Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th June 2020, 23:54   #29441  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Women. They just don't understand geek economics, do they?
Careful, you never know who is reading
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 01:34   #29442  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 550
Since force_noencode & quicker encode don't seem to work together, no matter what I fiddle with, is it possible to override the 15000 Kbs max bitrate cap for discs sized under 25GB?
I'm manually re-encoding the extras to a DVD5 and because it's under 25 minutes of content, all the extras are hitting the cap and the disc is undersized.

Edit: Would this work (and is it right)?
TWEAK_PASS_ONE=--vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000
TWEAK_PASS_TWO=--vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000

Last edited by DoctorM; 12th June 2020 at 02:01.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 06:01   #29443  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Careful, you never know who is reading
Good point. I apologize if I insulted any female geeks.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 13:54   #29444  |  Link
LowDead
Elit Amans
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Since force_noencode & quicker encode don't seem to work together, no matter what I fiddle with, is it possible to override the 15000 Kbs max bitrate cap for discs sized under 25GB?
I'm manually re-encoding the extras to a DVD5 and because it's under 25 minutes of content, all the extras are hitting the cap and the disc is undersized.

Edit: Would this work (and is it right)?
TWEAK_PASS_ONE=--vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000
TWEAK_PASS_TWO=--vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000
If you go above 15000 Kbs and play on standalone it will most likely stutter. And with 25 minutes of content and the disc resulting in undersizing it probably means the encoder max out the quality anyway so you get the best it can do with these settings.

//LD

Edit: Sorry I misunderstood the first time... Ofcourse the final disc have the movie+extras, and you want to have more bitrat added to the movie? isnt it better to apply the extra bitrate to the extras if the movie already looks good? too avoid any compability issues? It will be fitted to a BD25 in the end so the DVD5 caps doesn't need to be applied.

Last edited by LowDead; 12th June 2020 at 14:01. Reason: reread DoctorMs original post and understood it...
LowDead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 15:19   #29445  |  Link
laserfan
Aging Video Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Off the Map
Posts: 2,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Oh GEEZ...

Sorry guys, but I am like 3 frigg'n MONTHS behind checking this thread, my humble and lowly apologies. My poor ol' PC finally passed on to the Great Beyond and I had to build another one. The good news is that since it has been over 8 years since my last one, this new one now, although I'm sure no where NEAR some of your guys' cutting edge systems, is a HELL of a lot faster and better
Thanks for posting your tale. In my case its been over FOUR YEARS since my video PC has worked! Loaded with drives of course, and since we moved houses/locations the mobo has refused to come alive. This used to happen when I'd leave it for months in the summer, and it would sometimes balk when re-firing the thing for winter, but now it remains quiet.

I have dreaded the work associated with building a new PC but maybe your experience will inspire me! In the Fall!
laserfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 15:23   #29446  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
@AmigaFuture - If your source recordings are mpeg2, you might want to try running mpeg2repair on them first.

And a question: Is "Quicker Encode for Extras" supposed to still work even if "force_noencode" is set to 1? Someone gave that advice once as a way to leave the movie untouched and encode the extras to fit the remaining space. It doesn't work for me. All video is left un-re-encoded. (I did make sure not to use x264's LAVF because that can't 1-pass.)
See your own post at https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1678011
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 16:45   #29447  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Since force_noencode & quicker encode don't seem to work together, no matter what I fiddle with, is it possible to override the 15000 Kbs max bitrate cap for discs sized under 25GB?
I'm manually re-encoding the extras to a DVD5 and because it's under 25 minutes of content, all the extras are hitting the cap and the disc is undersized.

Edit: Would this work (and is it right)?
TWEAK_PASS_ONE=--vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000
TWEAK_PASS_TWO=--vbv-bufsize 30000 --vbv-maxrate 40000
The max is based on the maximum transfer rate for a DVD. Trying to increase it will just cause stutter or other issues during playback.

Those tweaks won't work. There are some settings that BD-RB won't allow you to change (to prevent self-inflicted issues).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 12th June 2020 at 16:47.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 17:03   #29448  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 550
I know what I was doing. It's just that gonca mentioned there was an easier method a while back, and as far as doing separate processing and manually rebuilding the disc, jdobbs did mention he was planning to add a hidden opt. to allow removal the VBV restriction from the pass tweaks. He did add a maxbitrate option for UHD.

My post is 6 years old, musiclover, and 6 years later, neither of these alternatives work, it still has to be done manually.

I tried gonca's method only once back when he originally posted it and I didn't aggressively try adjusting options to see if I could make it work until this week. I don't know if the original intent WAS for that method to work or not, but many updates to BDRB later, I didn't know what to expect.

I'd just like to see the ability to right-click a stream and select 'don't encode'. So maybe someone doesn't want to re-encode the movie like me, or someone else might not want to re-encode a specific bonus feature that's they lover or is already bitrate starved.
It sounds useful to me.

Edit: Again, to be clear, this isn't an attack on anyone. It's just I haven't worked with BD-RB in a while and I'm trying to understand what changes have been made in that time.

Last edited by DoctorM; 12th June 2020 at 17:25.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 19:18   #29449  |  Link
vanille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
CorrectEPData() 00006 2008

hello. i've tried to shrink the BD which i recorded again and again.
but everytime this error message is displayed and i have no choice
but to abort the process.
"BD Rebuilder experienced an error 2008 correctEPData() 00006 2008"
i tried the latest and some old versions on Windows 7(32bit) and Windows 10(64bit).
but i always got the same error message.
could you tell me what i need to do to solve this problem please?

----------------------
[06/06/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[03:21:59] Source: GONZOU
- Input BD size: 25.96 GB
- Approximate total content: [07:36:56.756]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: High Quality (Default), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[03:22:00] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [03:22:00] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [03:22:00] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [03:24:39] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1440x1080
- Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 821,653 frames
- [03:24:39] Performing CRF Prediction...
- Analyzing 17.90 [17.95]
- [03:26:25] Encoding using constant rate factor.
- [05:46:28] Video Encode complete
- [05:46:28] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (und): Keeping original audio
- [05:46:28] Multiplexing M2TS
- [05:49:09] CorrectEPData() 00006 2008
[05:51:51]PHASE ONE aborted by user request

----------------------
[06/09/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[14:34:59] Source: BD
- Input BD size: 23.82 GB
- Approximate total content: [07:06:25.192]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: High Quality (Default), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[14:34:59] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [14:34:59] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [14:34:59] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [14:42:46] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1440x1080
- Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 766,761 frames
- [14:42:46] Performing CRF Prediction...
- Analyzing 17.60 19.50 20.15 [20.15]
- [14:47:50] Encoding using constant rate factor.
- [16:57:44] Video Encode complete
- [16:57:44] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (und): Keeping original audio
- [16:57:44] Multiplexing M2TS
- [17:00:40] CorrectEPData() 00006 2008
[17:53:55]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
vanille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 19:56   #29450  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
@Lathe - Are you using your SSD while encoding? It might wear it out faster, but a spinning platter drive could be a limiting factor. Also, what are you using to decode? On my previous system (FX-8350) I got a 10% bump in performance using x264's internal LAVF versus my vid card. The reason is the internal LAVF is the only way to take advantage of a 64-bit pipe in BD RB. I have to assume a Ryzen 5 would be even better.

@AmigaFuture - Oh, God. I'm glad someone else said it. I'm running two drives with two OS's right now that I swap between. I'm TRYING to ease myself into Win10 and I hate it. It's ugly, bloated and clunky. It'll take forever to root out all the M$ crap and tweak it to function smoothly like Win7.
Those are some valid points to what I was considering. I'll check Ryzen 5 some..

Oh, Enki, indeed! I do tech stuff for family & others & 10 is not a joy. I don't "hate" but the "Blleech!" is very strong. I've installed it on my system, multiple OS installs..as you, but there isn't any way I'm going to say "Okay." to it. The GUI is my stopper. It's made for Keyboard commandos (not the PEOPLE THAT TYPE LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME). My Son at Intel really doesn't enjoy it either, and he's very much keyboard commando (as little mouse use as possible).

I've heard they've finally removed a lot of bloat. Okay, well, the make it "Look cool again." so I'm not going any time soon. Besides, you're not able to pick updates; like Windows 7. Make a product and then treat customers as products - bad business idea. "Epic Fail!" as the buzz-word jargon says.

Anyway, very interested to know more about how well Ryzen does with BD-RB. I'm think the cores and threads will help a lot. I'd probably not use my GPU as much then, with LAVF handling better. Hmm... I have a couple Samsung SSDs and they're not operating at near full speeds with this ASUS motherboard. So, I'm thinking that'll really be helpful with BD-RB. I don't get into heavy gaming, but sometimes it's fun. Nothing like the "gamers" of today though...many other things to do than sit for 5 to 8+ hours playing video games. Yikes, haha! So a good mix... Hmm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Good point. I apologize if I insulted any female geeks.
I'm sure the lowly wretch, Lathe, wasn't offended.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 12th June 2020 at 20:03.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 21:18   #29451  |  Link
vanille
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 6
CorrectEPData() 00006 2008

hello. i've tried to shrink the BD which i recorded again and again.
but everytime this error message is displayed and i have no choice
but to abort the process.
"BD Rebuilder experienced an error 2008 correctEPData() 00006 2008"
i tried the latest and some old versions on Windows 7(32bit) and Windows 10(64bit).
but i always got the same error message.
could you tell me what i need to do to solve this problem please?

----------------------
[06/06/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[03:21:59] Source: GONZOU
- Input BD size: 25.96 GB
- Approximate total content: [07:36:56.756]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: High Quality (Default), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[03:22:00] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [03:22:00] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [03:22:00] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [03:24:39] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1440x1080
- Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 821,653 frames
- [03:24:39] Performing CRF Prediction...
- Analyzing 17.90 [17.95]
- [03:26:25] Encoding using constant rate factor.
- [05:46:28] Video Encode complete
- [05:46:28] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (und): Keeping original audio
- [05:46:28] Multiplexing M2TS
- [05:49:09] CorrectEPData() 00006 2008
[05:51:51]PHASE ONE aborted by user request

----------------------
[06/09/20] BD Rebuilder v0.61.05
[14:34:59] Source: BD
- Input BD size: 23.82 GB
- Approximate total content: [07:06:25.192]
- Target BD size: 22.95 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- Quality: High Quality (Default), CRF
- Decoding/Frame serving: DirectShow
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[14:34:59] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [14:34:59] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [14:34:59] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [14:42:46] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1440x1080
- Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 766,761 frames
- [14:42:46] Performing CRF Prediction...
- Analyzing 17.60 19.50 20.15 [20.15]
- [14:47:50] Encoding using constant rate factor.
- [16:57:44] Video Encode complete
- [16:57:44] Processing audio tracks
- Track 4352 (und): Keeping original audio
- [16:57:44] Multiplexing M2TS
- [17:00:40] CorrectEPData() 00006 2008
[17:53:55]PHASE ONE aborted by user request
vanille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2020, 22:22   #29452  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
I know what I was doing. It's just that gonca mentioned there was an easier method a while back, and as far as doing separate processing and manually rebuilding the disc, jdobbs did mention he was planning to add a hidden opt. to allow removal the VBV restriction from the pass tweaks. He did add a maxbitrate option for UHD.

My post is 6 years old, musiclover, and 6 years later, neither of these alternatives work, it still has to be done manually.

I tried gonca's method only once back when he originally posted it and I didn't aggressively try adjusting options to see if I could make it work until this week. I don't know if the original intent WAS for that method to work or not, but many updates to BDRB later, I didn't know what to expect.

I'd just like to see the ability to right-click a stream and select 'don't encode'. So maybe someone doesn't want to re-encode the movie like me, or someone else might not want to re-encode a specific bonus feature that's they lover or is already bitrate starved.
It sounds useful to me.

Edit: Again, to be clear, this isn't an attack on anyone. It's just I haven't worked with BD-RB in a while and I'm trying to understand what changes have been made in that time.
It has been a while, so I am not sure if I meant to use both options together or FORCE_NOENCODE=1 to first strip out unwanted stuff and then Quick Encode extras on the result.
OR one or the other, been a long time
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2020, 18:01   #29453  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 885
Update about 720p 59.94 videos.. I've been able to use HandBrake to convert the Secret of Skinwalker Ranch episodes to 23.96 without any filters being used. Just change it to constant framerate and force 23.97 vs 29.97, Pass AC-3 through.. When done making MKV, use MKVToolNix GUI and add SRT (and remove Substation if you don't clear subtitles)...then import into BD-RB and tsMuxer doesn't change anything. Playback of all videos and subs are smooth as can be from sources. Since there isn't an ability, yet, for BD-RB to change framerate this way, none that will complete anyway.. I thought it was a bug with BD-RB, but it's TsMuxer doing it as I downloaded newer and older versions of that to make singe BDs of each episode.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2020, 23:39   #29454  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
I've decided I'm going to buy an NVIDIA card that supports encoding so I can include NVENC support in BD-RB. I'm thinking about a GTX 1660 because it supports B-FRAMES in HEVC encoding and is in the $200~ price range. I was wondering if anyone had experience with this or other cards and could make some recommendations. Any estimates on encoding speeds for AVC and HEVC (including UHD) would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 17th June 2020 at 23:41.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2020, 02:32   #29455  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've decided I'm going to buy an NVIDIA card that supports encoding so I can include NVENC support in BD-RB. I'm thinking about a GTX 1660 because it supports B-FRAMES in HEVC encoding and is in the $200~ price range. I was wondering if anyone had experience with this or other cards and could make some recommendations. Any estimates on encoding speeds for AVC and HEVC (including UHD) would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
While not a 1660, I have an EVGA 1660ti https://www.evga.com/products/produc...06G-P4-1267-KR

It works. Using it with FAB, set as “cuda” it is way faster than “software” mode. (When converting a Blu-ray ripped to Hard drive can be converted MKV with Fab & Cuda with CRF20 in about 15 minutes vs BD-RB as Alt-movie only CRF20 in about 45-50 min). And it’s faster than using the intel u630 with my i7-8700k.

I haven’t done UHD to MKV in a while.

Over the next few days I can run some tests and comparisons if you help me understand what would be the best way.
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2020, 03:36   #29456  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,017
Why are you dealing with 720p when 1080p23.976 is available? Especially why are you just converting the frame rate instead of doing a true IVTC? With BDRB, you can pass an AVIsynth script to do the IVTC. Me, I prefer 1080p. But that is me.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2020, 06:23   #29457  |  Link
BuddTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
... and electric power is so cheap
My two "extra" pc's are Dell SFF and SSFF (small and extra small) so they really don't use a lot of electricity, except for the i7.
BuddTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2020, 22:49   #29458  |  Link
Mike-uk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Dorset
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
I've decided I'm going to buy an NVIDIA card that supports encoding so I can include NVENC support in BD-RB. I'm thinking about a GTX 1660 because it supports B-FRAMES in HEVC encoding and is in the $200~ price range. I was wondering if anyone had experience with this or other cards and could make some recommendations. Any estimates on encoding speeds for AVC and HEVC (including UHD) would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
Thats realy nice of you, mayby post a link to your donations page and im sure you will not have to bare the full cost of a new card

i have a RTX 2070 super, if you need any tests done just ask and ill try and do them
Mike-uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2020, 01:40   #29459  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike-uk View Post
Thats realy nice of you, mayby post a link to your donations page and im sure you will not have to bare the full cost of a new card

i have a RTX 2070 super, if you need any tests done just ask and ill try and do them
Went to Amazon and not a single GTX 1660 (of several they sell) is in stock. Looking elsewhere.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2020, 02:21   #29460  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
AmigaFuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Why are you dealing with 720p when 1080p23.976 is available? Especially why are you just converting the frame rate instead of doing a true IVTC? With BDRB, you can pass an AVIsynth script to do the IVTC. Me, I prefer 1080p. But that is me.
Because BD-RB doesn't reencode the 720p 59.94 to 1080p 23.976. Each attempt, combination I've used always aborts in the attempt. IVTC produces (in WORKFILES) a 720p 59.97/29.97 video stream that's too fast. 2-passes are aborted on 1st pass. If I use CBR it finishes, but this relies on tsMuxeR not altering the video from Import.

HandBrake won't upscale past 720p. I also don't know a script to use to force it to work. BD-RB's upscale aborts immediately after starting.

I don't have a script for the AVS Filter in BD-RB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Went to Amazon and not a single GTX 1660 (of several they sell) is in stock. Looking elsewhere.
Try https://www.amazon.com/MSI-GeForce-G...2529742&sr=8-2 then Available from these sellers. I see a lot listed.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 19th June 2020 at 03:14.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.