Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th March 2010, 19:04   #7481  |  Link
Adub
Fighting spam with a fish
 
Adub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,687
Probably because sometimes x264's profiles are not Blu-ray / AVCHD compatible.
__________________
FAQs:Bond's AVC/H.264 FAQ
Site:Adubvideo
Adub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 19:12   #7482  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adub View Post
Probably because sometimes x264's profiles are not Blu-ray / AVCHD compatible.
None of current x264 profiles are Blu-Ray/AVCHD compilant without special switches so

You can use all x264 presets for example

--preset placebo --tune film and after that overwrite all necessary options like

--level 4.1 --ref 4 --keyint 24 --min-keyint 2 --vbv-maxrate 14745 --vbv-bufsize 14745 --slices 4 --aud --nal-hrd vbr --sar 1:1 --colorprim "bt709" --transfer "bt709" --colormatrix "bt709" --b-pyramid strict

which need to achieve BD/AVCHD compatibility

Last edited by shon3i; 28th March 2010 at 19:14.
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 23:10   #7483  |  Link
drmih
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Check and see if the .AC3 was created properly and plays (in the WORKFILES folder).
As expected the bd-25 was fine but I've just tried the bd-9 again. There is the same issue. When I look in the Workfiles directory the first two m2ts files have a DTS-HD stereo main audio and ac3 secondary. The m2ts files play but the first audio is silent, the secondary plays. When the m2ts files are read into tsmuxer, they both report 'unsupported format'. For information, the two dts tracks in the Workfiles directory play okay.
drmih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2010, 23:43   #7484  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
None of current x264 profiles are Blu-Ray/AVCHD compilant without special switches so

You can use all x264 presets for example

--preset placebo --tune film and after that overwrite all necessary options like

--level 4.1 --ref 4 --keyint 24 --min-keyint 2 --vbv-maxrate 14745 --vbv-bufsize 14745 --slices 4 --aud --nal-hrd vbr --sar 1:1 --colorprim "bt709" --transfer "bt709" --colormatrix "bt709" --b-pyramid strict

which need to achieve BD/AVCHD compatibility
To be on the safe side for some players one may have to add --weightp 0
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 05:09   #7485  |  Link
bole25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Hey, men. Can somebody tell me, what can I do, if I delete by mistake the folder CERTIFICATE from a BD movie?, because I am having problems with The Blind Side, I dont have this folder.
bole25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 06:41   #7486  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,270
@bole25

Hi!
Quote:
if I delete by mistake the folder CERTIFICATE from a BD movie?, because I am having problems with The Blind Side, I dont have this folder.
It'sd still on your original, commercial BluRay disc...
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 12:05   #7487  |  Link
Discoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I assume you mean r1510... I'm testing it now, looks good so far.

It may be my imagination -- but it seems to be a bit faster also.
@jdobbs,

FYI Iíve tested V0.32.08 (beta) with JEEBíS 32bit x264 r1510 patched with the now official NAL-HRD on a movie only 2-pass project = OK Panasonic BD35 SAP playability
Discoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 13:34   #7488  |  Link
woodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
You'll have to give me an example or description of what you're seeing. "Jerky" can mean lot of different things. I can't imagine why this would happen on one computer and one standalone player but not others...

1. Please post your results from running INSPECT.EXE.
2. What kind of video is the source (that is jerky)?
3. What disc is it? Is it an original?
4. Is it output to BD-5, BD-9, BD-25?
5. What encode quality settings?
6. Is it all encodes, or certain ones? Main feature or extras?

Looking back at your previous posts, you've been experiencing a lot of very odd problems... I have to believe you have some type of configuration issue.
- Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.7.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3133, Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set incorrectly: [0]
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.32.0.8, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok

The jerky video is like Sidneysides post
2. The source video is on Verbatim BD-RE
3. Ripped with Anydvd HD from original disc
4. Output is BD-25
5. High quality settings
6. Main feature only, the extras play fine
woodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 13:56   #7489  |  Link
bole25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
@bole25

Hi!It'sd still on your original, commercial BluRay disc...
No, I do not. Download it with a friend but not around. He lives far away
bole25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 14:01   #7490  |  Link
Priapismic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 53
@woodman, looks like the ffdshow setting for VC-1 is the problem. Set it to wmv9 and try again.
Priapismic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 14:31   #7491  |  Link
woodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Priapismic View Post
@woodman, looks like the ffdshow setting for VC-1 is the problem. Set it to wmv9 and try again.
thanks for helping.
i set the ffdshow as per instuctions

8. Recommended for Windows XP only: Download and install WMV11 from Microsoft, and set VC-1 decoding to "disabled" in FFDSHOW (allowing the WMV11 codec to be used). This seems to be the codec with the fewest problem on VC-1. For Vista or Windows 7 -- select "wmv9"
woodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 18:31   #7492  |  Link
Warbucks81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Jdobbs, I was wondering how difficult it would be to implement some way to tell BD-RB to only encode up to a certain timecode. I prefer to cut the credits from my backups.
Warbucks81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 19:24   #7493  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
That's the one I've been testing (and why it shows "Ok"). I've been running it for a couple of weeks with no issues. It's probably ok. I'd suggest you try it, and if you have no issues, report back. I'll probably update the first link soon if I don't see issues. If you do, please step back to 3133 and report that too.
Ok, so I took my working Windows XP system, with FFD 3133, and BD REbuilder v0.32.08, as well as the other versions of avisynth, etc linked in the first post that had been working just fine.

I went and upgraded only FFD Show to 3336.

First test... Toy Story Bluray to Movie Only BD-9. Encoder setting as Normal priority, High Quality (default).

It completed successfully, plays in my LG BD-390 and looks great.

The original is now safely in the cabinet, and my Son is happy because he can watch it whenever he wants

I'll be trying Toy Story 2 later tonight. I'll report back.
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 22:46   #7494  |  Link
Nerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Ok so I unfortanately still have not been able to find my problem. as a refresh my inspect.exe log is below. VC-1 disabled because of wmp-11 and xp. However does the same when set to wmv-9. After extracting the first m2ts file, windows encounters an error x264 needs to be closed. However I tried another program AVCHDecoder by twan, not sure if anyone is familiar with it. It is very similar to BD Rebuilder, it uses FDDShow, Haali splitter and AVISYNTH. I've actually been able to use it to backup Law Abiding Citizen seamlessly. Took almost 3 whole days but I kinda expected this due to having a AMD 64 3000+ processor. Just wondering what could be the difference, if anyone is familiar with the program, with the way BD Rebuilder uses x264.exe and this AVCHDecoder. Just wondering because there are some functions I like about BD Rebuilder, and just for the case of bug reporting because maybe someone else might be having the same problem?

- Windows Version: 5.1 [2600]
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.7.0, Ok
- HAALI Splitter: Ok
- FFDSHOW: 3133, Ok
- FFDSHOW VC-1 set incorrectly: [0]
- FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec": Ok
- FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec": Ok
- BD Rebuilder v0.32.0.8, Ok
- X264: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
Nerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 02:35   #7495  |  Link
Zot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 43
wierd problem converting mkv, 25fps 1080i to BD, 23.976fps on PS3

Hello,

I have an odd problem. I want to convert a 25fps MKV to play in my PS3. My source is a 13GB MKV file. TSMUXER GUI 1.10.6 reports it as 1920X1080i, 25fps, VC-1, Profile advanced 3. I demuxed the source, with TSMUXER, used eac3to to slowdown the audio. Then I took the resulting .vc1 video converted to a .ts file at 23.976 with TSMUXER. Finally I remuxed the video and audio as a BD disk.

If I burn the resulting BD files to a BD-R. My PS3 plays the video with the image compressed in the top 1/2 of the screen only. Audio is fine and in sync with the video. PLaying the same files on my PC shows normal, as is playing on an LG BD370 BD player.

I extracted a 1 minute segment from the original, re-encoded the video with BD REbuilder 0.32.08 to a DVD-5 with forced encode=1, and the resulting output plays on the PS3 fine. Running BD-Rebuilder with forced encode and setting the size to BD25 and the output is still 1/2 height on the PS3 but fine on the PC and the BD370.

THis one displays compressed:
-----------------------
[Status]
LABEL=E1_TESTING
VERSION=v0.32.08 (beta)
SOURCE_SIZE=192844432
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=192841728
TARGET_SIZE=24326963200
REDUCTION=126.149878184041
RESIZE_1080=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
BACKUP_MODE=0
QUICK=1
ENCODE_STEP=0
COMPLETED=1
REBUILD_COMPLETE=1
[00000]
AUDIO=1
PGS=1
M2TS_TARGET=24326960496
RATE=30000
NSIZE=246233088
FLINK=0
MLINK=0

[17:42:39] BD Rebuilder v0.32.08 (beta)
- Source: E1_TESTING
- Input BD size: 0.18 GB
- Approximate total content: [00:00:59.597]
- Target BD size: 22.66 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[17:42:40] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [17:42:40] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [17:42:46] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [17:42:46] Collecting video information
- Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 1,429 frames
- Bitrate: 30,000 Kbs
- [17:42:46] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 2
- [17:45:04] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 2 of 2
- [18:01:10] Video Encode complete
- [18:01:11] Reencoding audio tracks (if req'd)
- [18:01:11] Multiplexing M2TS
[18:01:16]PHASE ONE complete
[18:01:16]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [18:01:16] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[18:01:17] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[18:01:17]JOB: E1_TESTING finished.

=================================================================================================
this one looks good:

[Status]
LABEL=E1_TESTING
VERSION=v0.32.08 (beta)
SOURCE_SIZE=192844432
SOURCE_VIDEO_SIZE=192841728
TARGET_SIZE=4581228544
REDUCTION=23.7564031784656
RESIZE_1080=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=all
BACKUP_MODE=0
QUICK=1
ENCODE_STEP=0
COMPLETED=1
REBUILD_COMPLETE=1
[00000]
AUDIO=1
PGS=1
M2TS_TARGET=4581225840
RATE=15000
NSIZE=129404928
FLINK=0
MLINK=0

-----------------------
[18:11:19] BD Rebuilder v0.32.08 (beta)
- Source: E1_TESTING
- Input BD size: 0.18 GB
- Approximate total content: [00:00:59.597]
- Target BD size: 4.27 GB
- Windows Version: 6.1 [7600]
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[18:11:19] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [18:11:19] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [18:11:25] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [18:11:25] Collecting video information
- Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 1,429 frames
- Bitrate: 15,000 Kbs
- [18:11:26] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 2
- [18:13:42] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 2 of 2
- [18:25:34] Video Encode complete
- [18:25:34] Reencoding audio tracks (if req'd)
- [18:25:34] Multiplexing M2TS
[18:25:37]PHASE ONE complete
[18:25:37]PHASE TWO - Rebuild Started
- [18:25:37] Rebuilding BD file Structure
[18:25:37] - Encode and Rebuild complete
[18:25:37]JOB: E1_TESTING finished.


The only difference is that with output set to DVD-5 it looks good, with output set to bd-25 it's compressed.

I use IMGBURN 2.5.1.0 to burn the 'bd-25' output to a Panasonic BD-RE, and the 'dvd-5' output to a DVD-RW.

What would cause the PS3 to play this at 1/2 height? Other videos I've taken (.mkv's, BD's, etc) have never caused me problems, is it something unique to 1080i, 25fps converted > 23.976? My PS3 does not play 25fps source (the LG does without problems, but that's in a different room), so I need the 23.976 source. The odd part is that shrinking down works fine, but keeping it the same size (and with forced re-encode) doesn't.

Thanks for any suggestions! I apologize in advance as this is not strictly a BD REbuilder problem, altough the problem shows up under one configuration and goes away under a slight different setup.

BTW - BD Rebuilder is a GREAT program - many thanks for all the work on this. I have backed up dozens of BD's and MKV's without issue, but this one is puzzling!

Zot

new info: Since this was a 1 minute extract, I tried both outputs written to a BD-RE and they look compressed. Both outputs written to a DVD-RW look good. So how would the different disk structures affect the the way the output is displayed?

Last edited by Zot; 30th March 2010 at 02:53. Reason: added comment.
Zot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 03:51   #7496  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerz View Post
Ok so I unfortanately still have not been able to find my problem.
Can you play any of the .m2ts files within the stream folders of a BluRay rip with Media Player Classic?
Can you create an Avisynth script of one of these .m2ts files, using Directshowsource, and can you play that .avs file with MPC?
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 04:09   #7497  |  Link
Nerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
Can you play any of the .m2ts files within the stream folders of a BluRay rip with Media Player Classic?
Can you create an Avisynth script of one of these .m2ts files, using Directshowsource, and can you play that .avs file with MPC?
I'm assuming you mean viewing .m2ts directly after ripping with AnyDVD because Bd rebuilder will not encode. I can view these fine. Not exactly sure about how to others being that I've never tried. I'll have to research.
Nerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 04:14   #7498  |  Link
gerald410
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Discoboy View Post
@jdobbs,

FYI Iíve tested V0.32.08 (beta) with JEEBíS 32bit x264 r1510 patched with the now official NAL-HRD on a movie only 2-pass project = OK Panasonic BD35 SAP playability
I've successfully made 2 movie-only backup's using JEEBíS 32bit x264 r1510 patched with the now official NAL-HRD and FFDshow 3326 just an fyi.
gerald410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 06:36   #7499  |  Link
Capsbackup
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerz View Post
I'm assuming you mean viewing .m2ts directly after ripping with AnyDVD because Bd rebuilder will not encode. I can view these fine. Not exactly sure about how to others being that I've never tried. I'll have to research.
If you create an Avisynth script of one of your .m2ts files using Directshowsource, just like BD-RB would if it were to reencode it, and just right click that .avs file and select play with MPC to see if it will play. Try this for a VC-1 .m2ts file.
If it wont play, what does the error message say.
Capsbackup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2010, 10:41   #7500  |  Link
saphire199
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Hmmm... I'll do some testing -- but when I tested it right after implementing it, it took only a few minutes. Any chance your disc is getting close to full? That could make a huge difference.
No, all my drives for Blu-ray are 1tb or more, I clean them and defrag regularly. I am going to recheck all settings and try again and will report back.
saphire199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.