Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd August 2022, 17:33   #9501  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,480
than it is doing it incorrectly. if it is chromaloc 0 it should be more centered and it is moved to far to the right.

the x265 information show 1 for chromaloc and for the interlaced information both fields have a 0.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 16:06   #9502  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
huhn
I don't understand what you want to prove to me.
Code:
if (sps->vui.chroma_loc_info_present_flag) {
    if (sps->vui.chroma_sample_loc_type_top_field <= 5)
        avctx->chroma_sample_location = sps->vui.chroma_sample_loc_type_top_field + 1;
}
https://ibb.co/68XjDG1
0 + 1 = 1
Code:
AVCHROMA_LOC_LEFT        = 1, ///< MPEG-2/4 4:2:0, H.264 default for 4:2:0
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 16:45   #9503  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,480
https://x265.readthedocs.io/en/master/cli.html
chromaloc part:
that what each number should mean:
https://www.researchgate.net/profile...equal-to-1.png

media info says it has chromaloc mpeg 2 left which is 0.
chromaloc=1 / chromaloc-top=0 / chromaloc-bottom=0
the x265 information in the file has chromaloc 1 (which is cantered).
the chromaloc-top 0 and chromaloc-bottom 0 means left just as your screenshoot shows.
i can not tell what should be done in a situation like where chromaloc says cantered and the interlaced information say left.

mpcVR says it is using mpeg2 left but the output doesn't match what left would be it is moving to far to the right.

and that's the important part.
madVR chroma left https://abload.de/img/chromasubsamplepositi8vk82.png
mpcVR chroma left https://abload.de/img/chromasubsamplepositiv0jqz.png

sorry it's very technical and my English sucks.

my guess mpcVR moves the chroma to the right by 0.5 before chroma upsampling which results in a 1.0 move.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 17:13   #9504  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
@huhn
Decoders do not look at "Encoding settings". This information may be missing or in a different format.

Decoders look up information in SPS in VUI parameters. It contains the following values:
Code:
chroma_loc_info_present_flag = 1
chroma_sample_loc_type_top_field = 0 (left)
chroma_sample_loc_type_bottom_field = 0 (left)
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 17:15   #9505  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,480
ok then we ignore the chromaloc 1.
and talk about the wrong position in mpcVR which is to far to the right.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 17:39   #9506  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
I do not quite understand where to look and how it should be, but I have the following results:
00922.m2ts_snapshot_D3D11VP.png
00922.m2ts_snapshot_ShadersVP.png
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 17:46   #9507  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,480
i'm an idiot it's nvidia.
i used a different PC with default mpcVR settings where the video processor was used.

you can see it in the screenshoot it's not using the shader.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 18:21   #9508  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
@huhn
You can try build mpcvr_1932_d3d11vp_colorSpace_1. Colors may be distorted on some videos, but chroma location may change on your Nvidia.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2022, 23:11   #9509  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,480
chroma position doesn't change with this build.
https://abload.de/img/nvidia1933rujpz.png

this is a very old bug i just run into by accident.
no DXVA2 or d3d11 VP using software can do this correctly when nvidia is involved.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 00:04   #9510  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Any modern TV has a "PC mode" or something similar option which will make it support full range input.
YCbCr can be also full range and is in fact part of HDMI standard (automatic RGB and YCbCr negotiation) and is supported by LG C9, e.g. no, what PC mode does it removes 444 --> 422 chroma downsampling, which means the display never gets 444 or a lot of combinations of colors (it does not remove colors, only combinations of them, any color is still possible).

Last edited by Balling; 5th August 2022 at 00:06.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 00:07   #9511  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
chroma position doesn't change with this build.
https://abload.de/img/nvidia1933rujpz.png

this is a very old bug i just run into by accident.
no DXVA2 or d3d11 VP using software can do this correctly when nvidia is involved.
Open a bug in open source nvidia driver. There is also that stretchrect function that is buggy.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 01:02   #9512  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
kilis
The brightness range of the TV is configured in the driver settings. Also in the settings of the TV itself there are similar settings.

MPC Video Renderer takes the input range from the source. If no input range is specified, defines it as limited for YUV and full for RGB.
MPC Video Renderer always outputs an RGB image with full output range. Limited range for RGB is nonsense and we won't support it.
In fact you cannot support limited RGB, because it is banned in ffmpeg. Open bug. Good news is that you do not need to support it, nvidia supports it for you. Bad news you cannot do superwhite then. It is certainly not nonsense though, what a nonsense.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 01:13   #9513  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilis View Post
here is screen shot from pc monitor dell single monitor mode.1080p

on the left MPC-BE with EVR-CP limited output range 16-235
on the right MPC-BE with EVR-CP full range output 0-255

https://abload.de/image.php?img=mpcnew1qkjae.jpg

all software decoding.all internal filters.all MPC-BE color corrections not used. nvidia dell output fixed full range.because its standard pc monitor it has to use full rgb.
as you can see again full range output causing white areas to clipped.
and once its clipped not possible to fixed later on.
"because its standard pc monitor it has to use full rgb."

Mmm, what? No, obviously, it can use limited too, what do you think your monitor accepts when you select Limited RGB in Nvidia control Panel? See, there is RGB quantisation negotiation and YCC quantisation negotiaition, either one can be full and limited, though nvidia does not like full YCC and does not support it. Strange, but whatever.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 13:33   #9514  |  Link
kilis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
"because its standard pc monitor it has to use full rgb."

Mmm, what? No, obviously, it can use limited too, what do you think your monitor accepts when you select Limited RGB in Nvidia control Panel? See, there is RGB quantisation negotiation and YCC quantisation negotiaition, either one can be full and limited, though nvidia does not like full YCC and does not support it. Strange, but whatever.
Hi Balling,thanks for the info.
yes i know standard pc monitor only works with full range,and Nvidia control panel doesnt provide option to change that with my dell monitor.

As a person with limited range knowledge i read everyting written
by technical guys like Volt,Huhn and many others and try to make sense from all these by putting them in to practice.i think 90 percent of users here on this forum are similar to myself.

Regarding which video range to use in case with external tv as video playback; limited-full-limited vs full-full-full configuration.i ve read all 106 pages of posts between Aleksoid and Volt in Russian forum and also on this forum last 5 years of writings to understand which method is better.(plus many other forums), i am still experimenting on that.
İ am glad both configuration available by using range shader with MPC-BE with MPC-VR,so user can experiment both of them.

Sample screen shot i send before which is showing white level causiing some problem belong to very extreme video file.now i think in that particular video cameraman didnt care much about the out door sunlight condition because indoor video quality is almost perfect.very extreme case but it was there in external sony tv when i choose full-full-full configuration.

I think most user can live with both configuration.In order to see the difference between these two, external tv must be properly adjusted and also be calibrated.Unfortunately getting reliable calibration service very difficult even in rich countries.

and finally i firmly believe big software and hardware companies making this video playback matter deliberately difficult in order to sell people more products with 30 dollar hardware inside like Nvida Shield and others.
That s why i respect Aleksoid,Volt and other guys like them

Last edited by kilis; 5th August 2022 at 13:41. Reason: added some words
kilis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 16:04   #9515  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilis View Post
Hi Balling
Well, yes, if it does not have Limited RGB option, that means it does not support Limited range RGB, that is checked after EDID from display and EDID from GPU are exchanged though.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2022, 05:41   #9516  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
Information for translators.
You can translate the new text in the installer. Just download custom_messages.iss, translate the settings according to your language and send the new file to me.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2022, 13:12   #9517  |  Link
cmhrky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 129
Isn't it necessary to add the translation of "MPC Video Renderer" too? Because it's translated in MPC-BE.
Code:
"STRING IDS_PPAGE_OUTPUT_MPCVR "MPC Video Renderer"
cmhrky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2022, 17:50   #9518  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmhrky View Post
Isn't it necessary to add the translation of "MPC Video Renderer" too? Because it's translated in MPC-BE
Perhaps it was a mistake.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2022, 05:28   #9519  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 500
What's holding back the Jinc2 experimental in MPC Video Renderer from getting off the 'experimental' title?

As I know, at least for some very well coded 720p to 1080p, Jinc2 looks quite sharp with enough pleasant, of course it's not the case for not so well coded videos.
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2022, 05:37   #9520  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
What's holding back the Jinc2 experimental in MPC Video Renderer from getting off the 'experimental' title?
I already answered earlier. This is not the original Jinc2.

Renamed to "Jinc2m".

Last edited by v0lt; 20th August 2022 at 04:19.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.