all encodes, or certain ones? Main feature or extras?

Looking back at your previous posts, you've been experiencing a lot of very odd problems... I have to believe you have some type of configuration issue.
thanks, will try that
woodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 15:23   #7472  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That's the one I've been testing (and why it shows "Ok"). I've been running it for a couple of weeks with no issues. It's probably ok. I'd suggest you try it, and if you have no issues, report back. I'll probably update the first link soon if I don't see issues. If you do, please step back to 3133 and report that too.
Since I'm tired of reports of failed encodes (just like you are I guess), sometime next week I'll try to post a link to a small tool I'm preparing. It includes H.264/AVC, MPEG-2 and VC-1 short samples and does a basic encoding of few seconds of video to check if user's PC is able to handle these codecs via directshow.

It will check avisynth presence, haali ability to split video and audio and x264 ability to encode video served by avisynth from directshow source with these video codecs.

I think it will make life much easier for both coders and users.

Dean
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 28th March 2010 at 15:26.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 15:53   #7473  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
Since I'm tired of reports of failed encodes (just like you are I guess), sometime next week I'll try to post a link to a small tool I'm preparing. It includes H.264/AVC, MPEG-2 and VC-1 short samples and does a basic encoding of few seconds of video to check if user's PC is able to handle these codecs via directshow.

It will check avisynth presence, haali ability to split video and audio and x264 ability to encode video served by avisynth from directshow source with these video codecs.

I think it will make life much easier for both coders and users.

Dean
Good idea.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 16:10   #7474  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adub View Post
Have you been overclocking your system recently? If so, you may want to try running some stability tests to make sure your computer is actually stable.

This is not the fault of BD Rebuilder.
I assume you're the same Adub that made the video here? Pretty cool.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2010 at 16:25.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 17:20   #7475  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,419
If someone not notice, x264 now have official Blu-Ray support. So if anyone can update to r1050 form www.x264.nl and test on player to see is everything work normaly
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 17:39   #7476  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
If someone not notice, x264 now have official Blu-Ray support. So if anyone can update to r1050 form www.x264.nl and test on player to see is everything work normaly
I assume you mean r1510... I'm testing it now, looks good so far.

It may be my imagination -- but it seems to be a bit faster also.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2010 at 17:43.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 17:43   #7477  |  Link
saphire199
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Hey, first of all, I really like the new "inspect" tool. Let's you know right away that you have all your basics in and provides a first debug for any problems.

And on that note, my inpect shows all ok and I am wondering if anyone else has run into this - I am trying out the feature to make an iso file with Imgburn after BDRB finishes, but I am finding it takes hours to complete. When I take the same file (the completed BDRB file) and make an iso seperately, it does it in about 5 minutes tops. I am making DVD9 discs mostly, movie only. Thanks
saphire199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 17:47   #7478  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by saphire199 View Post
Hey, first of all, I really like the new "inspect" tool. Let's you know right away that you have all your basics in and provides a first debug for any problems.

And on that note, my inpect shows all ok and I am wondering if anyone else has run into this - I am trying out the feature to make an iso file with Imgburn after BDRB finishes, but I am finding it takes hours to complete. When I take the same file (the completed BDRB file) and make an iso seperately, it does it in about 5 minutes tops. I am making DVD9 discs mostly, movie only. Thanks
Hmmm... I'll do some testing -- but when I tested it right after implementing it, it took only a few minutes. Any chance your disc is getting close to full? That could make a huge difference.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2010 at 17:52.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 18:17   #7479  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I assume you mean r1510... I'm testing it now, looks good so far.

It may be my imagination -- but it seems to be a bit faster also.
Not your imagination
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 18:30   #7480  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I assume you mean r1510... I'm testing it now, looks good so far.

It may be my imagination -- but it seems to be a bit faster also.
Yes my mistake :P i mean r1510

btw i inspect commandlines you use, and saw that High Quality not use real High Quality option's that should and x264 can provide. I mean this can be very usefull for BD5/9. Why not just stick with x264 profiles, will be nice, with some tweaking like for example deblock.
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.