Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st July 2018, 11:07   #51901  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 259
All these things are available if people Google..

https://wiki.mikejung.biz/MadVR

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1709584

and all other threads...


Like all FAQs and Guides, they are only as good as the Version they were written for, and with Windows 10 issues, Driver issues as these get updated, and indeed new options in madVR, you can't really blame people coming to an "active" thread.

I was guilty of it myself, yes I read the FAQs, but when they are x amount of Revs behind, or the settings that were supposed to be the best were not even in the Guide, you do want to try and get what is the best settings that people have found for the latest Rev.

The HDR to SDR is never really explained anywhere, well it is in the excellent 2nd Guide, but with the variations and the issues we know about now and only a finite few seem to know how it works, and that was Revs ago, so unless someone who understands it can make a new guide (and keep it updated), there will always be questions, especially if someone has a C7 or a C8 etc...

Last edited by madjock; 31st July 2018 at 11:23. Reason: spelling
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2018, 14:52   #51902  |  Link
giulianoprs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 39
Hello, I am a "foreign" user, I write from Italy, the forum is very useful, the best for madvr, there are no others like that !!!! however, put yourself in the shoes of a user who uses for the first time madvr, I in Italy could not find a forum with explanations valid to understand the fining here, with the help of google translator with 5/6 messages and thanks to users kind and prepared I understood many things, in the future maybe come back to ask for advice on HDR, when I buy a new 4k tv, for now thanks forum, thanks madshi and users like asmodian and warner306 that always give good recommend all !!! Hello everyone and good evening .
giulianoprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2018, 16:14   #51903  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by madjock View Post
To be honest this whole thread seems to be pointless now.

As some of us are aware there is a thread in the AVS forum with a group working with test builds and Projectors.

For me personally, it now looks a little clique who are obsessed about certain frames of certain films and it seems to be stuck in a loop.
A final build was provided, so development just reached an end point. It didn't stall. I posted in that thread and didn't receive much of a response, but I wasn't offended. There is no limit to who can post there. I'm sure other topics will become relevant in the future in this thread after tone mapping is complete.

If you want to talk about alternative topics in here in the meantime, make a feature suggestion and others will likely discuss it.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2018, 18:12   #51904  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
I actually learned a lot from this thread and I just recently started participating asking questions and I hope in the feature I could be of any help.

I'm very thankful for the patience people like Asmodian and Warner have with my questions.
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2018, 19:13   #51905  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 664
IMO, madVR deserve a forum, not a thread in order to avoid repeating same thing. I hoped Madshi would create a subforum on his website or he would have his own subforum here or somewhere else, but despite soon-to-be 10 years, it does not look like it will happen. GL with those having patience to repeat themselves.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 09:13   #51906  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 62
Hi,

I saw many here claiming that nvidia improved 23.976 timimg on latest drivers, is it only true for hd resolution? because here i'm on 2160p and still getting 23.97520 with 1 frame drop/repeat every 4min.
I could fix that by using custom resolution but then i loose 12bit output.
Hope madshi can get intouch with his nvidia contact to fix this long standing silly bugs, or maybe we should be in attack at nvidia forum?
__________________
ZOTAC MAGNUS EN1060K: Win 10 x64 + Kodi DSPlayer x64
LG OLED65C8 / Denon AVR-X3200W / KEF E305+ONKYO SKH-410 / Synology DS2415+ / Logitech Harmony 950
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 09:27   #51907  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,577
Before fix was 23.970
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 09:31   #51908  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 259
@sat4all

They have done a fix of sorts, I think you will also find the custom resolution will not be 23.976 dead, the composition should be as this Nvidia fix is. For the multiple clocks to be synched there will be a deviation.

Some have had success, but I Bitstream and had at best 12 mins, unsure if others don't, there was one post saying they had 12 mins and did not see a frame drop either, and they ignore the OSD.

I am too OCD with the OSD, so rolled back to an older one myself.

Last edited by madjock; 1st August 2018 at 09:34.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 10:27   #51909  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by sat4all View Post
I could fix that by using custom resolution but then i loose 12bit output.
Same situation here but you dom't have to loose 12bits.
Do this: get CRU custom resolution utility.
Write down the front and back porch that madvr is using along with sync width.

Open cru, in detailed resolution add 3840x2160 23.000 with the information provided by madvr.
Click ok.
Press up so 3840x2160 23 will be right under 3840x2160 60.
Click ok
Use restart 64 or 32 depending on your system.

After the restart you will see 3840x2160 under PC resolution.

First under hd resolution, set 3840x2160 23 RGB Full dynamic range and 12bits for 23hz.
The custom resolution will be named 24hz.
Change it.
And now go to pc resolution and change to 3840x2160 24hz.

And that's what I did here to have custom timing and 12bits.
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 15:56   #51910  |  Link
sat4all
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
Same situation here but you dom't have to loose 12bits.
Do this: get CRU custom resolution utility.
Write down the front and back porch that madvr is using along with sync width.

Open cru, in detailed resolution add 3840x2160 23.000 with the information provided by madvr.
Click ok.
Press up so 3840x2160 23 will be right under 3840x2160 60.
Click ok
Use restart 64 or 32 depending on your system.

After the restart you will see 3840x2160 under PC resolution.

First under hd resolution, set 3840x2160 23 RGB Full dynamic range and 12bits for 23hz.
The custom resolution will be named 24hz.
Change it.
And now go to pc resolution and change to 3840x2160 24hz.

And that's what I did here to have custom timing and 12bits.
Thanks, i will give it a try.
Edit: Thanks again, it worked.
__________________
ZOTAC MAGNUS EN1060K: Win 10 x64 + Kodi DSPlayer x64
LG OLED65C8 / Denon AVR-X3200W / KEF E305+ONKYO SKH-410 / Synology DS2415+ / Logitech Harmony 950

Last edited by sat4all; 1st August 2018 at 19:00.
sat4all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 22:11   #51911  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
Do this: get CRU custom resolution utility.
Careful with this. I use it myself. I'm able to create custom resolution for 1080p23 with CRU, named 23.976Hz. But nVidia see a 23,976Hz resolution and so use its own timings for this frequency (the new 23,976 which results in frame repeat every 11-12 minutes). So despite custom resolution in CRU, nVidia ignores EDID and choose by itself the timing.
If you really want a custom resolution, you are stuck with nVidia unstable custom resolution tool.
But YMMV with this awkward behaviour.
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2018, 23:57   #51912  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirlouy View Post
Careful with this. I use it myself. I'm able to create custom resolution for 1080p23 with CRU, named 23.976Hz.
Do you actually type 23.976 in the refresh rate section? Because I don't see any place to name resolutions on CRU.

And I stand by the method, the results I get are identical to Madvr custom timings without using CRU.

The only problem I have here is that some custom timings made by madvr which are claimed by the software as "no dropped frames expected" still give me 1 frame drop repeated per 4 or 6 hours or something.
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 00:48   #51913  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,229
Did you watch it for an infinite amount of time? You need to let madVR measure for an infinite amount of time and let it run for an infinite amount of time, at least to have the predictions be perfect.

4-6 hours is very good but if you let madVR measure for an entire movie the predictions do get a better.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 12:06   #51914  |  Link
veggav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
4-6 hours is very good but if you let madVR measure for an entire movie the predictions do get a better.
Not yet, but I have watched very long movies and I'm trying to watch The Sopranos in it's entirely. So, a lot of content.

But I'm back with version 0.9.04 because of Jriver UHD BD subtitles situation, so I'm also stuck with this version not measuring anymore.

I think I'll update to 0.9.14 for the weekend while using MPC-HC and have it to measure again my display.
Actually, is it possible to have two installations of Madvr on the same pc?
veggav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 12:37   #51915  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Did you watch it for an infinite amount of time?
I wish madshi had an infinite amount of time, I want more advanced upscalers and post processing options xD
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 14:29   #51916  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
The issue of FSE on MPC-HC is not fixed yet in 398.82!
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 14:49   #51917  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,097
FSE has practically been discontinued in Windows 10. Its being emulated by the OS instead of being "real". It would be best to just give it up in favor of Independent/Direct Flip modes.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 14:52   #51918  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,257
i'm super happy with the current version of MADVR, anything added at this point is just gravy, just hoping AMD can fix my two main driver bugs, blown reds on all 23,976 SDR material and HDR toggle no longer triggering from MADVR, on AMD drivers after 18.3.4 - I have workarounds though, everything else works a treat.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 17:53   #51919  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
foozoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
FSE has practically been discontinued in Windows 10. Its being emulated by the OS instead of being "real". It would be best to just give it up in favor of Independent/Direct Flip modes.
WTF! People are still using FSE in 2018! Yes, it's time to evolve a bit.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2018, 19:27   #51920  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 296
Probably be rather difficult to use 3D frame packed without FSE no? HDR as well, no? Without FSE enabled in madVR, the mode doesn't switch for me.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 21H1 960-4GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI 20 MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3,5 & 6 PotPlayer
82" Q90R Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.