Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th April 2021, 03:14   #30561  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieve View Post
I had "delete workfiles" checked in settings. I'll have to reenable that and redo the encode. Stay tuned. And thx!
The AVS filename should be different.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2021, 14:11   #30562  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by cartman0208 View Post
The reencode seems to happen during import. And despite the log showing "keeping original audio" the reencoded stream is muxed
Yes, the audio is being reencoded during import. That's because it is EAC3 (not standard AC3). It does that because EAC3 is not supported in the BD standard as a primary audio stream.

When you create the ALTERNATE output, the audio stream existing in the pseudo-BD structure (AC3) is the one that is "kept intact".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2021, 14:39   #30563  |  Link
sieve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Take a look at the contents of this file: C:\WORKING\WORKFILES\VID_00263.AVS
Here is the contents:
Quote:
#Created by BD Rebuilder - v0.61.21
DirectshowSource("C:\VIDEO\ROCKY_HORROR_WW\BDMV\STREAM\00263.m2ts", fps=23.976, framecount=5935, audio=false)
ConvertToYV12().AssumeFPS(24000,1001)
sieve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2021, 18:37   #30564  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieve View Post
Here is the contents:
If you were to code wrap the text, instead of quote wrap it, it would show up in this quoted post.

That said, 23.976 fps is being passed to the x264 encoder. The resulting C:\WORKING\WORKFILES\VID_00263.AVS.264 is not (according to mediainfo)?
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2021, 18:59   #30565  |  Link
sieve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
That said, 23.976 fps is being passed to the x264 encoder. The resulting C:\WORKING\WORKFILES\VID_00263.AVS.264 is not (according to mediainfo)?
I think the below indicates it is passing 23.976 FPS to the file (VID_00263.AVS.264)?

Code:
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High@L4.1
Format settings                          : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, Reference frames        : 4 frames
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 28.1 Mb/s
Maximum bit rate                         : 35.0 Mb/s
Width                                    : 1 920 pixels
Height                                   : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate                               : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.565
Writing library                          : x264 core 158 r2984 3759fcb
Encoding settings                        : cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=8 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=12 / lookahead_threads=2 / sliced_threads=0 / slices=4 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=1 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=0 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=1 / keyint=24 / keyint_min=1 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=24 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=28074 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / vbv_maxrate=35000 / vbv_bufsize=30000 / nal_hrd=vbr / filler=0 / ip_ratio=1.10 / aq=1:1.00
sieve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2021, 00:04   #30566  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieve View Post
I think the below indicates it is passing 23.976 FPS to the file (VID_00263.AVS.264)?
Code:
Frame rate                               : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Yep. So I am confused as to why you are having issues.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2021, 01:42   #30567  |  Link
sieve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 50
Thanks for assisting with the diagnosis. I guess this one won't be solved.
Hopefully it is just an anomaly related to this specific blu-ray. I'll report back if this happens with the next one I do.
sieve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2021, 11:48   #30568  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 128
Is it better ac3 or eac3 ?
Thanks
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2021, 15:57   #30569  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
Is it better ac3 or eac3 ?
Thanks
It depends on the usage. If you are trying to create a blu-ray disc, EAC3 without core audio is not compliant for the primary stream. That's because EAC3 (DD+) support is optional in a blu-ray player, (AC3 support is required). The way the standard ensures support is by requiring EAC3 to have standard AC3 embedded in the stream as well (core audio).

The main advantage to EAC3 is its ability to support more channels. Standard AC3 has a limit of 6 channels (e.g. 5.1). EAC3, for example, could support 7.1. EAC3 also supports higher data rates.

In BD-RB, since all sources are either imported or come directly from a BD source, an imported EAC3 source would almost always be converted to AC3. There are several reasons -- including the requirement for a "core" audio to be included -- which pretty much never exists in an import source.

Now... which is better? Since Dolby's double blind tests show that a 5.1 AC3 stream encoded at 640Kbs is indistiguishable from an uncompressed source (to the human ear) -- it is debatable whether EAC3's higher bitrates actually provide any useful value. If you need 7.1 for some reason, then maybe... but since a sound mixed on both the front and rear channels of a 5.1 source gives the appearance of a side channel -- it's also debatable as to whether 7.1 is anything more than a marketing gimmick. Others disagree on that -- so what I've stated is nothing more than opinion.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 16th April 2021 at 22:27.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2021, 22:57   #30570  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,806
It is also a means by which Atmos is provided.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2021, 07:48   #30571  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
After it fails, go to the BD-RB folder and open LASTCMD.TXT. Then open a DOS windows and cut/paste the command from LASTCMD.TXT to the DOS window. Let it attempt the encode, and post the command along wth any error messages here so we can take a look at what is happening.


Just as an aside, why use MultiAVCHD when you can import the MKV files directly with BD-RB?
I'll try this and your other suggestions and report back later. Thanks for your input.

To answer the "aside" - partly familiarity as I used MultiAVCHD for some other projects that didn't need re-encoding and/or weren't SD content before finding BDRB; and coupled with that - the disc menu is (I think) somewhat more configurable. Indeed the only time I attempted to get BDRB to build its own menu I got a nice background and title card music, but no actual text or highlightable/selectable controls. That was a while back and I no longer have details of what it was I was doing at the time.
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2021, 12:47   #30572  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamete View Post
Is it better ac3 or eac3 ?
Remember forum rule 12:
Quote:
Do not ask "what's best" because this question cannot be answered objectively. Each and everyone has their own view about what's best in a certain area.
Like jdobbs say, in order to BD rebuild, the support of EAC3 is optional in BD players then in this area select AC3 can be the best option.

Out of BD rebuild there are other opinions:

1) About more channels than max 5.1 supported by AC3:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
If you need 7.1 for some reason, then maybe... but since a sound mixed on both the front and rear channels of a 5.1 source gives the appearance of a side channel -- it's also debatable as to whether 7.1 is anything more than a marketing gimmick.
It is my opinion: for surround 2D is more than enough 5.1 channels, 7.1 is usseless.

2) About bitrate I agree with jdobbs when say:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Since Dolby's double blind tests show that a 5.1 AC3 stream encoded at 640Kbs is indistiguishable from an uncompressed source (to the human ear) -- it is debatable whether EAC3's higher bitrates actually provide any useful value
But, in a general way of course, EAC3 is better than AC3 because:

1) Support not only more channels than AC3 but also surround 3D with Atmos, not allowed for AC3.

2) The encoder is more efficient and we can obtain more quality with less bitrate, like we can see in a multichannel test.

The DD+ (EAC3) 448 Kb/s is comparable to DTS 1500 like AC3 640

Then, if device player support all EAC3 features, EAC3 is better.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 17th April 2021 at 13:12.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2021, 12:47   #30573  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 14
@jdobbs

Confirmed using GeForce experience that driver is current - NVIDIA studio Driver v462.31 (14 Apr 21) was installed just prior to these tests.

Tests using a previously attempted single .mkv as the source.

1: add NVENC_NO_FRAMECHK=1 to .ini file at the last line BEFORE [paths]
Launch BDRB and backup.
Outcome: NVENCC prematurely terminated (at ~79%)
(Encoded 72102, expected 90127)

Just in case it was a typo
2: Exit BDRB
add NVENCC_NO_FRAMECHK=1 to .ini file at the last line BEFORE [paths]
Launch BDRB and backup. (Do not resume job; empty working folder)
Outcome: NVENCC prematurely terminated (at ~79%)
(Encoded 72102, expected 90127)

3: revert above change. Add IMPORT_VFR_SCAN=1 to .ini file at the last line BEFORE [paths]
Launch BDRB and backup. (Do not resume job; empty working folder)
Outcome: NVENCC prematurely terminated (at ~79%)
(Encoded 72102, expected 90127)

4: After the last fail (i.e with the last change to .ini still in place), copied & pasted the contents of LASTCMD.TXT into an elevated command prompt

LASTCMD.TXT
==========


"C:\Users\nigel\Downloads\BDRebuilder\tools\nvenc\nvencc.exe" --avhw --fps 29.97 -i "C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\IMPORTS\GFU_FOR_NVENCC_TEST_COREL\BDMV\STREAM\00000.m2ts" --codec h264 --preset performance --bluray --qp-min 0 --vbr 2327 --aq --aq-temporal --keyfile "C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\WORKFILES\VID_00000.CHP" --sar 10:11 --aud --pic-struct --vbv-bufsize 13000 --max-bitrate 15000 --gop-len 30 -o "C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\WORKFILES\VID_00000.AVS.264"


=========
DOS output
=========

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19042.906]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\windows\system32>"C:\Users\nigel\Downloads\BDRebuilder\tools\nvenc\nvencc.exe" --avhw --fps 29.97 -i "C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\IMPORTS\GFU_FOR_NVENCC_TEST_COREL\BDMV\STREAM\00000.m2ts" --codec h264 --preset performance --bluray --qp-min 0 --vbr 2327 --aq --aq-temporal --keyfile "C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\WORKFILES\VID_00000.CHP" --sar 10:11 --aud --pic-struct --vbv-bufsize 13000 --max-bitrate 15000 --gop-len 30 -o "C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\WORKFILES\VID_00000.AVS.264"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\WORKFILES\VID_00000.AVS.264
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NVEncC (x86) 5.15 (r1658) by rigaya, Sep 12 2020 14:50:44 (VC 1900/Win/avx2)
OS Version Windows 10 x64 (19042)
CPU 11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz [TB: 4.69GHz] (4C/8T)
GPU #0: GeForce GTX 1650 Ti (1024 cores, 1485 MHz)[2147483.64]
NVENC / CUDA NVENC API 10.0, CUDA 11.2, schedule mode: auto
Input Buffers CUDA, 20 frames
Input Info avcuvid: MPEG2, 720x480, 30000/1001 fps
Vpp Filters copyDtoD
Output Info H.264/AVC high @ Level auto
720x480p 10:11 29.970fps (30000/1001fps)
Encoder Preset performance
Rate Control VBR
Multipass none
Bitrate 2327 kbps (Max: 15000 kbps)
Target Quality auto
Initial QP I:20 P:23 B:25
QP range I:0-51 P:0-51 B:0-51
VBV buf size 13000 kbit
Lookahead off
GOP length 28 frames
B frames 3 frames [ref mode: disabled]
Ref frames 3 frames
AQ on(spatial, temporal, strength auto)
Others mv:auto cabac deblock adapt-transform:auto bdirect:auto aud pic-struct

encoded 72102 frames, 1953.45 fps, 2337.80 kbps, 670.47 MB
encode time 0:00:36, CPU: 11.9%, GPU: 49.8%, VE: 90.2%, VD: 96.0%
frame type IDR 2583
frame type I 2583, total size 84.34 MB
frame type P 18028, total size 375.14 MB
frame type B 51491, total size 210.98 MB
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2021, 13:44   #30574  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetsimLegin
3: revert above change. Add IMPORT_VFR_SCAN=1 to .ini file at the last line BEFORE [paths]
Launch BDRB and backup. (Do not resume job; empty working folder)
Outcome: NVENCC prematurely terminated (at ~79%)
(Encoded 72102, expected 90127)
For this to have any impact you would have to import the file again.
Quote:
2: Exit BDRB
add NVENCC_NO_FRAMECHK=1 to .ini file at the last line BEFORE [paths]
Launch BDRB and backup. (Do not resume job; empty working folder)
Outcome: NVENCC prematurely terminated (at ~79%)
(Encoded 72102, expected 90127)
You added it with a syntax error. It should actually say NVENC_NO_FRAMECHK=1 (you added an extra "C"). If that flag is set, BD-RB doesn't even do the check for premature termination.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 17th April 2021 at 13:49.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2021, 13:58   #30575  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
For this to have any impact you would have to import the file again.
Tried this again with a fresh import of the same .mkv
Same outcome.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You added it with a syntax error. It should actually say NVENC_NO_FRAMECHK=1 (you added an extra "C"). If that flag is set, BD-RB doesn't even do the check for premature termination.
Sure - as I say that was a "just in case" of a typo. Test 1 had it as you quote.

Dumb thought: I edited the .ini file after first making a backup copy of it in the same folder (with a different name). I'm going to do 1 and 3 again after first putting the copy somewhere else entirely. Back in a jiffy.

Last edited by RetsimLegin; 17th April 2021 at 14:01.
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2021, 14:07   #30576  |  Link
RetsimLegin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 14
Repeat test 1

This is the .ini file

================================

[Options]
VERSION=0.61.0.21
ENCODER=1
MODE=3
ENCODE_QUALITY=5
ONEPASS_ENCODING=2
AUTO_QUALITY=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
SD_CONVERT=0
OPEN_GOP=0
RESIZE_1080=0
RESIZE_1440=0
RESIZE_720=0
DEINTERLACE=0
SD_TO_1080=0
IGNORE_3D=0
CONVERT_WIDE=0
DTS_REENCODE=0
AC3_REENCODE=0
AC3_640=1
AC3_192=0
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=0
AUDIO_DRC=0
DECODER=4
AVCHD=1
REMOVE_WORKFILES=0
REMOVE_OUTPUT=0
USE_FILTERS=0
BDMV_CERT_ONLY=1
IVTC_PULLDOWN=0
ASSUME_DVD_PAL=0
FRIMSOURCE=0
COMPLETION_BEEP=0
OUTPUT_SBS=0
NEROAAC=0
SUPTITLE=0
PGSTOSRT=0
AUDIO_TRACK_LIMIT=1
SUBTITLE_TRACK_LIMIT=1
CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=1000
NVENC_CAPABLE=1
TARGET_SIZE=43000
PRIORITY_CLASS=2
NVENC_NO_FRAMECHK=1
[Paths]
WORKING_PATH=C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\
SOURCE_PATH=C:\USERS\NIGEL\VIDEOS\NVENCC TEST\IMPORTS\GFU_FOR_NVENCC_TEST_COREL\


============================

This is the log

============================

[04/17/21] BD Rebuilder v0.61.21
[14:03:38] Source: GFU_FOR_NVENCC_TEST_COREL_00000
- Input BD size: 1.94 GB
- Approximate total content: [00:50:07.237]
- Target BD size: 0.98 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Good (Fastest, BD-25+), ABR
- Decoding/Frame serving: NVENCC
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[14:03:41] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [14:03:41] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [14:03:41] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [14:03:51] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-2, 720x480
- Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 90,127 frames
- Bitrate: 2,327 Kbs
- [14:03:51] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1
- Error: NVENCC prematurely terminated.
- Encoded: 72102, expected: 90127
[14:04:29] - Failed video encode, aborted
RetsimLegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2021, 06:24   #30577  |  Link
gamete
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 128
Thanks @jdobbs and @tebasuna51
gamete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2021, 02:19   #30578  |  Link
mikeonecl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
glitch on conversion with nvenc activated

i make two processing, one with nvenc activated and the second with x264. On nvenc, there are glitches on some frames.
but on x264 is working fine.

can you check this??

i make on Sonic The Hedgehog bluray to bd25. i check others conversion make with nvenc and all have frame glitch.
mikeonecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2021, 08:11   #30579  |  Link
LowDead
Elit Amans
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeonecl View Post
i make two processing, one with nvenc activated and the second with x264. On nvenc, there are glitches on some frames.
but on x264 is working fine.

can you check this??

i make on Sonic The Hedgehog bluray to bd25. i check others conversion make with nvenc and all have frame glitch.
Update to latest nVidia drivers and try again. If it still doesn't work there could be other problems with your system. But if you only get errors with nvenc it sounds to me that it is graphic card related or maybe a harddrive giving up, but that is more far fetched according to your error..

//LD
__________________
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Intel i7-8700K@3.70GHz, 32GB, Intel UHD Graphics 630 128MB, NVIDIA RTX 2070 8GB, PIONEER BDR-S09XLT, ASUS BW-16D1HT, LG CX 65", Samsung UBD-K8500, Sony PS3
LowDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2021, 01:50   #30580  |  Link
CraigWally
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeonecl View Post
i make two processing, one with nvenc activated and the second with x264. On nvenc, there are glitches on some frames.
but on x264 is working fine.

can you check this??

i make on Sonic The Hedgehog bluray to bd25. i check others conversion make with nvenc and all have frame glitch.
If you have quality on Highest change to High (Default) and then report back
CraigWally is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.