Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2020, 12:23   #29281  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
One other point. There's also the option to choose the fastest speed for X265 in BD-RB. My guess would be that it is similar to hardware encoding in quality …..
Out of curiosity I made a quality comparison between cartman's QP24 HW encode and a BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encode at same bitrate (about 7740 kbps).

- cartman's HEVC QP24 GPU encode: VMAF = 95.7191, SSIM = 0.997884, PSNR = 49.1751
- BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encode: VMAF = 96.3585, SSIM = 0.997893, PSNR = 49.4838 (CPU encoding speed was about 9 fps with my i5-8400 CPU)

No big difference in the quality metrics, both encodes are softening and denoising the picture somewhat.
Visually they look much the same IMO, by far good enough for casual viewing (a very subjective statement of course ).
So the GPU HEVC encode has about the same quality as the CPU x265 'Very Good / Very Fast' encode in this test.

Last edited by Sharc; 23rd February 2020 at 14:02. Reason: SSIM and PSNR added
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 19:01   #29282  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
help with error

trying to to compress 4k black panther but keep getting this error DB Rebuilder experienced error 1605 extractaudiosuds 00058 1605
i dont have any problems doing other movies

thanks
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2020, 23:31   #29283  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,367
No such thing as db rebuilder, and as useless as your message unfortunately without the full bdrb log.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 00:04   #29284  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
No such thing as db rebuilder, and as useless as your message unfortunately without the full bdrb log.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
my bad BD but you know what i was talking about
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 00:05   #29285  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Log

----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[11:45:21] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[11:45:21] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [11:45:21] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [11:45:21] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:18:30] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:18:41]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[12:18:51] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[12:18:52] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [12:18:52] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [12:18:52] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
[02 22 20] Checking System Settings
- BD-Rebuilder v0.61.05
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 343.19GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- LAVFILTERS: Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- X264: Ok
- X265: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok
[02 22 20] Systems Settings Check complete
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:51:55] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:55:14]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 00:50   #29286  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripem2011 View Post
----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[11:45:21] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[11:45:21] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [11:45:21] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [11:45:21] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:18:30] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:18:41]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
----------------------
[02 22 20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[12:18:51] Source: BLACK_PANTHER_00004
- Input BD size: 56.16 GB
- Approximate total content: [02:14:34.399]
- Target BD size: 4.36 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: Very Good (Very Fast), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: FFMPEG
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=0 Kbs=640
[12:18:52] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [12:18:52] Processing: VID_00045 (1 of 1)
- [12:18:52] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00045]
[02 22 20] Checking System Settings
- BD-Rebuilder v0.61.05
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Working Path Free Space: 343.19GB
- AVISYNTH Version: 2.6.0.6, Ok
- LAVFILTERS: Ok
- AnyDVD settings check: Ok.
- X264: Ok
- X265: Ok
- AFTEN: Ok
- FAAC: Ok
- MP4BOX: Ok
- WAVI: Ok
- TSMUXER: Ok
- FRIMEncode: Ok
- FRIMDecode: Ok
[02 22 20] Systems Settings Check complete
- Extracting video streams [VID_00045]
- Extracting secondary video [VID_00045]
- Extracting audio/subtitle streams [VID_00045]
- [12:51:55] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 1605
- Extracting audio streams [VID_00045]
[12:55:14]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
4K movie to a 4.46 gig DVD ?? youd be better off using a 1080p bluray version, can you even do UHD HDR to DVD ??( I guess so but HDR to SDR and a ton of wasted time to do it, for one the extracting of A/V takes ages compared to 1080p), it would need to convert HDR to SDR, so as said better to use a 1080p source if your wanting DVD, mayby explain more on what your trying to do ?

Last edited by Mike-uk; 23rd February 2020 at 01:09.
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 00:58   #29287  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
4K movie to a 4.36 gig DVD ?? youd be better off using a 1080p bluray version
Perhaps, but that doesn't clarify the problem nor should it impact EXTRACTING of the streams. The size issue should only come into play during rebuilding (if it would even start rebuilding).

Though on that issue, even if it's possible, it'll look like crap. Even with x264/x265
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 01:50   #29288  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
Perhaps, but that doesn't clarify the problem nor should it impact EXTRACTING of the streams. The size issue should only come into play during rebuilding (if it would even start rebuilding).

Though on that issue, even if it's possible, it'll look like crap. Even with x264/x265
i done it with a couple other ones just to see how it looks even with DV it dont look bad at all or my eyes are but then i add atmos to it with tsMuxeR and every thing work good but not with black panther no matter if i do 25 gig still get that error
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 14:13   #29289  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripem2011 View Post
i done it with a couple other ones just to see how it looks even with DV it dont look bad at all or my eyes are but then i add atmos to it with tsMuxeR and every thing work good but not with black panther no matter if i do 25 gig still get that error
Atmos track on a DVD ?? that's out of spec, are you playing these dvds in a dvd player ??
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 14:40   #29290  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
Atmos track on a DVD ?? that's out of spec, are you playing these dvds in a dvd player ??
Perhaps the tracks are being authored to suit the Blu-ray spec but are being burned onto DVD~R's.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 20:14   #29291  |  Link
ripem2011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
Atmos track on a DVD ?? that's out of spec, are you playing these dvds in a dvd player ??
copy them on my usb drive play them on my Sony UBP-X700 no problems then store them on my USB hard drive hooked to my 4k bluray player

Last edited by ripem2011; 23rd February 2020 at 20:17.
ripem2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 00:14   #29292  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Out of curiosity I made a quality comparison between cartman's QP24 HW encode and a BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encodes at same bitrate (about 7740 kbps).

- cartman's HEVC QP24 GPU encode: VMAF = 95.7191, SSIM = 0.997884, PSNR = 49.1751
- BD-RB x265 'Very Good (Very Fast)' CPU encode: VMAF = 96.3585, SSIM = 0.997893, PSNR = 49.4838 (CPU encoding speed was about 9 fps with my i5-8400 CPU)

No big difference in the quality metrics, both encodes are softening and denoising the picture somewhat.
Visually they look much the same IMO, by far good enough for casual viewing (a very subjective statement of course ).
So the GPU HEVC encode has about the same quality as the CPU x265 'Very Good / Very Fast' encode in this test.
Newer movies are easy to compress, try using an older one (35 mm film), I remember doing some tests with the original Ghostbusters, even at BD50 bitrate, the NVIDIA encoder was awful, grain retention was particularly bad.

Last edited by SquallMX; 24th February 2020 at 00:27.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 00:43   #29293  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquallMX View Post
Newer movies are easy to compress, try using an older one (35 mm film), I remember doing some tests with the original Ghostbusters, even at BD50 bitrate, the NVIDIA encoder was awful, grain retention was particularly bad.
Agree, but I wouldn't recommend superfast x265 setting for difficult sources and strong compression either.

Last edited by Sharc; 27th February 2020 at 11:01.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 08:31   #29294  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
The GTX-1660 is also a turning card.
'A Turn of a Friendly Card'...?
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 08:35   #29295  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Turning what/where? Towards the next model which is on the horizon?
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 14:19   #29296  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 160
quicker encode for extras ?? does this affect multi file discs, I have a disc with 4 files that make up the main movie 1 file is 130mb another 430, will quicker mode encode this low file sizes with lesster quality ?

Thanks
Mike
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2020, 07:22   #29297  |  Link
Tyrell63
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5
BD Rebuilder 0.61.05
Trying to work on two different 3D videos (BD-50)
Both are stopping with
[13:51:28] Reencoding: VID_00042, Pass 1 of 1
[13:52:29] - Failed video encode, aborted
Trying CloneBD on these mounted disks results in no error

Best
Lutz
Tyrell63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2020, 19:30   #29298  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrell63 View Post
BD Rebuilder 0.61.05
Trying to work on two different 3D videos (BD-50)
Both are stopping with
[13:51:28] Reencoding: VID_00042, Pass 1 of 1
[13:52:29] - Failed video encode, aborted
Trying CloneBD on these mounted disks results in no error

Best
Lutz
full bdrb log, or nobody can help you, and you need to provide a lot more info. For example, i own and use CloneBD myself and it does NOT support disc-to-disc backups of 3D titles. It only supports them to an alternate output such as mp4, mkv...
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2020, 13:39   #29299  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
full bdrb log, or nobody can help you, and you need to provide a lot more info. For example, i own and use CloneBD myself and it does NOT support disc-to-disc backups of 3D titles. It only supports them to an alternate output such as mp4, mkv...
the "other" cloneBD apparently does full 3D 1:1 backups
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2020, 16:47   #29300  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,367
You mean the monkey? Or ClownBD? Afaik full disc to disc isn't yet supported by elby's CloneBD.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.