Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th July 2021, 00:23   #61701  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512
Solved it! In Kodi System/Display settings, under resolution, there were two 3840x2160p resolutions. One for 50Hz and one for 60Hz. For some reason, the 50 Hz one got chosen. And that was messing things up.

Oldpainlesskodi, I have madVR handling refresh switch and it works correctly (now).
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 00:46   #61702  |  Link
LenniePaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Solved it! In Kodi System/Display settings, under resolution, there were two 3840x2160p resolutions. One for 50Hz and one for 60Hz. For some reason, the 50 Hz one got chosen. And that was messing things up.

Oldpainlesskodi, I have madVR handling refresh switch and it works correctly (now).
I'm using Kodi with DSPlayer too. Have you noticed when you start a video, that you get a black screen for 5 seconds, but you do get audio?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
LenniePaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 07:37   #61703  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 358
@ashlar42 - seems that was my issue too. Thanks.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (21.6.1) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (20H2), Silverstone LC13B-E, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64, LG OLED55BX6LB, Denon AVR-X3300W, Mission M35i speakers.
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 11:08   #61704  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenniePaz View Post
I'm using Kodi with DSPlayer too. Have you noticed when you start a video, that you get a black screen for 5 seconds, but you do get audio?
That depends on how quick your TV is in switching refresh rate, I suppose. Regular Kodi has an option to delay the start of playback to accomodate that. I don't remember if that worked for DSPlayer with madVR or not. The new TV I'm using is almost instantaneous in switching, so I haven't thought about that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
@ashlar42 - seems that was my issue too. Thanks.
Oh, wow! Glad to have been of help.

Sorry all for the semi-offtopic, btw.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 14:47   #61705  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512
One question I have. I ended up going back to old, trusty Reclock (thanks to redfox for making it Win10 compatible). I forgot how easy it is to get perfectly smooth results with it.

Since that exists only in 32 bit, am I missing something in madVR by not using the x64 build? Or in LAV filters, if you know something...

Everything seems to be working perfectly but I might be missing something.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 15:22   #61706  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 170
Why did you install reclock? Didn’t madvr work for fine after a fresh install? It worked fine for me.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 15:33   #61707  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 540
@ashlar42

Reclock is a good audio renderer, I've been using it for years. I don't think you will miss something at 32 bit.
Siso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 16:51   #61708  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,128
32-bit will be limiting you sooner or later. Software decoders are significantly slower on 32-bit, and hardware decoding won't engage for very high resolutions due to memory limits (> 4K, I believe, its driver-controlled). It might work today, but it does not have a future.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 17:17   #61709  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 540
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
32-bit will be limiting you sooner or later. Software decoders are significantly slower on 32-bit, and hardware decoding won't engage for very high resolutions due to memory limits (> 4K, I believe, its driver-controlled). It might work today, but it does not have a future.
Some of us are still using reclock, and that is why we stick to 32 bit, the other 64 bit alternatives are not so good.
Siso is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 17:19   #61710  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
Why did you install reclock? Didnít madvr work for fine after a fresh install? It worked fine for me.
I installed Reclock not to have to worry about precise refresh rates. I hate dropped/repeated frames. I always notice them when watching video content. And I wasnít managing to keep 10 bit when creating custom resolutions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
32-bit will be limiting you sooner or later. Software decoders are significantly slower on 32-bit, and hardware decoding won't engage for very high resolutions due to memory limits (> 4K, I believe, its driver-controlled). It might work today, but it does not have a future.
Sure, but I just bought a 4K TV, wonít care for 8K content for a long while (if ever). If I donít miss anything up to 4K HDR content, Iím not missing anything. Having said this, I have checked, a RTX 3070 supports VP11 which includes "maximum resolution of up to 8192 x 8192 pixels (8k resolution) for all HEVC and VP9 profiles", up to and including Main 4:4:4 12. I think I'm covered on that front.
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nvidia...n_PureVideo_HD
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM

Last edited by ashlar42; 7th July 2021 at 18:56.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 18:11   #61711  |  Link
Michael2907
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Jemand hier mit einem JVC N7?

Gesendet von meinem SM-N960F mit Tapatalk
Michael2907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 20:10   #61712  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Sure, but I just bought a 4K TV, wonít care for 8K content for a long while (if ever). If I donít miss anything up to 4K HDR content, Iím not missing anything. Having said this, I have checked, a RTX 3070 supports VP11 which includes "maximum resolution of up to 8192 x 8192 pixels (8k resolution) for all HEVC and VP9 profiles", up to and including Main 4:4:4 12. I think I'm covered on that front.
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nvidia...n_PureVideo_HD
not how this works.
it will break at one point if it is a new video codec a new windows version or just no new software for 32 bit (very reasonable if you ask me) it will happen.

and it doesn't really matter what nvidia supports on the driver it will not allow everything with 32 bit program if you would use copyback for 8k it would just die.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 20:35   #61713  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 822
In other words, it still works now for all the needs of people who use it, and for the near future (I don't care at all about 8K either, and my media center front end even is still 32-bit only).
With a little hope, when something finally breaks ReClock there will be some way in GPU drivers to create custom refresh rates with very precise clocks with the help of HDMI VRR and we won't need to find an alternative.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 21:50   #61714  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I installed Reclock not to have to worry about precise refresh rates. I hate dropped/repeated frames. I always notice them when watching video content. And I wasnít managing to keep 10 bit when creating custom resolutions.
I think you donít need reclock. I donít use reclock for my rtx 3060 Ti with the latest verion of masvr, lav filters and nvidia drivers.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 23:06   #61715  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
not how this works.
it will break at one point if it is a new video codec a new windows version or just no new software for 32 bit (very reasonable if you ask me) it will happen.

and it doesn't really matter what nvidia supports on the driver it will not allow everything with 32 bit program if you would use copyback for 8k it would just die.
I'm sorry, 'cause this is mainly offtopic but... "not how this works" what?

Today my setup can decode 8K. The driver, today, can. And it works with 32 bit software. Unless I change my setup, nothing is gonna change that.

New video codec? We've kept H264 for the whole BluRay generation. We'll keep HEVC for the whole 4K generation. 8K on physical media is so far from becoming reality that I don't know if it'll ever happen. By then, maybe, things might get more problematic. But that will be true for madVR x64 as well, since unless you resort to ripped content from the scene, there will be no way to playback stuff streamed in 8K through madVR. And if you go the ripped content way... pretty sure HEVC will still happen for a very long time.

Reclock is a temporary solution until I can get some answers as to why I can't make 10 bit working on custom resolutions. But that doesn't detract from the fact that Reclock works perfectly to this day and, for reasons I've explained, for quite a long time in the future. Say it doesn't work in Windows 11... there's another four years, minimum, of guaranteed updates for 10. After that, for a dedicated HTPC machine, it's not too hard to lockdown the OS from a security point of view, if you limit yourself to media viewing.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2021, 23:44   #61716  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,081
you know that pretty much every couple years youtube adds a better codec which is now AV1 which your cards also supports BTW.

and if your device can do 8k decoding try copyback may actually work. because if the driver can do something it doesn't mean it will work with a 32 bit program that's simply not how it works. an 8k image is 96 mb if it is 4:2:0 for 4:4:4 we talk about 192 mb the default queue size of madVR is 16 so madVR and other programs better don't use any RAM at all or subtitles.

of cause you can just disconnect your device from the inet and leave it as it is.

doubly vision update in a driver could be more than enough to kill 32 bit.

BTW. you can right now stream 8K from youtube in madVR not relevant.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2021, 08:01   #61717  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
I have checked, a RTX 3070 supports VP11 which includes "maximum resolution of up to 8192 x 8192 pixels (8k resolution) for all HEVC and VP9 profiles", up to and including Main 4:4:4 12. I think I'm covered on that front.
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nvidia...n_PureVideo_HD
Did you actually try it instead of reading hardware capabilities? Unless drivers do some fundamental changes, 32-bit does not allow 8K hardware decoding, due to limits in memory space, and my system right now certainly still exhibits that behavior on eg. a YouTube 8K clip (VP9 and AV1), or a 8K broadcast recording (HEVC). Both only work in hardware in a 64-bit player.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 8th July 2021 at 08:09.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2021, 13:15   #61718  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512
That's fine. As mentioned I don't care about 8K now and for the next few years. I did not try 8K because I don't have an 8K screen and I don't think I will own one for the next 5-7 years. Also, to each his own, but considering content on YouTube, it's not as if I would tear my hair out to be able to watch that through madVR. More power to those that care, obviously. Dolby Vision would be worth it, I agree.

Also, considering how well I see Reclock performing, it's a shame it's not been updated for 64 bit.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM

Last edited by ashlar42; 8th July 2021 at 13:17.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2021, 13:27   #61719  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 268
anyone else having issues with seeking movies now after the latest update? build 1083 I've repeating green artifacts and repeating images. using potplayer with lavfilers and madvr with 6900xt 21.6.1. the windows 10 movie player works fine
seems Lav Video Filters is causing the issue. it only happens with 8bit movies not HDR ones....

Last edited by x7007; 8th July 2021 at 14:18.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2021, 14:28   #61720  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,345
If any of you Reclock users have any programming experience, then consider the possibility of implementing its functionality in MPC-HC. Audio resampling ability is already present in the internal audio renderer. So the only main thing that is missing is adjusting the playback rate to compensate for the small difference in refreshrate vs video framerate.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.15
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.