Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd February 2017, 16:54   #25681  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
The first is the bluray in x264 and after I re import the mkv obtained in bdrebuilder and I do a reencoding in hevc
You can go from Blu-ray to hevc directly. Yes it will output mkv file.
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 17:25   #25682  |  Link
thekiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Not most of the time it works but not on some
thekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 17:27   #25683  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
Not most of the time it works but not on some
Can you share example which doesn't work.
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 17:30   #25684  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
@ Jdobbs for alternate output can I request option to have ability to downconvert DTS-HD to DTS.
Currently it only accept ac3, aac, and intact. I was think to add third option dts-hd to dts
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:05   #25685  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
Not most of the time it works but not on some
It works every time I've tried it -- and I'm pretty sure I've tried it more than anyone else on the planet.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:29   #25686  |  Link
HWK
Registered User
 
HWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
@ Jdobbs for alternate output can I request option to have ability to downconvert DTS-HD to DTS.
Currently it only accept ac3, aac, and intact. I was think to add third option dts-hd to dts
Never mind I found it.
__________________
If you fail to plan; you plan to fail, would you not agree? Think about it.
HWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:51   #25687  |  Link
thekiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
Can you share example which doesn't work.
rebelle and the Magnificient seven
thekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:51   #25688  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWK View Post
Never mind I found it.
Yeah. You just have to uncheck "Keep HD Audio" in the SETUP dialog.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:53   #25689  |  Link
thekiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
It works every time I've tried it -- and I'm pretty sure I've tried it more than anyone else on the planet.
I did not say that it did not work all the time but on some movies at home I am obliged to do in x264 at first and then redo from x264 to hevc. By cons I just try the automatic cropping and it cuts me part of the video has the vertical
thekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 18:54   #25690  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
rebelle and the Magnificient seven
I'll test it on "The Magnificent Seven" later today -- but I'm pretty sure it will work. I assume you are talking about the 2016 version.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 19:08   #25691  |  Link
raul124
Registered User
 
raul124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yonkers New York USA
Posts: 61
hi everyone, what's the different between x264 and HEVC?
raul124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 19:13   #25692  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 495
What is the default AC3 encoder used in BD Rebuilder and can and should it be replaced with something else for highest AQ?

I could only find only and older FAQ that mentioned it used Aften and that encoder had some quality issues.
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 19:20   #25693  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfcarbel View Post
What is the default AC3 encoder used in BD Rebuilder and can and should it be replaced with something else for highest AQ?

I could only find only and older FAQ that mentioned it used Aften and that encoder had some quality issues.
The default is Aften. There's always someone who will say something negative about anything. I can only say that IMHO the version of Aften included with BD-RB is a very good AC3 encoder and rivals commercial encoders. The only valid criticism would be that it hasn't been in development for a long while. If someone would point out a better AC3 encoder that is either free or very inexpensive and readily available -- it wouldn't be that hard to implement an alternative.

The funny thing is that I've read comments about other options (that people say are better) that actually use the Aften library as their engine.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 23rd February 2017 at 19:37.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 19:39   #25694  |  Link
thekiller
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'll test it on "The Magnificent Seven" later today -- but I'm pretty sure it will work. I assume you are talking about the 2016 version.
Yes version 2016 with cinavia encryption
thekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 20:14   #25695  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
If someone would point out a better AC3 encoder that is either free or very inexpensive and readily available -- it wouldn't be that hard to implement an alternative.
I personally also use aften. It is a relatively quick encoder. That said, ffmpeg will do AC3 and well as EAC3.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 20:14   #25696  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekiller View Post
Yes version 2016 with cinavia encryption
Just to clarify, Cinavia is not any kind of encryption. It is a watermark.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 20:19   #25697  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Just to clarify, Cinavia is not any kind of encryption. It is a watermark.
Yeah, it would be better to call it "copyright protection". Or more accurately: "A way to make you pay for something, but not really be able to use it the way you want".
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 22:26   #25698  |  Link
LowDead
Elit Amans
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 269
Update to the AVCHD problem... By chance I tried today full backup BD5 with Java menus in the old Sony, and guess what... it worked!

I haven't checked yet, but is it done "the old way" when Java menus is located on the disc?
LowDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 23:21   #25699  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowDead View Post
Update to the AVCHD problem... By chance I tried today full backup BD5 with Java menus in the old Sony, and guess what... it worked!

I haven't checked yet, but is it done "the old way" when Java menus is located on the disc?
Yeah. My old Sony would play full backups with Java too. It was much better back before Sony "fixed" all their players.

Yes. It is done the "old way" when there is Java. There isn't a choice, since it can't do a legal AVCHD disc. It's simply a full BD backup. Just a warning, though -- there are fewer and fewer players these days that will play those kinds of discs.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 23rd February 2017 at 23:24.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 23:57   #25700  |  Link
jfcarbel
Programmer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The default is Aften. There's always someone who will say something negative about anything. I can only say that IMHO the version of Aften included with BD-RB is a very good AC3 encoder and rivals commercial encoders. The only valid criticism would be that it hasn't been in development for a long while. If someone would point out a better AC3 encoder that is either free or very inexpensive and readily available -- it wouldn't be that hard to implement an alternative.

The funny thing is that I've read comments about other options (that people say are better) that actually use the Aften library as their engine.
Thanks, great to know, was just asking, don't have an opinion myself.
jfcarbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.