Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th January 2021, 13:27   #801  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
Any consideration for OpenCL?
OpenCL is a nice standard but benchmark shows that CUDA is way faster and there is a really strong support with compilers and from Nvidia.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 16:57   #802  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,147
Quote:
and there is a really strong support with compilers and from Nvidia.
But ONLY from Nvidia. No Nvidia? No CUDA.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 17:23   #803  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,449
Stupid post of the day. So what? No Microsoft no Windows. No Apple no iPhone. You get the drift.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 21:34   #804  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,147
No, I don't get the drift, so maybe you didn't get the drift in the first place. If a user doesn't have Nvidia hardware then they're not going to be able to use anything that relies on CUDA. OpenCL, if I understand correctly is practically ubiquitous.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 21:39   #805  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
OpenCL, if I understand correctly is practically ubiquitous.
Then much better Vulkan than OpenCL.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 21:55   #806  |  Link
FranceBB
Broadcast Encoder
 
FranceBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Metropolitan City of Milan, Italy
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
When a european man uses imperial units, a CUDA core of his video card core dies.
Eheheh... Doom9, where impossible things happen.
(Honestly, though, I hope all the cuda core in my Quadro P4000 are fine xD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
OpenCL is a nice standard but benchmark shows that CUDA is way faster and there is a really strong support with compilers and from Nvidia.
True. Although OpenCL is available on any GPU, including those from Intel and AMD, it's also true that the performances have not been so good. Honestly, I don't mind pushing towards cuda. The whole industry is already pushing towards it and it's the de facto standard for those kind of calculations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
If a user doesn't have Nvidia hardware then they're not going to be able to use anything that relies on CUDA. OpenCL, if I understand correctly is practically ubiquitous.
The thing is that OpenCL has been proven to be slow, especially on Nvidia cards, so losing a lot in performance only to make it run on different cards isn't generally something that businesses are willing to accept. I work in broadcast and I can tell you that no matter where you go, if you open up the workstations of any studio, you'll find an NVIDIA Quadro, it's just the way it is. Some very small studios may have an RTX but that's about it, it's always NVIDIA. What I'd like to see in the future for Avisynth is a widespread use of cuda with plugins that can work on the CPU for the rest of the community and on the GPU for those owning an NVIDIA card. I know it may not make some users happy, but industry-wise it makes a lot of sense. I work in the encoding department, we have servers running Avisynth automated tasks all the time for ingest and outgest (incoming and outgoing media) and I have plenty of NVIDIA Quadro cards that are used by AVID Media Composer and Davinci Resolve, but I can't use them for Avisynth (except for a very limited set of plugins - Thank you Donald ) and I can't use them in encoding either due to the lower quality outcome compared to x264/x265. I am actually using them to encode with x264 + OpenCL but honestly, the speedup is so reduced that I can barely tell the difference. I would love to be able to use them for Avisynth as it would speed up things a lot!

Last edited by FranceBB; 29th January 2021 at 21:57.
FranceBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 21:56   #807  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
If a user doesn't have Nvidia hardware then they're not going to be able to use anything that relies on CUDA.
Same can be said about iPhones and lots of other things. So what?

It's like a joke from our youth: Why did the man jump out of the airplane? Answer: Because if he didn't jump out of the airplane he'd still be in the airplane.

You are saying nothing. Putting stuff in bold doesn't improve an argument.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 22:12   #808  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
Same can be said about iPhones and lots of other things. So what?
So look at all the work pinterf and others have done to NOT keep Avisynth tied to a particular operating system. I just wondered if it might be preferable not to throw in with another proprietary system when there are open alternatives, but I appreciate that pinterf isn't starting something new from scratch here, if he's even starting anything at all.
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 22:22   #809  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 2,165
maybe both or all (with Vulkan) since Vulkan not work with many old gpus but OpenCL do

like this plugin do https://github.com/HomeOfVapourSynth...h-Waifu2x-w2xc (it even work with CPU only)

Code:
gpu: Controls the environment to use.

    0 = disable GPU
    1 = auto detect. It will run on the first available environment in the following order:
        CUDA
        Vulkan 
        AMD OpenCL
        FMA
        AVX
        Intel OpenCL
        SSE3
        OpenCV filter2D
    2 = force to use OpenCL
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 22:37   #810  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,449
Note that he puts CUDA first.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 22:42   #811  |  Link
real.finder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mesopotamia
Posts: 2,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
Note that he puts CUDA first.
it's self-evident that CUDA is better for Nvidia
__________________
See My Avisynth Stuff
real.finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 22:49   #812  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,449
Y'all can only make self-evident observations? Or maybe it was a lame joke?
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 22:59   #813  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 311
I love CUDA. Literally I'm NVidia fanboy, I think their GPUs are great
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 3900X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 23:29   #814  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
I love CUDA. Literally I'm NVidia fanboy, I think their GPUs are great
True NVIDIA fanboy would buy rtx3090 instead of that rtx2070 you have now. You must upgrade NOW!!!! Sell your kidney or/and car if you can't afford IT.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2021, 23:33   #815  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 311
No, I'm not that insane. But I'll definitely buy 3080 once prices dumps.
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 3900X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2021, 00:04   #816  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
No, I'm not that insane. But I'll definitely buy 3080 once prices dumps.
They will dump maybe after 4000 series... But then 3080 will be outdated and new series will be again sold out directly to chinese crazy miners.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2021, 01:11   #817  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJATOM View Post
No, I'm not that insane. But I'll definitely buy 3080 once prices dumps.
Wait for TI flavor. If you want to work seriously with 4K HDR, I think you will need more than 10GB for heavy MT.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2021, 01:13   #818  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by real.finder View Post
maybe both or all (with Vulkan) since Vulkan not work with many old gpus but OpenCL do
I ain't a programmer but I can see FFMPEG is following the Vulkan path for general compatibility. And, to be honest, lot of not so ancient hardware supports it.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2021, 18:30   #819  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,449
I would buy three 3090s right now if I could find any.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2021, 18:42   #820  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 311
> TI
I'll consider it based on my local prices and availability. Literally I need it for filters like eedi3/nnedi3 where 10G memory isn't really a problem. In fact, 2070 with 8G is enough for it, but eedi3 is slow.
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 3900X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.