Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th July 2021, 21:54   #61781  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,127
check what part of the GPU it could be easily the hardware decoder.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2021, 23:02   #61782  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,144
Percentages can also be rather misleading if the GPU has a dynamic clock. It could run at what seems a high percentage but run at a lower clock because the driver/OS figured out that this is plenty to do the task at hand.
If you really want to check, collect more data points with actual GPU monitoring tools (eg. GPU-Z might be the simplest that shows much more data), not task manager.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2021, 10:45   #61783  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,482
Anyone had any luck with automatic profile selection on a mounted ISO? I'm only using location and resolution as the conditions and both are correct but it's not taking.
MPC-BE even specifies the location in it's recent files list so it appears to be parsing this location correctly but madVR isn't having a bar of it.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2021, 16:31   #61784  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 303
If I understand you correctly, auto profile selection has always worked perfectly for mounted iso's using resolution here.

Quote:
if (srcWidth > 1920) and (deintFps < 25) "2160p 24fps"
else if (srcWidth <= 1920) and (srcHeight > 1080) "2160p 24fps"
else if (srcheight <= 2160) and (deintFps > 58) "2160p 60fps"

else if (srcWidth > 1280) and (srcWidth <= 1920) "1080p"
else if (srcWidth <= 1280) and ((srcHeight > 720) and (srcHeight <= 1080)) "1080p"

else if (srcWidth > 960) and (srcWidth <= 1280) "720p"
else if (srcWidth <= 960) and ((srcHeight > 540) and (srcHeight <= 720)) "720p"

else if (srcWidth <= 960) and (srcHeight <= 540) "540p"
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W11 Pro 960-4GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI 20 MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3,5 & 6 PotPlayer
82" Q90R Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 08:21   #61785  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,482
No issues with resolution, location is the problem.

if (srcHeight <= 480) and (filepath = "E:\*.*")
"480"

E: is the ISO mounted location.
I've also tried E:\Video_TS\*.* but that doesn't work either. I've had to resort to using an else statement to get it to select the appropriate profile.

Can anyone else confirm this?
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 17:00   #61786  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 836
It works for Blu-ray ISOs but not DVDs.
I think it's because the DVD Navigator doesn't pass filename/path information (when opening VOB files directly, it works)?
I can see that also in ReClock, it says File: DVD from DVD drive (in mpc-hc) whereas with a BD ISO it shows the path of index.bdmv even when opening as disc.
I've tried with filename = "*DVD*" but it doesn't work either.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27

Last edited by el Filou; 26th July 2021 at 17:06.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2021, 17:34   #61787  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 77
el Filou: I did try High Performance, it didn't change anything.

nevcairiel: These two images show the same file being played. It seems that something in Win10 is triggering heavier power consumption with madVR but I don't have an understanding as to what it could be.



Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 13:58   #61788  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 836
@Sunspark: can you create a file named ShowRenderSteps (with no file extension) in madVR's program files folder, and then take screenshots of madVR OSD during playback (wait for the clocks and GPU utilization to stabilize) on both Win7 and Win10 and compare the figures? To check if the GPU utilization is due to one particular step of madVR's pipeline or if all steps have higher rendering times on Windows 10.
(I know it's cumbersome, but I don't see another way to find out what is causing that much higher usage)
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 15:26   #61789  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
No issues with resolution, location is the problem.

if (srcHeight <= 480) and (filepath = "E:\*.*")
"480"

E: is the ISO mounted location.
I've also tried E:\Video_TS\*.* but that doesn't work either. I've had to resort to using an else statement to get it to select the appropriate profile.

Can anyone else confirm this?
In MPC, enable the web interface and open up the variables page:

http://localhost:13579/variables.html

Here you can see the paths for playing media files that MPC will be sending to madVR, so check the paths of your playing ISOs to see how you would write your profile selection rules.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 18:35   #61790  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
@Sunspark: can you create a file named ShowRenderSteps (with no file extension) in madVR's program files folder, and then take screenshots of madVR OSD during playback (wait for the clocks and GPU utilization to stabilize) on both Win7 and Win10 and compare the figures? To check if the GPU utilization is due to one particular step of madVR's pipeline or if all steps have higher rendering times on Windows 10.
(I know it's cumbersome, but I don't see another way to find out what is causing that much higher usage)
Thanks el Filou for the suggestion to look closer again with the ShowRenderSteps.

The mystery is solved.

In Win7 I wasn't using exactly the same settings, so I thought to myself, let's try to make it more like the setup in Win10 for consistency in measurement so I added a module I wasn't using there, and all of a sudden, heavy usage in Win7 too.

It was the subtitle renderer that was adding all the extra usage, but also another setting as well. Different combinations of stuff will vary cpu & gpu usage, etc. slightly but it generally came down to 2 settings together. Overlay mode and the subtitle renderer.

overlay mode on, xysubfilter on - heavy usage
overlay mode off, xysubfilter on - heavy usage
overlay mode on, internal subtitle renderer on - heavy usage
overlay mode off, internal subsubtitle renderer on - normal usage
overlay mode on, assfilter on - heavy usage
overlay mode off, assfilter on - heavy usage

There is only 1 combination in mpc-hc that doesn't crank up the power if you need to have subtitles on as I do. DON'T use D3D9 Windowed Overlay mode and ONLY use the player's internal subtitle renderer.

Such a shame, because xysubfilter has sharper rendering and better positioning. Sigh..

Incidentally, in D3D9 windowed (non-overlay) mode backbuffers has lower cpu/gpu usage than frames in advance.

Image below is what it looks like with xysubfilter active.. all the extra rendering steps that doesn't happen with the internal subtitle renderer.

Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 18:48   #61791  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 836
Excellent news.
Have you tried D3D11 presentation to see if it worked better than D3D9? Broadwell's iGPU should be recent enough to work well with it, but sometimes there are quirks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
In MPC, enable the web interface and open up the variables page. Here you can see the paths for playing media files that MPC will be sending to madVR
That's really strange, it shows the correct path (E:\VIDEO_TS\VIDEO_TS.IFO), but the rule still doesn't work when it's a DVD. Are you sure that's how madVR gets its file info?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2021, 19:07   #61792  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,361
MPC does not send any filenames to madVR. I assume madVR uses standard DirectShow interfaces to get the filename from the source filter. The DVD navigator probably does not implement that interface.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Such a shame, because xysubfilter has sharper rendering and better positioning. Sigh..
Nonsense. You can let the internal renderer run at 4k resolution if you want. You need to check your settings.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.16
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 08:18   #61793  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
MPC does not send any filenames to madVR. I assume madVR uses standard DirectShow interfaces to get the filename from the source filter. The DVD navigator probably does not implement that interface.
Can we fake it somehow so the path can be parsed for MadVR to pick up on? Having a profile specifically for DVD ISOs would be quite a boon.

Last edited by ryrynz; 29th July 2021 at 09:15.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 13:42   #61794  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,361
If it isn't working properly, then it is something that madshi has to fix. I have checked and the DVD Navigator does also expose the required interface for getting file path.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...lesourcefilter

What you could try is to check if the path variable is empty for ISOs. Or if it does not contains any / or \ characters.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.16
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 21:29   #61795  |  Link
doffen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
MPC does not send any filenames to madVR. I assume madVR uses standard DirectShow interfaces to get the filename from the source filter. The DVD navigator probably does not implement that interface.

Nonsense. You can let the internal renderer run at 4k resolution if you want. You need to check your settings.
Is there still any advantages of using xysubfilter then?
doffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 21:36   #61796  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by doffen View Post
Is there still any advantages of using xysubfilter then?
sub title moving, smooth motion compatible and calibration but sharpness was never part of it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 22:01   #61797  |  Link
doffen
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 16
Thanks! I'll stick with xysubfilter then since I use 3dlut with madvr. (assuming these works for the subtitles as well)
doffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2021, 22:09   #61798  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,127
xy does the internal renderer doesn't.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2021, 05:04   #61799  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 77
I'm not so sure about the whole sharpness is the same aspect. It might be player specific because even with two different ones set to use the internal subtitle renderer and both set to use "desktop" as the texture resolution, one is sharper than the other. But on mpc-be xysubfilter is noticeably sharper than the internal renderer set to desktop on my system. Whereas on mpc-hc (1.7.13) it doesn't make a difference, both internal and xysubfilter are both sharp so it makes sense to use the internal one to reduce gpu load otherwise it will be 3x load. The converse is true on mpc-be because xysubfilter does not increase gpu load when paired with the mpc video renderer so in that player xysubfilter should be used instead of the internal subtitle renderer if you are using d3d9 as I am.

The subtitle moving support in madvr, I don't believe it works all that well with the internal subtitle renderer in mpc-hc because I did test it out. Made sure dxva2 copy-back was being used because I determined the following things: subtitle moving will not take place if you do not have black bar detection turned on (which in turn is dependent on having copy-back). When this condition is met, and the subtitle is moved, only one of the two options works well. Moving into the active video area does work and will move the subtitle into the video picture itself. However, most people want the subtitle below for non 16:9 content, and the option "move subtitles to bottom of screen/window" just doesn't work at all. So, in that scenario don't even waste your time with that option. Leave it off along with black bar detection off since you won't need them, and instead in subtitle style settings for the margin for top and bottom, change it from 20 to 1. It'll be a compromise. Subtitles with 2 lines will be nicely centered in the black portion below the video. Subtitles with 1 line unfortunately will be at the bottom of the monitor. Nothing can be done about it, not even turning the madvr option for "bottom" back on. Movies and shows that aren't 16:9 will have black bars which is why this situation of subtitle moving or lack thereof may not always be noticed if all your content is exclusively 16:9.

So, I have another stupid edge case bug to warn you about in Windows 10 with madvr. If you are using dxva2 copy-back and have exclusive mode turned on (and yes for good measure i also have "disable full-screen optimisations" checked in the player's windows file properties) do not have "frames in advance" selected in madvr options for both windowed mode (which is where your playback begins first) and exclusive mode. If you have frames in advance selected for both, what happens is that something gets stuck with the gpu load, it is higher than it should be when in windowed mode and remains higher when you switch into fullscreen exclusive. Windowed mode needs to have frames in advance unchecked, and it's ok to use frames in advance for exclusive. If you have the two separate, one with backbuffers and the other with frames in advance, then the gpu load will be ok for both and not get stuck at a higher utilization. Unfortunately, there is no benefit in using backbuffers for exclusive also, because it will be higher gpu usage than with frames in advance. It doesn't make sense to me that windowed mode uses lower gpu with backbuffers and exclusive is lower with frames, but you can't have both set to the same thing at the same time, or that if you reverse the options and make windowed frames, and exclusive backbuffers then both will have higher gpu usage.

What can you do? There is no such thing as a perfectly implemented player anywhere, always edge case bugs and glitches. Even Microsoft's Movies & TV (Films & TV) player which is backed by a huge corporation has the following annoyances that I have noticed: subtitles are unable to show outlines, everything else works just not the option to choose outline, raised, etc. so you have to live with subtitles that have no separation from the video unless you are willing to accept a black bar behind it. It cannot play AC3/E-AC3 audio. It cannot play 10-bit anime files. It does however have the best lower power consumption which is important to know about if you're running off batteries for awhile.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2021, 12:03   #61800  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,361
You are using a 4 year old version of MPC-HC. Latest one is 1.9.14.

If you want subs below video, then simply disable the option in MPC-HC to render relative to the video frame. Then it will render relative to window. Or semi-checked (= default) which means relative to window for normal subs, and relative to video for anime stuff.
__________________
MPC-HC 1.9.16
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.