Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th December 2023, 12:05   #4801  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Please note, that since v2.29.0 for x265 an AVX2 build is included. If you want a generic build or one, that is even more challenging for your CPU, visit @Patman86 's Releases and simply replace x265.exe.
What should I get for my CPU for best fast results?

11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-11900K @ 3.50GHz
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2023, 12:07   #4802  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by hevron View Post
Version 2.30 - It's still unstable, I'll test it further.
What does that mean? In what way, what happens? I have not installed it yet and want to wait if it's too serious.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2023, 14:28   #4803  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,595
i9-11900K can use AVX512, so you may use
https://github.com/Patman86/x265-Mod...12-msvc1937.7z
plus an extended commandline for that occasion, IIRC --asm avx512
Worked nicely here.
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...14#post1976814
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...05#post1982805
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 20th December 2023 at 14:39.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2023, 20:34   #4804  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 769
Thank you. I will try it and do 2 tests with AVX2 and AVX512 and report here.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2024, 11:41   #4805  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 318
Version 2.31.0 is released.
https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/releases/tag/v2.31.0
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2024, 23:34   #4806  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 769
So I did several tests. I don't need to download a separate x265. x265 capable of AVX512 is already included in StaxRip.

for a short 4K HDR test
Without AVX512 - 5.21 fps
With--- AVX512 - 5.82 fps

Last edited by Atlantis; 1st January 2024 at 23:37.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2024, 14:06   #4807  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,595
Yes. I just saw that with 2.31 (actually much earlier), AVX512 option became tickable now.
Beautiful, many thanks, Dendraspis & Patman86 !
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 2nd January 2024 at 14:22.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2024, 20:04   #4808  |  Link
chipxtreme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 47
So I use a pre-set for re-encoding x265 with NVEnc which I've used for a long time now. Seems decent(ish) quality and very fast.

Since v2.30 my Target box is missing options to Adjust Size in MB or Video Bitrate so having to stay on 2.29 for now.

Unless there's something i'm missing?
chipxtreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2024, 21:13   #4809  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 335
Can you add InpaintDelogo plugin:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176860
Thank you.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2024, 23:47   #4810  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,595
You would just feed a script calling Inpaint DeLogo.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2024, 09:46   #4811  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 335
I tried but StaxRip has it's own plugins folder different from the system Avisynth one.
InpaintDelogo line which works when using system Avisynth didn't work in StaxRip.
I would need to put all InpaintDelogo plugins into StaxRip plugins folder but I've only recently started using it so I'm not sure how to do it.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2024, 17:14   #4812  |  Link
nakTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 415
Hi good day.

I'm running the latest version of Staxrip (v2.31.0) using SVT-AV1.

It appear the encoding would fail if I use any other preset other than the default (10). Please help.

Thank you in advance.


Below is the "detail error message":

Code:
Error Video encoding (v2.31.0)

Video encoding returned exit code: -1073741795 (0xC000001D)


--------------------------- Video encoding ---------------------------

SvtAv1EncApp 1.8.0-1+3-43997134-[Mod-by-Patman]-x64-msvc1938

"C:\Soft Mix\StaxRip 2.31.0\Apps\Support\avs2pipemod\avs2pipemod64.exe" -dll="C:\Soft Mix\StaxRip 2.31.0\Apps\FrameServer\AviSynth\AviSynth.dll" -y4mp "C:\Users\KAI\Desktop\Mix\Video Encoding Samples\300 HD Short_temp\300 HD Short_new.avs" | "C:\Soft Mix\StaxRip 2.31.0\Apps\Encoders\SvtAv1EncApp\SvtAv1EncApp.exe" --input - --width 1280 --height 528 --output "C:\Users\KAI\Desktop\Mix\Video Encoding Samples\300 HD Short_temp\300 HD Short_new_out.ivf" --frames 181 --rc 0 --progress 2 --preset 9

Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
Svt[info]: SVT [version]:	SVT-AV1 Encoder Lib v1.8.0-1+3-43997134 [Mod by Patman]
Svt[info]: SVT [build]  :	Visual Studio 2022 64 bit
Svt[info]: LIB Build date: Dec 27 2023 17:06:37
Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
avs2pipemod[info]: writing 181 frames of 24000/1001 fps, 1280x528,
                   sar 0:0, YUV-420-planar-8bit progressive video.
Svt[info]: Number of logical cores available: 4
Svt[info]: Number of PPCS 74
Svt[info]: [asm level on system : up to avx2]
Svt[info]: [asm level selected : up to avx2]
Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: main profile	tier (auto)	level (auto)
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: width / height / fps numerator / fps denominator 		: 1280 / 528 / 24000 / 1001
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: bit-depth / color format 					: 8 / YUV420
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: preset / tune / pred struct 					: 9 / PSNR / random access
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: gop size / mini-gop size / key-frame type 			: 161 / 32 / key frame
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: BRC mode / rate factor 					: CRF / 35 
Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
Encoding          avs2pipemod[info]: finished, wrote 75 frames [41%].
avs2pipemod[info]: total elapsed time is 4.679 sec.
avs2pipemod[error]: only wrote 75 of 181 frames.

StaxRip.ErrorAbortException: Video encoding returned exit code: -1073741795 (0xC000001D)


--------------------------- Video encoding ---------------------------

SvtAv1EncApp 1.8.0-1+3-43997134-[Mod-by-Patman]-x64-msvc1938

"C:\Soft Mix\StaxRip 2.31.0\Apps\Support\avs2pipemod\avs2pipemod64.exe" -dll="C:\Soft Mix\StaxRip 2.31.0\Apps\FrameServer\AviSynth\AviSynth.dll" -y4mp "C:\Users\KAI\Desktop\Mix\Video Encoding Samples\300 HD Short_temp\300 HD Short_new.avs" | "C:\Soft Mix\StaxRip 2.31.0\Apps\Encoders\SvtAv1EncApp\SvtAv1EncApp.exe" --input - --width 1280 --height 528 --output "C:\Users\KAI\Desktop\Mix\Video Encoding Samples\300 HD Short_temp\300 HD Short_new_out.ivf" --frames 181 --rc 0 --progress 2 --preset 9

Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
Svt[info]: SVT [version]:	SVT-AV1 Encoder Lib v1.8.0-1+3-43997134 [Mod by Patman]
Svt[info]: SVT [build]  :	Visual Studio 2022 64 bit
Svt[info]: LIB Build date: Dec 27 2023 17:06:37
Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
avs2pipemod[info]: writing 181 frames of 24000/1001 fps, 1280x528,
                   sar 0:0, YUV-420-planar-8bit progressive video.
Svt[info]: Number of logical cores available: 4
Svt[info]: Number of PPCS 74
Svt[info]: [asm level on system : up to avx2]
Svt[info]: [asm level selected : up to avx2]
Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: main profile	tier (auto)	level (auto)
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: width / height / fps numerator / fps denominator 		: 1280 / 528 / 24000 / 1001
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: bit-depth / color format 					: 8 / YUV420
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: preset / tune / pred struct 					: 9 / PSNR / random access
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: gop size / mini-gop size / key-frame type 			: 161 / 32 / key frame
Svt[info]: SVT [config]: BRC mode / rate factor 					: CRF / 35 
Svt[info]: -------------------------------------------
Encoding          avs2pipemod[info]: finished, wrote 75 frames [41%].
avs2pipemod[info]: total elapsed time is 4.679 sec.
avs2pipemod[error]: only wrote 75 of 181 frames.


   at StaxRip.Proc.Start() in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\General\Proc.vb:line 353
   at StaxRip.SvtAv1Enc.Encode(String passName, String commandLine, ProcessPriorityClass priority) in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\Encoding\SvtAv1Enc.vb:line 74
   at StaxRip.SvtAv1Enc.Encode() in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\Encoding\SvtAv1Enc.vb:line 40
   at System.Threading.Tasks.Parallel.<>c__DisplayClass4_0.<Invoke>b__0()
--- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
   at System.Runtime.ExceptionServices.ExceptionDispatchInfo.Throw()
   at StaxRip.GlobalClass.ProcessJob(String jobPath) in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\General\GlobalClass.vb:line 379

I found this among the "detail error message" above. Could this be the problem? Or it was just a symptom of an underlying problem that might be beyond my comprehension as just a normal user?:

Code:
Encoding          avs2pipemod[info]: finished, wrote 75 frames [41%].
avs2pipemod[info]: total elapsed time is 4.679 sec.
avs2pipemod[error]: only wrote 75 of 181 frames.

StaxRip.ErrorAbortException: Video encoding returned exit code: -1073741795 (0xC000001D)

Last edited by nakTT; 5th January 2024 at 05:47.
nakTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2024, 09:14   #4813  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 318
Version 2.32.0 is released.
https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/releases/tag/v2.32.0
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2024, 11:01   #4814  |  Link
DMD
Registered User
 
DMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 261
Excellent.
I noticed that the DoVi_Tool app has been integrated, I need to figure out how to use it.
__________________
my PC with Ryzen 7950X
DMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2024, 16:08   #4815  |  Link
Z'Hadum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 23
The new function to export HDR Metadata in 2.32 does not work for me.
I imported my settings from previous Version (last I used before was 2.30)

if I open an HDR file I get the following error:
Code:
Error Extract Dolby Vision metadata (v2.32.0)

Extract Dolby Vision metadata returned exit code: 2 (0x2)

It's unclear what this exit code means, in case it's
a Windows system error then it possibly means:

# for hex 0x2 / decimal 2
  STATUS_WAIT_2                                                  ntstatus.h   
  ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND                                           winerror.h   
# The system cannot find the file specified.
# as an HRESULT: Severity: SUCCESS (0), FACILITY_NULL (0x0), Code 0x2
# for hex 0x2 / decimal 2
  ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND                                           winerror.h   
# The system cannot find the file specified.

StaxRip.ErrorAbortException: Extract Dolby Vision metadata returned exit code: 2 (0x2)

It's unclear what this exit code means, in case it's
a Windows system error then it possibly means:

# for hex 0x2 / decimal 2
  STATUS_WAIT_2                                                  ntstatus.h   
  ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND                                           winerror.h   
# The system cannot find the file specified.
# as an HRESULT: Severity: SUCCESS (0), FACILITY_NULL (0x0), Code 0x2
# for hex 0x2 / decimal 2
  ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND                                           winerror.h   
# The system cannot find the file specified.

   at StaxRip.Proc.Start() in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\General\Proc.vb:line 353
   at StaxRip.MainForm.ExtractDolbyVisionMetadata(Project proj) in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\Forms\MainForm.vb:line 3485
   at StaxRip.MainForm.ExtractHdrMetadata(Project proj) in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\Forms\MainForm.vb:line 3418
   at StaxRip.MainForm.OpenVideoSourceFiles(IEnumerable`1 files, Boolean isEncoding) in D:\Code\Github\staxrip\staxrip\Source\Forms\MainForm.vb:line 2242
If I set the Options-> Video -> Extract HDR Metadata to "none"
it seems to work again. Do I miss somthing I have to setup to get HDR MEtadata extraction to work?

Last edited by Z'Hadum; 11th January 2024 at 16:12.
Z'Hadum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2024, 19:40   #4816  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 318
Version 2.33.0 is released.
https://github.com/staxrip/staxrip/releases/tag/v2.33.0
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2024, 21:01   #4817  |  Link
shodan5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 33
The new HDR metadata extraction is super handy. But what if I intend on cropping the video? How can I ensure that the RPU file is also cropped? Is that a function/UI option that needs to created?
shodan5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2024, 17:16   #4818  |  Link
Morku
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 208
I was wondering the same and so got the answer from the Dev:

Quote:
Dendraspis

08.01.2024 15:55
The -crop command is always used. I've tested it with cropped and uncropped encodes and MediaInfo as well as the players were always happy with the outcome. Please tell me if it doesn't work for you.
Morku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2024, 21:01   #4819  |  Link
shodan5000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morku View Post
I was wondering the same and so got the answer from the Dev:
Awesome. Thank you for the follow-up.
shodan5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2024, 23:39   #4820  |  Link
Bluedraft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 27
Hello, I have a problem with staxrip and some denoise filters, every time I try to load smdegrain or mdegrain I get the following error
Code:
Script Error

Cannot load file 'C:/Apps/StaxRip-v2.30.0-x64/Apps/Plugins/AVS/AviSynthShader/Shader-x64.dll'. Platform returned code 126:
The specified module could not be found.
The file Shader-x64.dll exist and it's exactly in the path mentioned in the error.
I tried with staxrip 2.28 that worked perfectly in the past with these filters but now I get the same error, also tried with the latest version v2.32 but it happens the same also.
Any idea of what could be happening? I'm using staxrip in Windows 10 64bits.
Bluedraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.