Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st July 2022, 16:34   #1  |  Link
bilbo50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Outside Chicago IL
Posts: 1
Forcing "No-Reencode" of Video in BDR

Greetings, all!

Please, I am wondering if someone could detail a foolproof way to -FORCE- BD Rebuilder to -NOT- re-encode a supposedly Blu-Ray compliant video stream (which is imported as a video file [File-->Import-->Video File])?

My AV video files are compliant enough to create 1.78:1 or 4:3 AR NON-reencoded AVCHDs using multiAVCHD (or 1.85:1, I just accept the 3.8% horizontal "squeeze" of AVCHD to 1.78:1 video). Of course, AVCHD will not help with widescreen or 1.66:1 (or, technically, with 1.85:1) AR videos.

In testing BDR, I've tried:

1) In the BDR install directory, in the file "BDREBUILDER.INI", I've inserted the parm "FORCE_NOENCODE=1" as line 5.

2) At the same time, I've also tried BOTH keeping other video encoding parms below that one, AND deleting them from "BDREBUILDER.INI":
[line 3] ENCODER=0
ENCODE_QUALITY=2
ONEPASS_ENCODING=2
AUTO_QUALITY=0
PRIORITY_CLASS=0

3) I've also tried taking the Input BD size from the log, multiplying it by 1024, and plugging the result into the parm "Custom Target Size" at the bottom of the Setup dialogue panel (before starting up the backup again, from scratch):
"- Input BD size: 4.10 GB"
4.10 x 1024 = 4198.4
"Custom Target Size:" 4198 "Megabytes"

THE BOTTOM LINE:
The parm "FORCE_NOENCODE=1" is accepted by BDR, and it emits the message "- FORCE_NOENCODE: May violate standards". HOWEVER, RBR announces it is "Reencoding video"--and it appears to me that it is really reencoding, since it indicates an ETA of about 89 min. for a 93 min. video (for x264 1-pass VBR encoding, at "Default"["Slow"?] quality).

Help! Am I doing one or more stupid things, or is non-reencoding imported MKVs/MP4s just not possible with current versions of BDR? --Or is this significant processing time normal, and I am I just not waiting long enough through the process?

Many thanks in advance!
bilbo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:27   #2  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,160
"supposedly compliant", but BD-RD finds a reason to reencode, so... mediainfo of your source please.
BD-RB log please.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bd rebulder, bdr

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.