Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th July 2018, 08:00   #51661  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 646
@Asmodian Sorry - thought you meant the native res of the PNG. The JVC x7500 takes a native 4K signal but it uses e-shift to display a 4K image (native 3xDILA 1080p Panels). Anyway with UHD RGB I can see both 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 but 4:4:4 is darker. The tint also changes between 8 and 12 bit with 12 Bit looking Pinker and 8 Bit looking Red.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 08:03   #51662  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 646
Thanks Manni. Will take try this advice now and report back.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 08:31   #51663  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Thanks Manni. Will take try this advice now and report back.
Make sure you use DDU in safe mode and select clean installation before installing 385.28. You want every trace of the newer driver to be removed.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 08:41   #51664  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 646
Yup done that (DDU in safe mode) and it is looking good using what you just posted (just running a UHD BD now to check the frame repeats). The only stuff that I guess will not work is titles like Billy Lynn (UHD @ 60p with HRD). I've read the JVC Calibration thread and got the Spyder5 Ultra ready to go now that the basic config seems to be working well - Thanks for the clear post all in one place

Edit - and resetup and test BD - 3D

Last edited by jmone; 7th July 2018 at 08:48.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 08:51   #51665  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
@Asmodian Sorry - thought you meant the native res of the PNG. The JVC x7500 takes a native 4K signal but it uses e-shift to display a 4K image (native 3xDILA 1080p Panels). Anyway with UHD RGB I can see both 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 but 4:4:4 is darker. The tint also changes between 8 and 12 bit with 12 Bit looking Pinker and 8 Bit looking Red.
you have to use the image at it's native resolution and the projector too.

try the sharpness settings out like said before. seeing both is a clear indicator of subsampling and most likely sharpening


looks like newer ones use 1080p native not 1960x2160 native so they have to shift more to get to the same result but if done correctly it is the same as a native UHD image just less bright.
the sub sampling test should work at 1080p too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 09:11   #51666  |  Link
jmone
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 646
Thanks Huhn but I think Manni's setup has me sorted!

Last edited by jmone; 7th July 2018 at 13:27.
jmone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 13:43   #51667  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 44
If i have a rec709 lut in the rec709 slot along with pass HDR through to display checked (full HDR compatible video chain) will madVR ignore the lut when playing 4k HDR? I only want the lut active when I am actually watching rec709 content and not when watching 4K HDR.
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 14:41   #51668  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,097
The OSD will indicate if and which 3DLUT is being used, easy enough for you to confirm.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 15:07   #51669  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
The OSD will indicate if and which 3DLUT is being used, easy enough for you to confirm.
Yea i noticed it does show the rec709 LUT in the OSD when playing HDR so i guess i need to change the config when i watch HDR.
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 17:17   #51670  |  Link
Slysoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Hey guys. I've noticed a problem with my madvr setup and I was hoping someone had some insight for me.

I have a 144hz monitor and while using madvr and xysubfilter I was getting dropped frames the first time subtitles were displayed. It always happened at the exact moment the first subtitle was shown and never happened afterwards, nor did it happen if I rewound to the beginning and watched the same scene again.

I changed my refresh rate to 60hz and the problem went away, so I assume this has something to do with that. I also tested at 120hz and I did not notice a problem. Now I'm not sure if this is actually a madvr problem or an xysubfilter problem seeing as it only occurs with subtitles and also doesn't happen if I switch to the internal subtitle renderer in mpc-hc.

I also don't get this problem if I playback with mpv, but obviously that doesn't support madvr.

Thanks for the help.
Slysoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 18:08   #51671  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,013
showing subtitle the first times add the hole process and it looks like all buffered frames have to be re rendered. dropping frames in this case it pretty "normal".

thsi should only affact aasfilter mod and xy subfilter.

i can't remember it but i'm pretty sure i brought this up a couple of years ago.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 18:32   #51672  |  Link
Slysoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
showing subtitle the first times add the hole process and it looks like all buffered frames have to be re rendered. dropping frames in this case it pretty "normal".

thsi should only affact aasfilter mod and xy subfilter.

i can't remember it but i'm pretty sure i brought this up a couple of years ago.
Yeah that makes sense, but it is weird to me that I don't drop frames at all unless I'm running at 144hz.
Slysoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 18:39   #51673  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,013
at 60 you have about 16 ms to fix it at 144 hz you have less than 8 ms.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 19:01   #51674  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post
Yea i noticed it does show the rec709 LUT in the OSD when playing HDR so i guess i need to change the config when i watch HDR.
There is an OSD bug that shows the SDR 3DLUT being used even with using HDR passthrough, but the 3DLUT is not actually being used (a test 3DLUT that should change the image a lot does not show any effect). The SDR 3DLUTs are only active for HDR content when madVR first converts HDR to SDR by either method.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 7th July 2018 at 19:03.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 19:19   #51675  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,013
just use control+shift+alt+3 to test it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 19:52   #51676  |  Link
waldnebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ancient Germanic Forest
Posts: 13
I came across something strange while letting madVR upscale a cute little 240p movie to 4k resolution. Please have a look at the following output:

Quote:
luma -> NGU Sharp (very high) 4x -> Jinc AR
As I understand it the NGU sharp algorithm is applied 4 times and on the third round my little 240p movie should have a height above 2160 pixels. At this point downscaling is quite an interesting part. Why in the name of this planet is Jinc afterwards applied and no downscaling? I think I'm a little bit too stupid to get it.

EDIT: I have also a second question. Isn't it possible to apply pixel shaders while using D3D11 copy-back decoding? mpc-hc says it can't use pre or post resize pixel shaders and I simply don't know why.

Last edited by waldnebel; 7th July 2018 at 19:56.
waldnebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 21:09   #51677  |  Link
thighhighs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldnebel View Post
I came across something strange while letting madVR upscale a cute little 240p movie to 4k resolution. Please have a look at the following output:

luma -> NGU Sharp (very high) 4x -> Jinc AR

As I understand it the NGU sharp algorithm is applied 4 times and on the third round my little 240p movie should have a height above 2160 pixels. At this point downscaling is quite an interesting part. Why in the name of this planet is Jinc afterwards applied and no downscaling? I think I'm a little bit too stupid to get it.
Here direct quadrupling: 240p x 4 = 960p. Jinc used for additional upscaling to target resolution.
Im not sure about ngu upscaling abilities after quadrupling step. Anyway quality is bad, because source resolution low and scaling factor big.
thighhighs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 22:03   #51678  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 800
I've tested NGU on "Ultra Low Definition" material, e.g. 360p YouTube, and it's just too weird, the picture looks like a watercolour painting.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 466.27
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 22:08   #51679  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmone View Post
Yup done that (DDU in safe mode) and it is looking good using what you just posted (just running a UHD BD now to check the frame repeats). The only stuff that I guess will not work is titles like Billy Lynn (UHD @ 60p with HRD). I've read the JVC Calibration thread and got the Spyder5 Ultra ready to go now that the basic config seems to be working well - Thanks for the clear post all in one place

Edit - and resetup and test BD - 3D
It will work fine for Billy Lynn if you disable HDR metadata with 4K60p content, otherwise you will get the magenta bug with the JVC. You also want to tell MadVR that dithering is 8bits, not 10bits in that case. I use profiles to do this automatically.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2018, 22:20   #51680  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
There is an OSD bug that shows the SDR 3DLUT being used even with using HDR passthrough, but the 3DLUT is not actually being used (a test 3DLUT that should change the image a lot does not show any effect). The SDR 3DLUTs are only active for HDR content when madVR first converts HDR to SDR by either method.
Thank you!
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.