Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
15th July 2020, 09:45 | #21 | Link | |
21 years and counting...
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
|
Quote:
Btw how do you guys handle a video source with dynamic tone mapping? Code:
HDR_Format/String : SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1, HDR10+ Profile A compatible |
|
15th July 2020, 09:57 | #22 | Link |
Registered Developer
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,368
|
Not indicating values is generally better then indicating "wrong" values.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders |
15th July 2020, 11:23 | #23 | Link | |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,804
|
Quote:
I think that x265 treats "0,0" the same way as leaving the value unspecified. At least it won't write the information in the metadata if you use those zeroes.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
|
15th July 2020, 22:11 | #24 | Link | |
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,904
|
Quote:
But it needs to be done correctly. A four frame offset could lead to some quite strange behavior around edits. Also, it only matters if you have or are planning to have a display device that supports HDR10+. The nubmer of which are growing. But if you skip it, you'll still have a normal HDR-10 file with static metadata. |
|
16th July 2020, 10:49 | #25 | Link |
21 years and counting...
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
|
Damn, I was afraid this might be a lot of work.
So basically we need a tool that reads all metadatas from the source file and copies them over to the encoded file. Therefor the encoded file has to have the very same frame structure as the source, I guess? I'll pass on these files for now unless there is some kind of automated tool/solution one day. |
16th July 2020, 12:41 | #26 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,804
|
Isn't quietvoid's tool suited for HDR10+? Or do you mean adding the metadata without re-encoding?
https://github.com/quietvoid/hdr10plus_parser/releases
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
16th July 2020, 13:26 | #28 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,804
|
Then that's the thing for you. Get the parsed metadata and feed it to x265, there's a separate parameter for it.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
18th July 2020, 20:14 | #29 | Link | ||||
QfG Group Germany
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 247
|
Quote:
Do not set Fake entries how 0,0 or something. Quote:
Quote:
No chance to implent HDR10+ metadata after Encoding in a HDR10 bitstream. Quote:
so this tool works only with a NVideo Geforce GTX 1050 and above.
__________________
Last edited by -QfG-; 18th July 2020 at 20:23. |
||||
23rd July 2020, 21:01 | #30 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
Quote:
All my HDR so far has been in P3 (as far as I am aware) so I have been using the proper G(x,y) values but what would happen if I had a video with the BT2020 master display primaries and used G(13250,34500) instead of G(8500,39850), the max-cll is the same in both of these so I am not sure why you point them out other than to say 'makes sure that this is set'? EDIT: err i guess the whole G(x,y)B(x,y)R(x,y)WP(x,y) numbers change, but the question at the end still stands, what if I use the GBRWP values for P3 on a BT2020 source? I figure nothing in a non-hdr monitor but what effect to HDR would this have? Would it be terribly off, or just annoying or completely unwatchable? Thanks for any answers. Also I have been using max-cll=1000,400 but the source files can sometimes be above this like one I current have through mediainfo is Code:
Color primaries : BT.2020 Transfer characteristics : PQ Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant Mastering display color primaries : Display P3 Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0050 cd/m2, max: 4000 cd/m2 Maximum Content Light Level : 5847 cd/m2 Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 1355 cd/m2 Last edited by BobbyBoberton; 23rd July 2020 at 21:19. |
|
25th July 2020, 12:32 | #31 | Link |
QfG Group Germany
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 247
|
Code:
Color primaries : BT.2020 Transfer characteristics : PQ Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant Mastering display color primaries : Display P3 Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0050 cd/m2, max: 4000 cd/m2 Maximum Content Light Level : 5847 cd/m2 Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 1355 cd/m2 Code:
--hdr --output-depth 10 --hdr-opt --max-cll "5847,1355" --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(40000000,50)"
__________________
|
25th July 2020, 18:15 | #32 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
Quote:
EDIT: Also, I forgot to ask about why you didn't address the what if I encode a source with P3 master display primaries when it was originally encoded with BT2020 primaries or vice versa? Would this be barely noticeable, very noticeable, dramatically noticeable or produce an indecipherable picture in HDR mode? Thanks Last edited by BobbyBoberton; 25th July 2020 at 20:08. Reason: forgot a question |
|
25th July 2020, 21:50 | #33 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,429
|
No. You are telling the device what the mastering was, not what it should do when displaying it. You do not change the metadata for your display. The entire reason for metadata is because the file represents colors too bright for your display, you are telling it exactly how bright it represents so your device can figure out the best way to compress it into the range it can actually display.
P3 is very not the same as BT.2020, encoding a BT.2020 source and lying to the display that it is P3 will make it very washed out. The same is true in reverse, P3 content flagged as BT.2020 will be very over saturated. Very noticeable but a decipherable picture.
__________________
madVR options explained |
26th July 2020, 04:31 | #34 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
Quote:
EDIT: Also, due to some sloppy batch controlling I accidently encoded a set of 1080p SDR files as HDR ones. I know that this wont effect playback on SDR device but what effect will this have on an HDR monitor? Will the video look 'wrong' due to that extra HDR data? Also is that "HDR metadata" the "global tags" that are found in MKVtoolNiX? If so can I just strip the global tags from the files without having to re-encode the entire file? This would save me a ton of time if possible. EDIT2: Also this only works for HDR10 static metadata right? As others were discussing above you would need a HDR10+ parser to 'map the dynamic HDR10+ metadata' and then use that file with the appropriate options to intake the HDR10+ metadata (I have seen these options on the x265 options page I just don't remember the specific command off the top of my head). Is that all correct? Thank you! Last edited by BobbyBoberton; 27th July 2020 at 01:19. Reason: another question |
|
27th July 2020, 02:19 | #35 | Link | |||
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,904
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|||
27th July 2020, 04:32 | #36 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
Quote:
Thanks for the answers. |
|
27th July 2020, 06:39 | #37 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
removing HDR data added by mistake
I asked above but it was kind of hidden,
I wasn't paying attention to a batch encode of videos that were 10-bit SDR (BT.709) source and I mistakenly left the HDR settings by mistake so now these "SDR" videos have HDR metadata (HDR10, not HDR10+), is there a way to remove this data without re-encoding the files completely like in MKVToolNiX after I encode a video with HDR it will have "global tags", is this the HDR metadata? Or is there some other way or do I just have to re-encode so that it displays properly on an HDR monitor? Also, to confirm I asked the people over at the handbrake official forums and handbrake IS NOT a 100% 10-bit pipeline/workflow. ALL input is seen as 8-bit SDR even if its 10-bit HDR, it can encode that 8-bit YUV420p stream into a 10-bit YUV420p10le stream but there is no chance of the extra info from the original source making it through, so as others have said, if you are working with 10-bit source material then make sure your entire pipeline/workflow is 10-bit!! Last edited by BobbyBoberton; 27th July 2020 at 19:24. Reason: handbrake info |
28th July 2020, 21:45 | #38 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
Quote:
According to the site it says that it was built to preserve HDR signals, the last question I asked was how to remove HDR from a source that was SDR and had a HDR10 static metadata stuck to it by mistake (not paying attention to the script). If this was in response to the OP then yeah, it may be worth a look for sure. Thanks! |
|
29th July 2020, 01:07 | #39 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
|
|
29th July 2020, 03:52 | #40 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 24
|
I know this is kind of out of the blue but I am trying to get staxrip set up and I don't see where I am going wrong, I set up a template, I import a source, set a destination, set all the variables for x265 and mkv container, the only AVS filter checked is 'source' and that is set to FFVideoSource (DXVA2 accel, but tried without it as well), gets the same error:
Quote:
If I just take that code and run it in CLI I get a similar error saying x265.exe cannot open the input stream so whats going on? it should grab the y4m stream from FFmpeg and then output a .hevc file that is then muxed together by the other utilities in staxrip (probably mkvmerge). Last edited by BobbyBoberton; 29th July 2020 at 04:52. |
|
Tags |
conservation, ffmpeg, hdr, hevc, metadata |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|