Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th May 2023, 11:28   #31461  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,211
DGDecode will only work if you have a NVidia card, else use LSMASH
.dgi is the indexed file from DGDecode
DotKill >> make sure you are using the correct bitness (32 or 64) [yes I know that bitness is not a real word]
Same with DGSharpen and DGDenoise (which are part of DGDecode)
FRAME SERVER is basically the plug in that supplies each video frame to the encoder for encoding.
Try within BDRB first
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2023, 17:36   #31462  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,211
Code:
It was weird too, sometimes I would try to load a plugin that is indeed in my plugins folder, but when I'd try to run it, I would get an error in the preview saying 'no such plugin' I think I tried it with TComb and Decomb521, but even though I do have the dll's in the plugins folder, they wouldn't run. It happened with a few others I tried too. Some would run and some wouldn't. I wonder why...
That is why I explicitly load all plug-ins
That means I can also save them where I want
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2023, 19:10   #31463  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,992
The poor DVD source is still much better than the totally flawed HD crap, IMHO.
Just IVTC it. See here:
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...ts#post2689126

Last edited by Sharc; 6th May 2023 at 19:15.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2023, 22:39   #31464  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
The poor DVD source is still much better than the totally flawed HD crap, IMHO.
Just IVTC it. See here:
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...ts#post2689126
Heh... Yeah, I was just going to post Sharc's reply on VideoHelp here. I could not believe that the ultra CRAPPY DVD could be made to look that much better! I'll post his reply below, but the li'l bugger got rid of just about all the combing by doing this. I can always play around with the colours/sharpening, etc. later.

Here was his reply:

Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
@Lathe
The DVD variant is telecined, with pattern glitches and/or dropped frames e.g. where the speaker leaves the desk. You may still IVTC the DVD version and continue from there (and trash the flawed HD variant IMHO):

Code:
ffms2("GCDVD.mkv") #or the source filter of your choice
assumeTFF()
TFM().TDecimate() #returns 23.976 progressive video
#... add some denoising etc. of your choice here ....
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2023, 22:41   #31465  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Code:
It was weird too, sometimes I would try to load a plugin that is indeed in my plugins folder, but when I'd try to run it, I would get an error in the preview saying 'no such plugin' I think I tried it with TComb and Decomb521, but even though I do have the dll's in the plugins folder, they wouldn't run. It happened with a few others I tried too. Some would run and some wouldn't. I wonder why...
That is why I explicitly load all plug-ins
That means I can also save them where I want
Yeah, I WAS loading the dll's first, but they still wouldn't run. It could be I think you said that they may be 64 'bitness' instead of 32 which is the version I'm running as per BDRB's requirement.

But, WOW, I couldn't believe that DVD looks SO damn much better now!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2023, 23:23   #31466  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
DGDecode will only work if you have a NVidia card, else use LSMASH
.dgi is the indexed file from DGDecode
DotKill >> make sure you are using the correct bitness (32 or 64) [yes I know that bitness is not a real word]
Same with DGSharpen and DGDenoise (which are part of DGDecode)
FRAME SERVER is basically the plug in that supplies each video frame to the encoder for encoding.
Try within BDRB first
Ah, yeah, I think I began to understand that certain dll's only work if you have others they depend on. Maybe that is why some of these don't load. And no, I don't have an Nvidia card. Since I can do the simpler code with the original DVD, I might try dropping it in BDRB and see what happens

Here is the code I am now using with the original DVD:

DirectShowSource("GC.mkv")
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth\plugins\UnFilter.dll")
assumeTFF()
TFM().TDecimate()
UnFilter(50, 50)


I'm still a little scared to get away from DirectShow, and I believe IIRC that BDRB can only use Avisynth with that. So far, it's not looking too bad! I want to play around with the colours too and get a bit more saturation and perhaps more contrast. I have done that before, it's just been a while and I need to go back and see the settings I used. I'll post a couple of pictures here where I did that with some films. I know some will feel it is overdone, but I liked the way they came out. Just gives it more 'pop', primarily for lower quality films or what I feel where movies were poorly mastered. Don't make fun now, this is just to my 'taste'

***EDIT

BTW, I tried just adding a simple DeNoise() after loading the dll, but again, the preview says that it is missing a library...??? I mean, isn't that just a very basic AVS function? I'm really getting somewhat frustrated as to what dll's will run and which ones won't, GEEZ...
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Lathe; 6th May 2023 at 23:35.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2023, 00:16   #31467  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,211
Try using avsmeter to check your script,
and let us know about the DVD next time
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2023, 00:26   #31468  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
I could not believe that the ultra CRAPPY DVD could be made to look that much better! .... I can always play around with the colours/sharpening, etc. later.
I would even consider to convert that movie to greyscale rather than fiddling with colors.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2023, 15:50   #31469  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
I have a separate script in which I convert the MPEG-2 1080i satellite feeds to H.264 1080p23.976 files.The sat feeds no longer exist, but the captured files that I have do. The following is the AVS script:
Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\DGAVCDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
dgsource("E:\\source.dgi")
assumetff()
telecide(guide=1)
decimate()
I want to try and see if I can use BDRB to re-encode the MPEG-2 file to HEVC while also doing IVTC on the video. My current method of doing my own encoding to H.264 takes many hours since it uses the software x264 encoder.

Unfortunately, the dgindexnv program is needed in order to create the .dgi file. I can get around that by running it before running BDRB, as the .dgi file then be there for BDRB.

The LoadPlugin line is also not necessary as I will have told BDRB to use DGDecodeNV and the path to it is part of the INI file.

I normally extract the video and audio into separate .m2v and .ac3 files.Not sure if the dgindexnv program will work with the mkv file. The manual doesn't list supported source files. I suppose I can create the separate files but tell BDRB about the MKV file, even though the AVS script will use the separate video file and pass that to the encoder.

Now I just need to tell BDRB to use the HEVC encoder and force encode it.

Oh, there is the following BDRB option:
Code:
FIXED_BITRATE=n
where n > 50. 50 what?

All of this may be moot (except the FIXED_BITRATE) if setting the IVTC of 1080i video to on works, as well as getting forced HEVC encoding to work. I'll have to do some testing in a while.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2023, 17:49   #31470  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,211
Code:
Not sure if the dgindexnv program will work with the mkv file
I believe it should
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2023, 22:31   #31471  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Code:
Not sure if the dgindexnv program will work with the mkv file
I believe it should
Thanks. Still need to know what FIXED_BITRATE's units are: > 50 Kbps?
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 00:16   #31472  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,211
FIXED_BITRATE is in Kb/s
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 00:58   #31473  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
FIXED_BITRATE is in Kb/s
Thanks. That info should be in the hidden options file.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 02:42   #31474  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Here are some options that are in the INI file, but not in the HIDDEN options file, so there is no definition. So if anyone knows what these mean, please post. Thanks.
Code:
ENCODER=1
MODE=0
I tried with a short segment of the 1080i MPEG-2 file and it was a bust. No IVTC and it was AVC, not HEVC;
The BDRB INI file contents:
Code:
[Options]
VERSION=0.61.0.28
ENCODER=1
MODE=0
TARGET_SIZE=23500
CUSTOM_TARGET_SIZE=23500
AUTO_BURN=0
AUDIO_TO_KEEP=eng;
SUBS_TO_KEEP=eng;
SD_CONVERT=0
OPEN_GOP=0
RESIZE_1080=0
RESIZE_1440=0
RESIZE_720=0
DEINTERLACE=0
SD_TO_1080=0
IGNORE_3D=0
CONVERT_WIDE=0
DTS_REENCODE=0
AC3_REENCODE=0
AC3_640=1
AC3_192=0
KEEP_HD_AUDIO=1
AUDIO_DRC=0
DECODER=3
AVCHD=1
REMOVE_WORKFILES=0
REMOVE_OUTPUT=0
USE_FILTERS=0
BDMV_CERT_ONLY=0
IVTC_PULLDOWN=1
ASSUME_DVD_PAL=0
FRIMSOURCE=0
COMPLETION_BEEP=0
OUTPUT_SBS=0
NEROAAC=0
SUPTITLE=0
PGSTOSRT=0
AUDIO_TRACK_LIMIT=0
SUBTITLE_TRACK_LIMIT=0
MENU_BACKGROUND=C:\BD_Rebuilder-0.61.28\misc\menuback.jpg
MENU_AUDIO=C:\BD_Rebuilder-0.61.28\tools\blankclip\blank.ac3
IMPORT_THRESHOLD=0
QUICK_PLAY_THRESHOLD=0
MIN_PLAYLIST_MINS=0
MENU_AUTO_BACKGROUND=0
MENU_AUTO_DVDAUDIO=1
MENU_FORCE_QUICK=1
MENU_PLAY_SEQUENTIAL=0
MENU_START_WITH_MENU=1
IMPORT_LIMIT_LANG=0
IMPORT_KEEP_PLAYALL=0
IMPORT_VFR_SCAN=0
FORCE_NOENCODE=0
MENU_FONT=Century Gothic
MENU_FONT_BOLD=1
MENU_FONT_ITALIC=0
MENU_VERTICAL=450
MENU_HORIZONTAL=560
MENU_ACTIVE_COLOR=0xd9ba00
MENU_CUSTOM_COLOR=
MENU_INACTIVE_COLOR=0xd98200
MENU_BACKDROP_OPACITY=0
MENU_ROLLOVER=1
MENU_ITEMS_PAGE=11
ENCODE_QUALITY=2
ONEPASS_ENCODING=0
AUTO_QUALITY=0
IMPORT_VFR_FILM=0
AVSFilter01=selectevery(2,0)
IMPORT_PREPARE_MKV=0
MOVIEONLY_TYPE=28
ALTCRF=23
ALT_TARGET=1024
ALT_CRF_TARGET=1024
ALTMETHOD=0
ALTAUTOCROP=0
NVENC_CAPABLE=1
UHD_CONVERT_ENABLE=1
UHD_V3_MODE=1
FIXED_BITRATE=7000
FORCE_ENCODE=1
[Paths]
WORKING_PATH=E:\BD-REBUILDER\WORK\
SOURCE_PATH=E:\BD-REBUILDER\WORK\IMPORTS\BDRB-TEST-FILE\
DGIndexNV=C:\Program Files (x86)\DGAVCDecNV\DGIndexNV.exe
DGDecNV=C:\Program Files (x86)
\DGAVCDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 02:58   #31475  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
I discovered that IVTC_PULLDOWN was incorrect. I set it to 0 and added IVTC_1080i=1 to the INI.

Well that was worse. At least this time the log said that it was doing IVTC, but immediately failed when starting the reencode.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 03:28   #31476  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Try using avsmeter to check your script,
and let us know about the DVD next time
Will do, thanks Bro!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 03:29   #31477  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
I would even consider to convert that movie to greyscale rather than fiddling with colors.
Interesting idea, hadn't thought of that...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 03:37   #31478  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,095
Oh, just one more thing... How can I get a Denoise filter to work. It won't load and run any kind of Denoise dll's for some odd reason (again, the mystery of why some dll's when loaded run and some don't..) Can anyone suggest a Denoise filter that WILL run in the version of AVS that is present for BDRB? (2.58?) Just for the hell of it, here is a picture of my plugins folder. Maybe someone can tell me why some of them run and some of them are simply not recognized with the error: '***** does not exist'
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Lathe; 8th May 2023 at 03:40.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 03:41   #31479  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Once last try, using my own AVS script. It too failed to reencode. The BDRB AVS script:
Code:
#Created by BD Rebuilder - v0.61.28
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)")
DGSource("E:\BD-REBUILDER\WORK\WORKFILES\VID_00001.DGI", fieldop=0)
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\DGAVCDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
dgsource("E:\\BDRB-test-file.dgi")
assumetff()
telecide(guide=1)
decimate()
ConvertToYV12().AssumeFPS(30000,1001)
A few things wrong. The first LoadPlugin is useless. I think the path in the INI file (shown above) is wrong. No idea how in the past it got split into two lines. Once I fixed that, the reencode no longer fails. I also removed my LoadPlugin and dgsource lines. But, look at the last line: AssumeFPS(30000,1001). That is not good. At that point in time it is now 23.976.

When it finished encoding, the video was indeed no longer 2:3 pulldown. But after the encoding BDRB claimed it failed. It might be related to the fact the video is really 23.976, not 29.97. I pulled the video and audio into VideoReDo and observed that the 2:3 was gone and that it plays a little fast.

So, I need to find out how to get rid of the AssumeFPS(30000,1001) and get it do an HEVC encoding instead of AVC.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2023, 03:53   #31480  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Oh, just one more thing... How can I get a Denoise filter to work. It won't load and run any kind of Denoise dll's for some odd reason (again, the mystery of why some dll's when loaded run and some don't..) Can anyone suggest a Denoise filter that WILL run in the version of AVS that is present for BDRB? (2.58?) Just for the hell of it, here is a picture of my plugins folder. Maybe someone can tell me why some of them run and some of them are simply not recognized with the error: '***** does not exist'
The AVISynth DLL is installed for the whole computer, not just BDRB: C:\Windows\System32. Make sure that the plugins are 32 bit for the 32 bit installed AVISynth. Even though my Win7 is 64 bit, I've installed the 32 bit version. AIUI, the 64 bit version doesn't really gain anything.

Please list a plugin that doesn't load.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.