Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
![]() |
#7601 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,846
|
If somebody is looking for vpy code:
https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/blob..._input_vpy.cpp https://github.com/FFmpeg/FFmpeg/blo.../vapoursynth.c
__________________
https://github.com/stax76/software-list https://www.youtube.com/@stax76/playlists Last edited by stax76; 11th May 2020 at 23:26. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7602 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,846
|
Maybe I build a chunk encoding console app as it seems to be relatively simple and nobody else seems to be interested in building it. Are there any special x265 settings needed? x264 has a --stitchable option. How does ripbot264 do it? vspipe and avs2pipemod allow defining start and end frame. Are two chunks enough?
__________________
https://github.com/stax76/software-list https://www.youtube.com/@stax76/playlists |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7603 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 63
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7604 | Link |
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 7,175
|
x265 3.3+27-g4780a8d99 (multilib, GCC 10.1)
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7605 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,846
|
Thanks, so --chunk-start and --chunk-end, would be helpful if somebody can share experience with it. How many extra frames are needed? I'll use vspipe and avs2pipemod for trimming, modifying the avs/vpy file has too many implications.
__________________
https://github.com/stax76/software-list https://www.youtube.com/@stax76/playlists |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7606 | Link | |
Moderator
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,955
|
Quote:
The compute overhead is proportional to chunk duration, so is much less of an issue with 10 minute chunks than 30 second chunks. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7607 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
|
I noticed something about the crf value. One step to the next number is around 4000-5000 kbits bitrate.
So for example I have a clip with 27 Mbit/s and I want to lower the bitrate, I need to lower the crf one step. If I want to get the bitrate around 17 Mbit/s, I need to do 2 steps. Can somebody confirm that? |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7608 | Link | |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,812
|
Quote:
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7609 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 344
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7610 | Link |
Derek Prestegard IRL
![]() Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,998
|
Well, that's not accurate. If you're generally ok with the quality + bitrate from a given crf with a given preset, and one particular piece of content ends up too big, you can always just increase CRF.
Capped CRF is reasonable too. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7611 | Link | |
Software Developer
![]() Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,257
|
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊ |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7613 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,846
|
Sorry to post here again, I've added this chunk encoding feature to staxrip, available in the last beta. It turned out everything needed was already in place so it could be finished in four hours.
Documented here: https://staxrip.readthedocs.io/usage...lel-processing RipBot264 and Media Coder support it too.
__________________
https://github.com/stax76/software-list https://www.youtube.com/@stax76/playlists |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7614 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 344
|
Quote:
thank you. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7615 | Link |
SuperVirus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,445
|
x265.exe 3.3+32-516a579
Code:
Store histogram of Y, U, V and Y's edge in analysis file. Enables the library to compute Y Histogram and store Histogram of Y, U, V Channel and Y's Edge in analysis file at all reuse levels when --hist-scenecut is enabled. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7616 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 492
|
x265 v3.3+31-g431a22e82 (32 & 64-bit 8/10/12bit Multilib Windows Binaries) (GCC 10.1.0)
Code:
https://bitbucket.org/multicoreware/x265_git/commits/branch/master Last edited by Barough; 22nd May 2020 at 15:35. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7618 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,812
|
Perhaps a silly question, but something I've wondered ever since MakeMKV was able to add Dolby Vision to Matroska files. If at some point mkvmerge can handle the DV layer in a similar way, would it be possible to re-encode the actual video to a lower bitrate and combine the two (provided that mkvmerge supports such action)? Rescaling would definitely be out of question, but some light denoising should not do much, since it's the same with HDR.
The reason I'm asking this is that I have a small 2.5" HDD next to my TV, which I've been using to playback DV on the TV player since Kodi doesn't support DV. The HDD is only 500GB in size so re-encoding could effectively double the amount of movies I could store there.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7619 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 575
|
The specs do mention the 1080p enhancement layer always comes with a 2160p base layer.
It is also something I have been wondering, you could easily test it by using yusesope's tool and merging the metadata into a reencoded HEVC file. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7620 | Link | |
Moderator
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,955
|
Quote:
That said, almost all new DoVi content for several years uses a non-backwards compatible (NBC) base layer without an enhancement layer. This provides more efficient encoding and lower complexity decode/tone mapping. x265 can encode the NBC base layer just fine, although I'd use --preset slower at a minimum, and the DoVi-specific encoding tweaks. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|