Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
8th July 2021, 20:54 | #41 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 78
|
Quote:
Is there any tangible progress going in that area? As in, is there any reason to expect that any of the existing tools will start supporting 7.1/5.2.1 by the end of this year? Hope an expert will chime in to give a quick status update. |
|
9th July 2021, 09:47 | #44 | Link | |
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,047
|
Quote:
To emulate a 2D surround over a point is enough 3 speakers, like humans have 2 ears it is better 4 speakers in the 4 corners. For what do you need 7 speakers? If you need more quality 2D use better bitrate, if you need more power buy a new AVR/speakers 5.1 with more power. It is enough a 4.1 but we can respect the standards. [EDIT] If you have already a AVR 7.1 you can use qaac AAC like junh1024 say. I tested it with my AVR 5.2.1, configured like 7.1, and work fine. Of course you need a player (PC or standalone) than send PCM 7.1 to the AVR by HDMI.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder. Last edited by tebasuna51; 9th July 2021 at 10:09. Reason: add info |
|
10th July 2021, 12:48 | #45 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
|
Quote:
|
|
13th July 2021, 12:45 | #47 | Link | |
Broadcast Encoder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 3,019
|
Quote:
That's what everyone uses professionally and it can take a DAMF as input and encode it to like E-AC3 5.1.4 Atmos etc. For people it's gonna be good 'cause it encodes directly to what the end-user should receive. Of course it's less good for broadcasters 'cause we're better off with Dolby ED2 as mezzanine and then encode in consumer-tier codecs, but still, for your scenario it's what you're looking for, but of course it's not free, just like literally everything Dolby has ever made eheheheheh |
|
9th August 2021, 15:59 | #48 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 7
|
Quote:
Looking more into this... I looked at the transcoder console as it started transcoding TrueHD to eac3 7.1 and found the FFmpeg commands it used to do this. It uses a decoder for TrueHD called "truehd_eae", and an encoder for EAC3 7.1 called "eac3_eae", "eae" being EasyAudioEncoder. I couldn't find reference to this *coder anywhere, but Plex is using it on the fly to convert TrueHD to EAC3 7.1 (streaming Atmos with full 7.1 channels, not Blu-ray 5.1 with some others). The command output is packaged into a TS stream (for streaming to the Plex player), but it wouldn't be hard to alter the FFmpeg command to output to a file instead of a TS stream. Next step for anyone interested would be to figure out how to use those tools locally on command line outside of Plex. The tools are installed when installing Plex, and are there, it's just a matter of mimicking the manner in which Plex calls EasyAudioEncoder, and passing the Plex Transcoder (FFmpeg) the right options. Plex itself recommends using its transcoder from time to time on the command line. Link, see "Use the Plex Transcoder". Last edited by ymgenesis; 9th August 2021 at 16:12. |
|
13th August 2021, 02:47 | #49 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 7
|
Seeing as the title of this thread is "Looking for a eac3 7.1 encoder", I figure this is on-topic:
Building on my idea above, I wrote a UNIX/macOS only bash script that manages various audio conversions in MKVs using FFmpeg/FFprobe and EasyAudioEncoder (TrueHD 7.1/DTS MA 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 encoding included). It requires some resource gathering from your Plex installation on your machine to the script’s folder, but once setup its fairly powerful and straight forward. Script and instructions are macOS only, though with some tweaking of the script, and a little exploration of your Plex installation, you could probably configure it on Linux. Requires up-to-date Plex Media Server, FFmpeg, and FFprobe (as of writing). https://github.com/ymgenesis/AudioTool Last edited by ymgenesis; 13th August 2021 at 15:05. |
13th August 2021, 07:06 | #50 | Link | |
Derek Prestegard IRL
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,992
|
Quote:
I'd actually never even heard of ED2! So what, it's backwards compatible with good old Dolby E so you can route it over SDI / AES (8 channels per pair)? How does that work if you're carrying immersive audio that might have dozens of overlapping objects? Wouldn't you need a variable number of SDI/AES pairs? Also, yuck compressed audio!
__________________
These are all my personal statements, not those of my employer :) |
|
26th August 2021, 08:41 | #51 | Link | |
Grumpy Old Man.
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Out There....
Posts: 692
|
Quote:
__________________
Not poorly done, just doin' it my way !!! Live every day like it's your last, because one day, it will be !! (M$B) |
|
8th September 2021, 01:24 | #54 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Sea of Doubts
Posts: 28
|
Quote:
Is it the same thing? |
|
16th September 2021, 09:24 | #55 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 552
|
Quote:
|
|
17th September 2021, 14:52 | #56 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 4
|
The ffmpeg in the transcoder is old, and it doesn't decode dtshdma 7.1 . After testing of it's decoding and looking at the resulting audio, its only decoding 5.1 DTS core. This also means when plex thinks its transcoding DTSHDMA -> AAC 7.1, its actually taking 5.1 DTS and upmixing it to 7.1 (probably just copying the side channels to rear). Modern ffmpeg does decode DTSHDMA correctly, so to maintain all channels we can decode 7.1 dtshdma to FLAC or similar lossless with modern ffmpeg, then input the FLAC to Plex transcoder/eae to encode 7.1 EAC3.
eae doesn't seem to respect the bitrate you set with ffmpeg args, it'll always encode at 1024kbps. I'm looking into it too. I've also written a windows equivalent in powershell (that accepts args) and has an accompanying batchfile with drag and drop functionality. It only works with audio: drop in audio and get out eac3 7.1. that's all I'd use it for, I'd use modern ffmpeg for any other operation. There's no need to pass the transcoder ffmpeg video related information, can just do simple audio conversion. truehd_eae seemed to decode and produce the same file that modern ffmpeg decodes with its truehd codec, so no issue there. The only useful thing here imo is eac3_eae. After I polish up this powershell implementation i'll look into hooking it nicely into Staxrip or something for ease of use. Last edited by Lollaskates; 17th September 2021 at 17:53. |
1st October 2021, 02:49 | #57 | Link | ||
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 7
|
Quote:
Quote:
Very cool! |
||
1st October 2021, 08:56 | #58 | Link | |
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,047
|
I can't understand, upmix 5.1 to 7.1?
Any AVR 7.1 do so on the fly without need a previous upmix wasting time and space. Quote:
With 640 Kb/s is already 'transparent' for many speakers and ears. BTW I can help to do a GUI if there are a free eac3 (for windows) encoder with 7.1 support.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder. Last edited by tebasuna51; 1st October 2021 at 09:13. |
|
3rd October 2021, 15:30 | #59 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 7
|
Quote:
I guess EasyAudioEncoder is technically free, but it is packaged and licensed to Plex Media Server and its users. It requires a license file that comes with the installation. So while not exactly a paid tool, it is still licensed. Also, I paid for PlexPass, so I'm not 100% sure if its available to free users. Maybe someone can confirm this. |
|
3rd October 2021, 18:55 | #60 | Link |
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,047
|
About your post in plex forum:
- The -filter_complex' '[0:a:0] aresample=async=1cl='\''7.1''\'':rematrix_maxval=60.000000dBsr=48000[0]' '-map' '[0]' do absolutly nothing over the TrueHD decoded audio because is already 7.1 and 48 KHz. Don't exist resample or rematrix. [- I can't know if there are fluctuations but in your sample the EAC3 7.1 is -15 dB less volume than TrueHD or EAC3 5.1 track. The sample have high volume but without clip and a encoder with this behaviour is usseless to transcode audio tracks.] - The ffmpeg eac3 track is limited to 5.1 but do a aceptable recode with the same volume than the TrueHD. EDIT: I was wrong in the second point. The problem is the DRC data included in the EAC3 stream, the 3 tracks in your MKV play at same level if the player don't apply the Dynamic Range Compression. Decoded the track with the ffmpeg parameter -drc_scale 0 output the full audio volume. Code:
File: C:\tmp\Bsid12.eac3 Size: 1302528 bytes ----------------------------------------- First Frame Info StrmTyp .....................: 0 (0=Ind, 1=Dep, 2=AC3) SubStreamID .................: 0 FrameSize....................: 2292 bytes (573 Kb/s) SampleRate ..................: 0 (48000 Hz) NumBlksCod ..................: 3 (6 Blocks) Audio coding mode (acmod) ...: 7 (3/2 - L, C, R, SL, SR) Low frequency effects channel: 1 (Present) Version (bsid) ..............: 12 (Other sintax) Dialogue normalization ......: -31 dB Dynamic Range gain ..........: -0.27 dB Mixing metadata .............: 0 (Not exist) Informational metadata ......: 0 (Not exist) Additional Bsi ..............: 0 (Not exist) ----------------------------------------- Revised EAC3 Info Dyn. Range min/max : -18.06/3.34 dB Frames Tot/Ind/AC3.: 636 / 318 / 0 Bitrate average... : 1024 Kb/s Duration ..........: 10176 ms (0 h. 0 m. 10.176 s.) ------------------------------------------------- End Info Then the problem in the PLEX forum is solved configuring the player to don't apply DRC (like is always recommended, use 'Night mode' or similar in the AVR)
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder. Last edited by tebasuna51; 4th October 2021 at 03:30. |
Tags |
eac3 |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|