Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th October 2021, 04:41   #62121  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
Here I provided (thanks to madshi info) a general explanation of what you are experiencing. You must not aim for perfect 24/1.001, the target refresh rate depends on how much they audio clock is out of sync with video clock.

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=173571
Thank you, and I can confirm it works as you describe.

It turns out my 23.976hz and 50.0hz modes are already well tuned from factory, with Ctrl+J reporting 1 repeat frame every 2-4 hours. So I didn't need to tweak those modes.

However my 59.94hz mode is reporting 1 dropped frame every 3 minutes with 59.94fps video, so I need to speed up the refresh rate a bit.

This is where I ran into trouble as it seems the AMD driver or monitor only allows me tuning +/-0.003hz, otherwise it just falls back to the default timing. So the most I could achieve was 59.943hz which reports 1 repeat frame every 1.5 hours. Not great, but tolerable.

Curiously, the value first starts out at 1 repeat every 10 minutes, then gradually starts climbing until after ~2 minutes of playback it starts reporting 1-2 hours. But then sometimes it goes back down again to around 30 minutes for no apparent reason. All the while the display rate remains consistent, so I'm guessing it's the audio or system clock that is fluctuating.

I'm sure I could improve this if the driver/monitor allowed more than +/-0.003hz tuning, however I think it may be limited to this narrow range as it's a HDMI mode (1080p YCbCr 4:4:4) and maybe HDMI has strict timing requirements?
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2021, 17:51   #62122  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you have 16 lanes of PCIe 3.0 an intel iGPU from 2013 doesn't not even close to it.
I doubt that in the case of the iGPU, the quality and number of PCIe lanes matters. The iGPU is connected to the CPU using Infinity Fabric (AMD) or the Ring Bus (Intel). In both cases, the bandwidth of such a connection will be much larger than that of an external PCIe. And the DRAM bandwidth will be the bottleneck.
__________________
R3 3200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 21H1 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD last driver
MPC-HC 1.9.16 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 8bit@59Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2021, 23:32   #62123  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
This is where I ran into trouble as it seems the AMD driver or monitor only allows me tuning +/-0.003hz, otherwise it just falls back to the default timing. So the most I could achieve was 59.943hz which reports 1 repeat frame every 1.5 hours. Not great, but tolerable.
This is why in the guide I use CRU. To have more control on those things... although I've been an Nvidia user for a very long time, don't know how AMD works with it.

I am glad you found the guide at least somehow useful. I should rewrite it but I never find the time.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 FE - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2021, 02:14   #62124  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
This is why in the guide I use CRU. To have more control on those things... although I've been an Nvidia user for a very long time, don't know how AMD works with it.
I am using CRU. So if I go further than +/-0.003hz in CRU, the actual display rate -- as reported in Ctrl+J and Radeon Settings -- just falls back to the default 59.940hz timing.

I suspect it's because the HDMI 1080p mode I'm using isn't a "PC mode" but rather a "TV mode", and perhaps TV mode rates are more strictly standardised by HDMI spec.

I am limited to "TV mode" HDMI signal as otherwise my TV thinks it's a "PC mode" and disables a lot of picture controls and uses different processing which I don't like. edit: and I'm pretty sure the TV's 24hz mode wouldn't work either unless it's the specific TV mode HDMI 1080p24hz signal.

Last edited by flossy_cake; 20th October 2021 at 02:34.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2021, 09:29   #62125  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,184
don't use the HZ to fine tune use the image "size".
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2021, 13:30   #62126  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
There appears to be a serious bug related to the "composition rate" used by MadVR, which can cause intense frame rate stuttering in many scenarios.

The issue appears that "composition rate" gets stuck at the rate used by the previously played file.
So the workaround I'm using which seems to be effective, is to set MadVR to D3D9, which then allows desktop compositor to be auto disabled.

So now when I double click a video file, MPC-HC opens it automatically in full screen, in MadVR exclusive mode, with desktop compositor disabled.

Then after exiting the video, MadVR reinstates desktop compositor, and compositor appears to be running at full frame rate, thus bypassing the compositor bug.

The relevant MadVR settings are in rendering > general settings:

- tick: enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode
- tick: disable desktop composition
- untick: use Direct3D 11 for presentation

For convenience I'm also setting rendering > exclusive mode > untick delay switch to exclusive mode by 3 seconds.

In theory this configuration should be compatible with Kodi, but I haven't tested it yet.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2021, 22:07   #62127  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 550
Quote:
Originally Posted by flossy_cake View Post
I am using CRU. So if I go further than +/-0.003hz in CRU, the actual display rate -- as reported in Ctrl+J and Radeon Settings -- just falls back to the default 59.940hz timing.

I suspect it's because the HDMI 1080p mode I'm using isn't a "PC mode" but rather a "TV mode", and perhaps TV mode rates are more strictly standardised by HDMI spec.

I am limited to "TV mode" HDMI signal as otherwise my TV thinks it's a "PC mode" and disables a lot of picture controls and uses different processing which I don't like. edit: and I'm pretty sure the TV's 24hz mode wouldn't work either unless it's the specific TV mode HDMI 1080p24hz signal.
I've found this useful, can't promise the same for you, but have a look: https://www.extron.com/product/videotools.aspx

You can select both PC (VESA) timings and HDMI (SMTPE) timings. If you use the advanced tab, you have all the details and work it out from there.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 FE - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2021, 19:40   #62128  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
madVR can`t switch the display modes.
--------------------
madVR 141
Win 11 22000.258
NVIDIA ForceWare 496.13 DCH

================
There are no problems with switching modes on another configuration:
Win 10 19043.1200
NVIDIA ForceWare 472.12 Standart
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 03:50   #62129  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,325
It works for me.

madVR v0.92.17
Win 11 22000.282
NVIDIA 496.13 DCH
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 04:38   #62130  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
it`s strange...
maybe cos of .282 ?
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 05:04   #62131  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,325
Check for updates? I did get an update yesterday.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 05:16   #62132  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
I will update next week (as I guess) and post result here.
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 14:56   #62133  |  Link
Rippner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by zveroboy View Post
madVR can`t switch the display modes.
--------------------
madVR 141
Win 11 22000.258
NVIDIA ForceWare 496.13 DCH
same problem! also, no hdr switch
madVR v0.92.17
Win 11 22000.282
NVIDIA 496.13 DCH
Rippner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 14:56   #62134  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 550
Envy starting to get interesting feature absent from madVR. The 1D Lut thing is something I'd be happy to pay for madshi in order for it to be added to madVR, if you'll ever read this.
__________________
LG 77C1 - Windows 10 Pro 21H1 - Kodi DSPlayer (LAV Filters, xySubFilter, madVR, Reclock) - GTX 3070 FE - Ryzen 3 1200 - 16GB RAM
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 20:12   #62135  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
same problem! also, no hdr switch
madVR v0.92.17
Win 11 22000.282
NVIDIA 496.13 DCH
is the StartAllBack installed?
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2021, 23:26   #62136  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippner View Post
same problem!
I meant switching the refresh rates (23Hz, 24Hz, 50Hz, 59Hz, 60Hz).
We're talking about the same thing, I hope?
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2021, 00:49   #62137  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,325
I meant refresh rates as well.

But HDR switching does work for me too, as long as I make the video fullscreen.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2021, 00:58   #62138  |  Link
Rippner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by zveroboy View Post
is the StartAllBack installed?
nope
Quote:
Originally Posted by zveroboy View Post
I meant switching the refresh rates (23Hz, 24Hz, 50Hz, 59Hz, 60Hz).
We're talking about the same thing, I hope?
yes refresh rate
Rippner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2021, 01:46   #62139  |  Link
zveroboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Asmodian
Rippner

2-monitors config (extended display mode) ?
zveroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2021, 03:00   #62140  |  Link
Rippner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by zveroboy View Post
Asmodian
Rippner

2-monitors config (extended display mode) ?
show only on 1
I use my aoc 24 for daily use and lg cx for movies
Rippner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.