Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th February 2009, 20:03   #1501  |  Link
Furiousflea
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capsbackup View Post
@ GaPony and MikeyBK,
Thanks to both of you for this advice, as this does seem to be a troublesome backup. I did get it to work with movie only, by manually using TsMuxer on the .x264, .AC3 and .sup files and setting the split function to 4Gb. Interesting that this allows it to work, but not when there is no split. I did notice there is a slight skip at the split point on playback on my Sony BDP-BX1, where it jumps ahead about 3-4 seconds, but this is not that big a deal.
I think you could fix it completely by running the m2ts(s, if split already) through EAC3To. It fixed my "The Pianist" HD DVD that had mastering errors and nothing would touch it until the recent releases of EAC3To were ran on it.

It can't output m2ts files so you won't be able to do a full backup most likely (just mux the output streams with TSmuxer). There is a possibility it could do a full disc backup if you take the corrected streams from EAC3To and dump it in the working folder during encoding at the correct time.

(This is all assuming EAC3To can fix it, which is quite likely but by no means certain)
Furiousflea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 22:07   #1502  |  Link
MikeyBK
Registered User
 
MikeyBK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 285
Not necessarily a bug but possibly important info for some who may encounter the same...

I had disabled VC-1 decoding in FFDSHOW, thus having WMV11 take over... however, when I was trying to playback Nights In Rodanthe, it started stuttering. When I re-enabled VC-1 to libavcodec in FFDSHOW, it played back smoothly again...

This may affect BD-RB trying to reencode this Bluray using WMV11, so just thought I'd get that info out there for others...

EDIT: just to add, this was when just trying to play back the Bluray from my BD drive to my HDTV... this was not the case when ripping, but may be an issue when re-encoding down to BD-9.
__________________
MBK

Last edited by MikeyBK; 20th February 2009 at 22:13.
MikeyBK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 22:09   #1503  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Just an update. I finally found what was causing the occasional (or maybe not so occasional) undersizing (especially on BD-25 and BD-9 full backup encodes) and have fixed it. You should see another update tomorrow. I'm trying to find one more thing before posting.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 22:11   #1504  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyBK View Post
Not necessarily a bug but possibly important info for some who may encounter the same...

I had disabled VC-1 decoding in FFDSHOW, thus having WMV11 take over... however, when I was trying to playback Nights In Rodanthe, it started stuttering. When I re-enabled VC-1 to libavcodec in FFDSHOW, it played back smoothly again...

This may affect BD-RB trying to reencode this Bluray using WMV11, so just thought I'd get that info out there for others...
The stuttering is probably only related to the playback on your computer and very likely wouldn't affect the encode itself.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 22:18   #1505  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binnugsai View Post
Hello jdobbs,

So i give some news as i said you before and thank to be find the prob about errors in the ExtractAudio() and RunTSMuxer() subroutines. Now it will be better but at the end of the encoded i have this kind of error message :


[19:44:49] BD Rebuilder v0.19.04 (beta)
- Source: THE_HOST
- Input BD size: 23,11 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:54:57.119]
- Target BD size: 22,46 GB
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
[19:44:50] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- Extracting audio/subs [VID_00000]
- [19:52:25] Reencoding: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- ERROR in attempt to reencode audio (AFTEN) [AUD_00000__4353.WAV]
[09:03:41] - Failed to reencode audio, aborted


What does that mean ? do you think i have to starting all or can i continu to encoded after this error message !!!

Thabk you for all. I wish to succeed and try my first BD AVCHD.

thanks
Any chance this the source is LPCM 7.1? I don't think AFTEN can handle that... I need to look at changing it to 5.1 in the reencoding.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 22:20   #1506  |  Link
MikeyBK
Registered User
 
MikeyBK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
The stuttering is probably only related to the playback on your computer and very likely wouldn't affect the encode itself.
That's good to know if that is the case, then I guess that's not really an issue for BD-RB.

EDIT: appears that you are right JD... this is more of an issue with Arcsoft TMT, because with VC-1 disabled Windows Media Player 11 played back the Bluray flawlessly.... much smoother than TMT.
just seems odd that TMT did not do well using WMV11 on this particular BD??

Thanks JD...
__________________
MBK

Last edited by MikeyBK; 20th February 2009 at 22:36.
MikeyBK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 23:50   #1507  |  Link
Chefkoch_ico
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserfan View Post
Thanks for telling. My earlier report that libavcodec worked with the VC-1 extras in Mamma Mia was premature--while BD-RB got thru those extras they were all "grey screen" i.e. no video. After all manner of attempts to try libavcodec, WMV9, and Disabled (and I do have WMP11 installed/working), none of these decode interlaced VC-1s on my computer--never mind the x264 crash, Vdub will crash also when running the AVS. So I get "no video", or "crash", or "crash" from the above. Only neuron2's DGVC1IndexNV works (thankfully), and with it I'm converting those extras right now.

One wonders how many of the issues reported here are owing to broken decoding--sorry I've contributed to the "BD-RB Bug Reports" where in fact my system has problems I can't seem to fix...
Hi!

I stay with vc1 decoding in ffdshow. It crashs x264 when decoding is not possible. WMV9/11 often does not, but has corrupted decoding and in this case you never know it unless you check all encoded extras.

So, a crashed one, I do again with DGVC1DecNV.

Btw. a LastCMDs.txt would be fine, where all x264 commandlines are written. This would make reencoding with different decoders easier.

Bye

Last edited by Chefkoch_ico; 20th February 2009 at 23:57.
Chefkoch_ico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 23:57   #1508  |  Link
jangai
Registered User
 
jangai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lille (France)
Posts: 52
Hello : Newbie with BD_RB, I try first to convert a "simple" BDMV structure (1 video 1080 and 1 audio AC3) to "see the process..."

Alas it keeps me sticked at the end of audio extract with same error...
A bug or a bad config ? Here is log :

[23:41:13] BD Rebuilder v0.19.04 (beta)
- Source: CARS
- Input BD size: 7,74 GB
- Approximate total content: [01:56:27.391]
- Target BD size: 4,27 GB
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
[23:41:13] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- Extracting audio/subs [VID_00001]
- [23:43:39] ExtractAudioSubs() 00058 5
[23:43:48] - Failed to retrieve audio, aborted
jangai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 23:59   #1509  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chefkoch_ico View Post
I stay with vc1 decoding in ffdshow. It crashs x264 when decoding is not possible. WMV9/11 often does not, but has corrupted decoding and in this case you never know it unless you check all encoded extras. So, a crashed one, I do again with DGVC1DecNV.
Thanks for that--I thought I was the only one on Planet Earth that was having this problem!

I spent some time last night trying to figure-out why my computer hates 60i VC-1 encodings (some Extras in Mamma Mia) to no avail. I even re-downloaded and re-installed WMP11--no good, either Crash or Corruption. The only magic that works is DGVC1DecNV as you say, which obviously uses the GPU in our Nvidia cards bypassing ffdshow and WMVDECOD.dll altogether.

There are some threads here that discuss VC-1 problems and maybe someone in there can shed some light for me...
laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 00:36   #1510  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,419
I just finished encoding Movie Only BD-9 with Highest, during encoding i checked cmd's and i saw that during first pass b-adapt 2 isn't used but during second pass is used. That is not good because b-adapt have effect only in first pass

btw i saw you changed/added x264 cmd, where these settings come from?

Thanks
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 00:40   #1511  |  Link
Binnugsai
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 26
DTS-HD Master Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Any chance this the source is LPCM 7.1? I don't think AFTEN can handle that... I need to look at changing it to 5.1 in the reencoding.
Yes jdobbs, you're right the audio is DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1.

Thanks i'm waiting because on the movie The Host, french one we have only 2 audio track and alla of them are DTS-HD Master Audio.

See you. have a nice week-end
Binnugsai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 11:46   #1512  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
I just finished encoding Movie Only BD-9 with Highest, during encoding i checked cmd's and i saw that during first pass b-adapt 2 isn't used but during second pass is used. That is not good because b-adapt have effect only in first pass

btw i saw you changed/added x264 cmd, where these settings come from?

Thanks
I'll look at the command lines. They came from a post suggested by Dark Shikari with a couple of changes I made (particular to Blu-ray output) -- I may have left that setting in incorrectly.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 11:47   #1513  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I'll look at the command lines. They came from a post suggested by Dark Shikari with a couple of changes I made (particular to Blu-ray output) -- I may have left that setting in incorrectly.
You should use b-adapt 2 on highest (on the first pass). It definitely helps a good bit on Blu-ray-level grainy sources.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 12:12   #1514  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Yeah, that's how it is set for the "Highest Quality" mode -- but it looks like (for some reason) I also had it in the command line for Pass 2. I just fixed it.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 12:14   #1515  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Yeah, that's how it is set for the "Highest Quality" mode -- but it looks like (for some reason) I also had it in the command line for Pass 2. I just fixed it.
You can have it in the pass 2; it's just redundant.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 12:16   #1516  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Good. Then it hasn't had any negative effect.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 12:36   #1517  |  Link
DIVX2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
jdobbs...
any chance for dts hd 7.1 and lpcm 7.1 ???
tks
DIVX2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 12:40   #1518  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIVX2009 View Post
jdobbs...
any chance for dts hd 7.1 and lpcm 7.1 ???
tks
Sorry, I hate to be rude but that's one too many posts asking that same question (four in this thread alone) -- and I've answered you already. Read forum rules 1a and 8... next time I issue a strike.

I'll get to it when I get to it. It isn't a high priority right now.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 21st February 2009 at 12:48.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 16:43   #1519  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,973
Release v0.19.05 (beta)

I've updated the first post with a new version of BD Rebuilder (v0.19.05). The changes for this release are:
Code:
- Corrected a error in which selecting MKV as the
  intermediate file could result in problems for
  movie-only encodes (missing "track=" in META).
- Made slight adjustments to some sizing settings.
- Corrected the "selected" check when choosing
  BD-25 output.
- Enabled MIN_M2TS_SIZE=nnn as a "hidden" option.
  When set (for a non-MOVIE only encode) and the 
  output size is BD-25, any M2TS files that is
  smaller than this value (in MB) is copied intact 
  to the output.  Useful for retaining certain
  files that can't be reencoded (like VC-1 extras
  with hybrid progressive and interlaced streams) 
  when doing full disc backups.
- Corrected an error in sizing calculations that
  could result in significant undersizing.  This
  is especially pronounced on BD-25 encodes.
- Resolved an issue in which CLPI tables were not
  being correctly fixed when running movie-only
  mode.
- One of the second pass settings incorrectly had
  --b-adapt selected.  Removed.
- Made improvements to processing for BD-25.  Now
  small menu files are automatically excluded from
  reprocessing.
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2009, 20:02   #1520  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,267
@jdobbs

Hi!

Please clarify:
Quote:
- Corrected a error in which selecting MKV as the
intermediate file could result in problems for
movie-only encodes (missing "track=" in META).
Will BR-RB accept as initial input an MKV conversion of a BluRay disc (e.g. created by using "makeMKV" to rip the "movie-only" of a BluRay disc)?
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.