Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th May 2019, 13:41   #56381  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisssj2 View Post
Already using those ssettings.
Though I dont see a prefer nvidia on optimus setting.

Anyway these settings make 0 difference appearently.
The NVIDIA control panel doesn't show all options. The tool in the my download link does show it. That specific option is only relevant for Optimus laptops.

The included profile applies specifically to MPC and doesn't touch the global settings.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 14:56   #56382  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 34
After a bit more digging it seems external LAV filters are only using video accelleration when CUVID is enabled, the internal filters with MPC-HC do all use video acceleration but of course there's no D3D 11 option. I'm guessing this is a question for the LAV forum rather than here.
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 15:52   #56383  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 34
For anyone else with the same issue - Using LAV 0.71 allows D3D11 hardware acceleration for me, any newer versions break it, also the adaptive power setting helps too as suggested above.
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 17:42   #56384  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by baker99uk View Post
For anyone else with the same issue - Using LAV 0.71 allows D3D11 hardware acceleration for me, any newer versions break it, also the adaptive power setting helps too as suggested above.
Which OS are you on? There is no reason D3D11 should not work, it works for many other users just fine.

Would you report this in the LAV thread with all hardware, OS and video details?
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 18:02   #56385  |  Link
Daicon
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daicon View Post
The only option in Kodi to use MADVR with HDR goes through Kodi DSPlayer ???

There is no other?
anyy?
Daicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 18:04   #56386  |  Link
baker99uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Which OS are you on? There is no reason D3D11 should not work, it works for many other users just fine.

Would you report this in the LAV thread with all hardware, OS and video details?
Will do, have been doing various tests all day so will try to do a thorough report in a bit
baker99uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 20:57   #56387  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daicon View Post
anyy?
the only other way to do it is use kodi with a madvr supported external player like mpc-be, might as well just use kodi ds, its old but it still works fine.
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700 - http://madshi.net/madVRhdrMeasure141.zip
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 23:39   #56388  |  Link
ka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
On your laptop madVR should be set to output full range 0-255, but it only happens in fullscreen? If that was the issue it should not be only when fullscreen. Any more details, like OS, GPU, driver, laptop model, etc?
Intel HD 630, RTX 2080, GE75 Raider 8SG, Windows 10 1809.

Only some mkvs does that on laptop monitor when fullscreen. Everything is fine on external monitor.
ka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 00:17   #56389  |  Link
garson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
maybe start with a screen of the OSD.
Sure, here it is. I think watching full hd (on full hd screen) I don't see this issue, but HD and SD I occasionaly see this.
Screenshot is 720p movie.


Last edited by garson; 31st May 2019 at 00:23.
garson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 01:37   #56390  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,479
Asmodian, how does HD upscaled to 1440P @ 120hz Smooth Motion look? Also is 4K worth downscaling with SSIM 2D to that res for 120hz SM? Just curious..
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 02:00   #56391  |  Link
grendelrt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
I have a weird issue. I used the report 2020 to display option to do some testing, and now even when I am on the desktop and in SDR on 709 material, my display is still getting reported BT2020. If I switch sources to my Oppo player it clears, but no matter what I do now on my computer it is stuck sending the BT2020 flag. Is there any way to clear this?

Edit: A full DDU uninstall of the drivers seemed to have fixed it. Isnt that option supposed to work as a toggle though? If I uncheck it, shouldnt it turn that flag off that nvidia is sending?

Last edited by grendelrt; 31st May 2019 at 02:43.
grendelrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 04:00   #56392  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by garson View Post
Sure, here it is. I think watching full hd (on full hd screen) I don't see this issue, but HD and SD I occasionaly see this.
Screenshot is 720p movie.
is this screen pause? the OSD show very odd numbers.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 07:29   #56393  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by grendelrt View Post
I have a weird issue. I used the report 2020 to display option to do some testing, and now even when I am on the desktop and in SDR on 709 material, my display is still getting reported BT2020. If I switch sources to my Oppo player it clears, but no matter what I do now on my computer it is stuck sending the BT2020 flag. Is there any way to clear this?

Edit: A full DDU uninstall of the drivers seemed to have fixed it. Isnt that option supposed to work as a toggle though? If I uncheck it, shouldnt it turn that flag off that nvidia is sending?
I have noticed the same issue recently. Yes it should work as a toggle. I haven't had a chance to debug it, but it definitely doesn't work as it should. It could be a change in madVR, as I haven't changed the OS or GPU driver (I'm testing 430.86 at the moment but I get this issue with 385.28 to).

Please could you report:

GPU & driver version
OS version and build
madVR version

Anyone else noticed this?
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000

Last edited by Manni; 31st May 2019 at 07:32.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 08:09   #56394  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Asmodian, how does HD upscaled to 1440P @ 120hz Smooth Motion look? Also is 4K worth downscaling with SSIM 2D to that res for 120hz SM? Just curious..
Smooth motion at 120Hz looks like the native refresh rate to me, the resolution and smooth motion don't really interact in my experiance. 2160p is noticeably better than 1440p for both 1080p upscaled and 4K (obviously) but 1440p still looks very good with good scaling. Smooth motion does not make SSIM 2D any less helpful either, in my experiance the extra details from SSIM are mostly only visible when not in motion and for 24p at 120Hz smooth motion does not noticeably soften the image anyway.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 08:50   #56395  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Smooth motion at 120Hz looks like the native refresh rate to me
Well that's a good thing, but I'm kinda disappointed.

Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED, no more downscaling for me, gonna miss the plasma refresh resolution but there's a lot to gain with an upgrade now.
Even Sony's BFI isn't good enough that I would want to use it as the flicker bothers me.

A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 09:53   #56396  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED
That's good, so finally someone can test chroma 4:4:4 and judder free playback with PC mode @ custom 23Hz on Panasonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
And banding, tinting, DSE, etc
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config

Last edited by chros; 31st May 2019 at 10:33.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 11:01   #56397  |  Link
miroslav22
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
Hi,

I'm looking to buy a new Nvidia GPU for madvr processing but I want the best processing power for a reasonable budget.

A 1080 is only roughly 35-40% faster than a 1060 in standard 3dmark benchmarks.

However am I correct in thinking that the processing capability of madvr would be more linearly proportional to the number of unified shader cores in an Nvidia GPU? Or is it more complex than that? ie would a 1080 with 2560 cores have half the rendering time of a 1060 with 1280 cores (assuming identical source and settings)?

Thanks for any advice
miroslav22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 11:21   #56398  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,200
That's how it works, yes. I have a used 1060 6GB and it's enough for me (using HDR passthrough) with a 4k screen. But if you can get similarly priced better card then go for it.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config

Last edited by chros; 31st May 2019 at 11:23.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 13:32   #56399  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Well that's a good thing, but I'm kinda disappointed.

Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED, no more downscaling for me, gonna miss the plasma refresh resolution but there's a lot to gain with an upgrade now.
Even Sony's BFI isn't good enough that I would want to use it as the flicker bothers me.

A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
It is supposed to be as good as gets for current displays, particularly the color accuracy of its internal HDR 3D LUTs. Probably won't be disappointed with it. You will want a 65" screen if possible if you are moving to a 4K display and care about visible improvements from upscaling, which I would assume you would.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2019, 14:30   #56400  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Well that's a good thing, but I'm kinda disappointed.

Am splashing out on a Pana FZ950 OLED, no more downscaling for me, gonna miss the plasma refresh resolution but there's a lot to gain with an upgrade now.
Even Sony's BFI isn't good enough that I would want to use it as the flicker bothers me.

A pity every display technology we've had replacing the previous one has gone backwards in terms of motion resolution.
welcome to the OLED club, guarantee you wont be disappointed but watch out for 5% black vertical banding, its much better than my first gen 4k OLED but it can still be a panel lottery for OLEDS.
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700 - http://madshi.net/madVRhdrMeasure141.zip
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.