Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
22nd November 2024, 20:52 | #9621 | Link | ||
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2024
Posts: 299
|
Quote:
4.0+77 is calculated before the merge of stable to the master, tag is not 4.1 because the tagged commit hasn't been merged to "current branch" where he builds the binary (which probably is master). 4.1+54 is calculated after the merge, tag is correct but the distance is greater than is should be, because release branch and master branch are diverged due to the previously mentioned mistake. Quote:
Last edited by Z2697; 22nd November 2024 at 20:56. |
||
25th November 2024, 11:49 | #9623 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
|
The x265 release 4.1 branch was started slightly earlier, requiring patches to be pushed to both the master and release_4.1 branches. As a result, the commit IDs differed between the two branches. When the release/stable branch was merged into master, the commits were treated as new. Using cherry-pick would have been the better solution.
|
25th November 2024, 13:44 | #9624 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2024
Posts: 299
|
If you cherry-pick the tagged commit, the new commit hash will also be different, the versioniong cmake code (using git describe) probably won't pick the 4.1 tag.
I think that's just how it goes, no better way to do it. Just... don't create release branch too early next time, do it right before the real release. |
2nd December 2024, 11:07 | #9625 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2024
Posts: 1
|
Quote:
Has anyone already tested the efficiency improvements of this feature and the visual implications? Or does anyone know what the command line parameters are? I see that Handbrake has now included x265 version 4.1 but unfortunately no specific changes have been made to the UI (yet). |
|
3rd December 2024, 11:10 | #9626 | Link | |
Lost my old account :(
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 343
|
Quote:
|
|
5th December 2024, 16:22 | #9627 | Link |
Acid fr0g
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,838
|
Has anyone tried --frame-dup with Patman or jpsdr builds?
It doesn't work on my AVX only CPU. I get: Video encoding returned exit code: -1073741819 (0xC0000005) It's unclear what this exit code means, in case it's a Windows system error then it possibly means: # for decimal -1073741819 / hex 0xc0000005 STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION ntstatus.h # The instruction at 0x%p referenced memory at 0x%p. The # memory could not be %s. # as an HRESULT: Severity: FAILURE (1), FACILITY_NULL (0x0), Code 0x5 # for decimal 5 / hex 0x5 ERROR_ACCESS_DENIED winerror.h # Access is denied.
__________________
@turment on Telegram |
5th December 2024, 20:02 | #9629 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2024
Posts: 299
|
Who uses frame-dup anyways?
It's better to give more details such as the whole command line and the "variant" of the build used to produce that error, and the input spec, etc. Last edited by Z2697; 5th December 2024 at 20:13. |
5th December 2024, 20:20 | #9630 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 408
|
The interesting thing is that if x265 can frame dupe, the way it is implemented anyway, one could also encode the picture at 1 bit or below per CU and not make the stream variable framerate, cause problems with certain muxers and rely on a correct decoder implementation of picture timing SEIs.
So a very useful and bit saving feature they have there, if only it worked.
__________________
My github... |
5th December 2024, 20:40 | #9631 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2024
Posts: 299
|
Quote:
The container output is using timestamps support of the container (VFR), while the picture timing SEIs don't contain actual timestamp, but only a flag indicates the corresponding frame should be doubled or tripled, if the decoder is able to support it the decoded video should still be CFR. Even if it's working properly, both encode and decode side, the use case is still extremely limited. Last edited by Z2697; 7th December 2024 at 20:51. |
|
5th December 2024, 21:07 | #9633 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2024
Posts: 299
|
You shouldn't.
To have a better understanding of what this feature means: this feature removes frames based on PSNR thresholding, and signal picture timing SEIs to keep the correct... picture timing... yeah... which no commonly available decoder can recognize. It also requires VBV and HRD. Since no everyday decoder can recognize the timing SEIs the picture timing will be incorrect if any frame(s) are removed. If you don't see any incorrect timing, 1) You didn't notice it. 2) You didn't enable the required VBV and HRD. 3) Your video didn't have any frames above the threshold. Even if it works as it should, the PSNR thresholding is not ideal to begin with, and the bits saved with removing near identical frames are, well, did you know picture timing SEIs cost bits? |
7th December 2024, 23:38 | #9636 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,379
|
That's odd, i'm almost sure i used frame-dup on avs scripts with a moded version, during my first attempts of trying to do x265 encodes, before giving up using it because of all the issues i encountered, reasons Z2697 described.
My guess was it could be because of the multiview add, but it was wrong it seems.
__________________
My github. Last edited by jpsdr; 7th December 2024 at 23:48. |
9th December 2024, 18:21 | #9637 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 241
|
Does anyone know how to use the new --aom-film-grain feature in the latest x265 encoders (I'm using 4.1+54)? I tried it and it fails each time with either .tbl or even .txt for film grain files. Here's the command:
Code:
--crf 18.5 --preset veryslow --output-depth 10 --aom-film-grain grain.tbl Code:
x265 [error]: Failed to open Aom film grain characteristics binary file grain.tbl Last edited by Leo 69; 9th December 2024 at 18:49. |
9th December 2024, 20:57 | #9638 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2024
Posts: 299
|
Quote:
|
|
11th December 2024, 18:32 | #9639 | Link | |
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,904
|
Quote:
Maybe it only works in 2-pass or something? |
|
11th December 2024, 18:35 | #9640 | Link | |
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,904
|
Quote:
The rendering has some challenges with repeated patterns, due to the "drunken walk" nature of selecting a random 32x32 block out of a 64x64 block: pixels near the middle are much more heavily sampled than those near the edge. I so wish computer science degrees required some basic statistics! I work with a lot of engineers who are whizzes at linear algebra, but go blank when I ask "is that statistically significant?" |
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|