Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd June 2023, 12:49   #31521  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,211
Quote:
Will it eventually support QSVEnc and VCEEncC as well?
Those might be Intel's and AMD's hardware encoders
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2023, 18:32   #31522  |  Link
magnexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I seriously doubt it. Software encoders are extremely slow. Using hardware encoding is extremely fast and produces great results.
maybe my english is bad, but QSVEnc and VCEEncC are hardware encoder.

Quote:
Those might be Intel's and AMD's hardware encoders
of course. QSVEnc is Intel and VCEEnc is AMD. I use BDRebuilder since 15 Years and this is the first time i usw another software, because BDRebuilder dosent work with intel or amd. only with nvidea.
magnexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2023, 22:41   #31523  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Those might be Intel's and AMD's hardware encoders
I looked them up, but obviously didn't read far enough.

In order to support them, that would mean having to purchase different display cards for other computers. An expense I personally wouldn't do for a project without any real income.

Last edited by MrVideo; 22nd June 2023 at 22:43.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2023, 19:20   #31524  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 558
FYI, I was rebuilding a remuxed MKV file back to Blu-ray today and BD Rebuilder couldn't handle the main audio track. It seems that because it was Dolby TrueHD without a DD core, tsMuxeR couldn't work with it.
I downloaded a nightly build and that fixed the issue. BD RB could use an update.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2023, 21:24   #31525  |  Link
KaraokeAmerica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magister Irrylio View Post
I'm trying to convert a Full SBS 3D file (ie a 3840x1080 2D file) to 3D MVC, but it's not working. I get the error....
I looked at the next several pages of comments but have still not seen a response to this. Did you figure this out?
KaraokeAmerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2023, 23:47   #31526  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
FYI, I was rebuilding a remuxed MKV file back to Blu-ray today and BD Rebuilder couldn't handle the main audio track. It seems that because it was Dolby TrueHD without a DD core, tsMuxeR couldn't work with it.
I downloaded a nightly build and that fixed the issue. BD RB could use an update.
If you updated it in the BD-RB folder, just don't complain here when one of your next jobs fails.

They've made numerous changes that change the way TSMUXER works -- making it unlikely (but not impossible, I guess) to be compatible with BD-RB. Apparently consistency with previous versions isn't a priority (at least at the command line level).

[Edit] Also -- creating a disc with a Dolby TrueHD audio track that doesn't contain a DD core violates the BD standard. It may work great on one player -- but fail on another. I wouldn't allow it within BD-RB for that reason as well.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 27th June 2023 at 01:55.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2023, 01:43   #31527  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
If you updated it in the BD-RB folder, just don't complain here when one of your next jobs fails.
Correct. That is why I have two shortcuts: one that points to the original install and one that points to an install in which I have the tsMuxer changed out. I suggest that anyone else who has changed out the tsMuxer do the same.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2023, 11:44   #31528  |  Link
DeathStalker77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 18
I have 2 authored BDs in folder structure - both play perfectly fine - both run through DVDFab just fine. However BDRB does not recognize them as being BDs - not v0.61.28 or v0.50.25. I have also tried after running then through DVDFab, with the same result.

Any ideas???!

Thanks!

--- DS
DeathStalker77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2023, 20:36   #31529  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
If you updated it in the BD-RB folder, just don't complain here when one of your next jobs fails.

They've made numerous changes that change the way TSMUXER works -- making it unlikely (but not impossible, I guess) to be compatible with BD-RB. Apparently consistency with previous versions isn't a priority (at least at the command line level).

[Edit] Also -- creating a disc with a Dolby TrueHD audio track that doesn't contain a DD core violates the BD standard. It may work great on one player -- but fail on another. I wouldn't allow it within BD-RB for that reason as well.
Thanks. No, I didn't update TSMUXER in BDRB, I used it separately... and my test burn did fail to play.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2023, 18:50   #31530  |  Link
Ch3vr0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,368
Been a while since i needed to use this. Recently built a new system and need to process a 3D disc. So naturally went to BDRB as there are no quality alternatives. I'm stuck on the REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT step. Will not register on W11Pro x64. (file cannot be found). Manually ran BDRB once as admin. Same effect?

Anything i need to enable again in hiddenopts to enable 3D support (in-mux)/blanking/multiprocess? Old system was based on a Z390 9900k GTX 1080, new one is Z790 13900k RTX 4090

Last edited by Ch3vr0n; 2nd July 2023 at 18:57.
Ch3vr0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2023, 00:00   #31531  |  Link
bjones
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch3vr0n View Post
Been a while since i needed to use this. Recently built a new system and need to process a 3D disc. So naturally went to BDRB as there are no quality alternatives. I'm stuck on the REG_MSCOMCTL.BAT step. Will not register on W11Pro x64. (file cannot be found). Manually ran BDRB once as admin. Same effect?

Anything i need to enable again in hiddenopts to enable 3D support (in-mux)/blanking/multiprocess? Old system was based on a Z390 9900k GTX 1080, new one is Z790 13900k RTX 4090
First you need to make sure you have the file MSCOMCTL.OCX on the system which is the target for the command. It's located @ c:\windows\SysWOW64 on my Win10x64 machine and how I did it

If it's there pull up an administrative command prompt and cd to that location then run the regsvr32 command that's in .bat file -
cd C:Windows\SysWOW64 (to change the current directory of Command Prompt)
regsvr32 mscomctl.ocx (to register MSCOMCTL.OCX on Windows 10)

If its not there there's a copy in the directory with BDRB you can place there

Hope this helps

Last edited by bjones; 3rd July 2023 at 00:28.
bjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2023, 18:14   #31532  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
New Release of BD-RB (v0.61.29)

I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest version of BD Rebuilder (v0.61.29). Changes for this release:
Code:
- Corrected an issue in which default AAC
  encoding can fail when using fixed bitrates.
- Fixed an error in which resizing from the
  SETTINGS menu while using NVENCC was not
  working correctly.
- Added the ability to convert BD/DVD
  subtitles to SRT in NVENCCRE.  Note that it
  requires that the program has access to the
  same subfolders as BD-RB.
- Updated MKVEXTRACT.EXE to v7.1.0.  The 
  previous version used had some issues with 
  AAC audio that was created with NVENCC. Can't 
  find any docs for MKVTOOLNIX that explains 
  why -- but the newer version fixed the issue.
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 3rd July 2023 at 18:20.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2023, 08:22   #31533  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 527
Thanks! Much appreciated!
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2023, 18:07   #31534  |  Link
raul124
Registered User
 
raul124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yonkers New York USA
Posts: 63
Thank you,
raul124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 02:43   #31535  |  Link
whatever_gong82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks for the update.
whatever_gong82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 16:12   #31536  |  Link
bjones
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Appreciate the update !
bjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 16:31   #31537  |  Link
bjones
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Added the ability to convert BD/DVD
subtitles to SRT in NVENCCRE. Note that it
requires that the program has access to the
same subfolders as BD-RB.

I think I stumbled on an issue with this. I'm trying to take an .mkv with PGS subs to .mp4 converted to timed text. It appears that the subtitle track gets combined into the chapters section. If I try to carry 2 subtitles over I end up with 2 chapter sections. Same settings except from mkv to mkv results in no subtitles coming over at all. Audio and Video are set at passthrough. The only change to the container I was wanting to make was convert the subs

Thanks if you can give it a look and tell me what I'm doing wrong - bjones
Attached Files
File Type: txt orig_PGS_conversion.txt (6.9 KB, 35 views)
File Type: txt bad_PGS_conversion.txt (7.0 KB, 34 views)
File Type: txt bad_PGS_conversion_2subtitles.txt (8.1 KB, 29 views)
bjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 23:18   #31538  |  Link
DrinkLyeAndDie
Registered User
 
DrinkLyeAndDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest version of BD Rebuilder (v0.61.29). Changes for this release:
Code:
[...]
- Fixed an error in which resizing from the
  SETTINGS menu while using NVENCC was not
  working correctly.
[...]
Thanks for this fix, jdobbs. I had experienced it but was convinced that it was somehow my own fault and never reported it.
DrinkLyeAndDie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2023, 22:11   #31539  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjones View Post
Added the ability to convert BD/DVD
subtitles to SRT in NVENCCRE. Note that it
requires that the program has access to the
same subfolders as BD-RB.

I think I stumbled on an issue with this. I'm trying to take an .mkv with PGS subs to .mp4 converted to timed text. It appears that the subtitle track gets combined into the chapters section. If I try to carry 2 subtitles over I end up with 2 chapter sections. Same settings except from mkv to mkv results in no subtitles coming over at all. Audio and Video are set at passthrough. The only change to the container I was wanting to make was convert the subs

Thanks if you can give it a look and tell me what I'm doing wrong - bjones
I can't even imagine how that could happen???

Are you reencoding, or have to set the program to "Keep Original (Intact)"? If so, could you try it with another setting (H264 or H265)?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2023, 22:32   #31540  |  Link
bjones
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I can't even imagine how that could happen???

Are you reencoding, or have to set the program to "Keep Original (Intact)"? If so, could you try it with another setting (H264 or H265)?
Yes, keep original video and audio both intact, all I was trying to do was convert the subtitles from PGS to SRT just like it happens in alternate outputs with the convert subtitles setting checked in BDRB. Watching the job, nothing reencodes it just shows the audio and video copying over. If you look at the Mediainfo's I posted you'll see those both copy over correctly, it's when it gets to subtitles and chapters it get messed up. I have used both AVC and X265 material, makes no difference since the video portion copies directly over correctly
bjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.