Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th January 2022, 06:28   #101  |  Link
StvG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 292
Thanks.
StvG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2022, 19:22   #102  |  Link
ErazorTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
I'm having a lut which when using ffmpeg produces the expected behaviour, but when using the cube function returns unexpected things.
The following image shows the result, on the right part there are these waves which are unexpected, and are also not there using ffmpeg.


However when using ffmpeg I'm getting this:


Here are all files I am using:
hlg_test.7z

The command for ffmpeg is:
ffmpeg -i GreyRamp16bits.png -vf lut3d=lut_4000_3.0.cube -pix_fmt rgb48be GreyRamp16bits_converted.png

What is going on here, why the different results?
ErazorTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2022, 19:54   #103  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,427
@ErazorTT

Does DGCube have the same problem? https://www.rationalqm.us/board/view...p=16092#p16092
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2022, 19:56   #104  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,979
For reference, avs version , vpy version that it's based on , and Adobe get similar results

The difference is the default interpolation type for ffmpeg (tetrahedral) . Trilinear , pyramid, prism all produce the pattern to an extent

eg.
ffmpeg -i GreyRamp16bits.png -vf lut3d=lut_4000_3.0.cube:interp=trilinear -pix_fmt rgb48be GreyRamp16bits_converted_trilinear.png

Last edited by poisondeathray; 7th August 2022 at 20:00.
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2022, 11:50   #105  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reel.Deel View Post
Does DGCube have the same problem?
Is it working for you? What card? Drivers?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2022, 14:54   #106  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Is it working for you? What card? Drivers?
No, I am also getting access violation. I have not updated my drivers in a while so I was going to do that and see if it fixes the issue.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2022, 16:38   #107  |  Link
ErazorTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
For reference, avs version , vpy version that it's based on , and Adobe get similar results

The difference is the default interpolation type for ffmpeg (tetrahedral) . Trilinear , pyramid, prism all produce the pattern to an extent

eg.
ffmpeg -i GreyRamp16bits.png -vf lut3d=lut_4000_3.0.cube:interp=trilinear -pix_fmt rgb48be GreyRamp16bits_converted_trilinear.png
Oh that is a nice finding! So its the interpolation. Could this better interpolation be implemented into vscube (or DGCube for that matter)?

Last edited by ErazorTT; 8th August 2022 at 16:50.
ErazorTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2022, 16:50   #108  |  Link
ErazorTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reel.Deel View Post
@ErazorTT

Does DGCube have the same problem? https://www.rationalqm.us/board/view...p=16092#p16092
I just found that DGCube needs 65x65x65 sized LUTs, so I tried again with one of that size. And yes, DGCube behaves that same as vscube.
ErazorTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2022, 17:46   #109  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErazorTT View Post
Could this better interpolation be implemented into vscube (or DGCube for that matter)?
It's debatable if a certain interpolation is going to be "better" for all situations;

But having more options is always welcome

You can try submitting a feature request
https://github.com/sekrit-twc/timecube/issues
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2022, 18:11   #110  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reel.Deel View Post
No, I am also getting access violation.
Generic size version has just been released.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:07   #111  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,176
Quote:
Here is a new version supporting tetrahedral interpolation. It addresses ErazorTT's issue, as the artifacts do not occur with tetrahedral. Please read the new DGCube.txt file for details and be aware that the filter is now invoked as DGCube(). I'll add this to the timecube-derived Cube() filter as well. Also need to add Vapoursynth support to DGCube().
https://rationalqm.us/misc/DGCube.zip
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3dl, cube, hdr, lut, sdr

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.